We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location, great rooms and very nice staf !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yacht Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Yacht Harbor Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yacht Harbor Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Marina Plaza, Dunedin, FL 34698   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Dunedin
Goes, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“excellent location, great rooms and very nice staf !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

One of the best hotels during our roundtrip. Normally i am very carefull with booking hotels. Because lot of hotels were much more than 200 dollar a night round places like St Pete Beach and Clearwater Beach , i checked Dunedin and this hotel on the internet.
Its just a couple of miles north of Clearwater Beach and man i was so happy i found this (way out of the crowds). The location is ideal. Nature all around you and most of the times you only hear the birds. The marine is very quiet and cosy. The pier is great for taking pictures of the sunset. The small villages is easy living. Nearbye there are some lovely houses with private jetty´s and nesting fishing hawks. The hotelroom is nicely decorated, very large and complete with everything you need (free internet, safe, fridge, small kitchen, 2 compfy beds etc) and also give you beautifull views over the water. The room has a door at the front and one at the back, always with great views over the water. There are 2 chairs at the balcony/terras. The rooms are also very clean, you can open windows etc as well.
The staff is great and breakfast is in the restaurant. The free breakfast is very basic but the location is wunderfull. We had some dinners there as well and they were good for the money. Parking is free, but sometimes you can not park your car at the front of your room, because there is valid parking due to party´s in the restaurant (nice to see how the boys run and run in organise a smart valid parking overthere)
The beach at Caledesi is good. But the beach at Honeymoom Island is maybe even better. Great nature, swimming, hiking, beach, birding and great shelling. Watch for the big (nesting) eagle on Honey Moon island and many other creatures. Bush gardens is one hour drive. Clearwater Beach and the other beaches are 10 minutes by car. If you like family beaches go to Clearwater, if you like nature beaches go to Honeymoon and Caledesi. the entrance for Honey Moon Island is 5 dollar, take the long beach, the first 300 yards of beach have some big stones etc after that you will see a paradise beach with a only few people, mostly smiling because its so nice. To the end of the beach its a hour walking and its worth it.
Its a great hotel, not a hilton one and not a party one either. Its a very comfy hotel from where you occassionally can see dolphins, eagles and manatees from your balcony etc.
What else do you need more te relax and enjoy this place in Florida.
We come back for sure !!
From your room you can walk in a few minutes to the small center (very nice special ownmade icecream´s at the corner. The (special) roads for cycling are good as well.
I first booked 4 nights, but stayed overall totally 6 nights (590 euro). We come back !!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    154
    40
    21
    20
See reviews for
131
237
21
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
webster, ny
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

There aren't too many places to stay in Dunedin but the Best Western Yacht Harbor would be at the top of any list. The location on the waterfront with the marina and a small pier for watching sunsets or fishing is excellent. You can walk to the historic downtown in a couple of minutes where you'll find great restaurants and lots of interesting shops.

The rooms on the second floor have small private balconies which overlook the parking and marina and on the other side where you enter the rooms, there is a long walkway overlooking the water. Rooms are bright, airy, comfortable and pretty. See my photos.

The restaurant is great for breakfast - continental breakfast is included but for a little more you can get a more extensive menu and the waterfront view is a nice way to start the day. (For a change, you can walk into town and eat a wonderful breakfast at a very cool place called the Chick-A-Boom...the outdoor table area in the back is great!)

The heated pool is small but clean and we loved the warmth of swimming in March...and the pool area is comfortable for relaxing in the sun.

It really is all about location...the Best Western could be a base for exploring a large area...Clearwater Beach, Honeymoon Island, Tarpon Springs...so much within a short drive.

You won't be disappointed if you book here.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lee's summit, mo
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

This is a quiet and charming hotel in a quaint little town within a few miles of Clearwater and Honeymoon Island. It's perfect for those seeking relaxation away from the party atmosphere. It's directly on the water and every room has amazing views (front door overlooks the bay, back door overlooks the local marina), very clean, within walking distance to downtown Dunedin shops and eateries, and modern and decorated in nautical blue/yellow. The Bon Appetit restaurant that's attached has excellent food but fairly expensive. The parties in our group reserved different ways (directly thru the hotel website versus the Holiday Inn website versus by phone) and received very different rates. Upon arrival, the hotel staff needed hard copy confirmation of the rate in order to honor. Book early as the rates vary widely - we got a great deal of $149 per night during peak season. Would recommend the second floor and I would ask for a larger room - some are much smaller than others. We enjoyed a dockside restaurant called Ozona Blue 3 miles away in Palm Harbor as well as Sea Sea Riders up the street from our hotel. Don't go here for a great pool - it's quite average. Otherwise, we loved it.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights during St. Patty's day. The hotel was great. We stayed on the second floor and our door overlooked the water. As soon as we walked out of our room for the first time we saw dolphins jumping below us.
The location was close enough to walk to downtown Dunedin for the St. Patricks Parade.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

My husband and I stayed 5 days at this hotel which is right on the water front in Dunedin. I don't think there is any other hotel that is situated as nicely as this one is in this lovely town. We were within walking distance to the Main St. area that has some great restaurants and shops. We visited the following restaurants and enjoyed all the meals: Sea Sea Riders, Kelly's For Everything, Bellini's, and Tina's. We sampled some great appetizers at the Terrace Cafe right at the hotel on the outside patio overlooking the water which was very nice.

The room was on ground floor facing the parking lot with a small patio with 2 chairs. The room was completely refurbished with new furniture, linens and paint. It was impeccable given the age of this hotel. We were also given complimentary continental breakfast. I don't know why the previous poster didn't receive this. Perhaps its because we booked and paid for 5 nights back last September. We actually didn't take advantage of the breakfast every morning deciding to eat at the great restaurants downtown.

We also took in a Blue Jay game one afternoon which was also a great experience. We walked to the stadium which just adds to the outing. We walked on the Pinellas Trail which runs all the way down to St. Petersburg and you could rent bikes if you wish.

One of the trips we did was the Caledesi Island trip. Definitely worth the trip to sit on a beautiful beach. The few days we visited Florida it was 80 degrees each day but the water was too cold for swimming. Take the ferry to Caledesi Island from Honeymoon State Park. You can rent an umbrella and chairs. http://www.floridastateparks.org/CaladesiIsland/

One other trip worth mentioning was a drive to Tarpon Springs. Touristy thing to do but it was fun none the less. Stop at one of the Greek restaurants and have some apps or a meal.

Dunedin is a great location as a home base as we also drove to St. Petes beach to visit some friends and visited some relatives north of Tampa.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington,dc
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights in February 2009. Great location - close to harbor. Dunedin is a cool little town with restaurants, antique shops, and bike rentals all within easy walking distance of the hotel. Nice heated pool and hot tub, room was large and balcony is a nice touch. There were a couple of problems though. When we checked in we were given a room that didn't match the reservation (room had no balcony even though reservation specifically stated it would). Clerk implied the problem was with the reservation. I had a printed copy of the reservation ( made through the Best Western Site). She then told me there had been a miscommunication, the hotel was full, and she couldn't provide the room as promised. After a few more minutes she did find a room with a balcony and moved us to it, though. The reservation also said the room included wireless internet access but the desk personnel told us they were having a problem with their connection and that didn't work at all during our stay. Finally, the hotel is no longer offering a free continental breakfast. That's a shame because, while the breakfast is nothing special, it was offered in the adjacent resttaurant which has great staff and a terrific view of th harbor. Liked the hotel though and if we go back to that area wouldn't hesitate to stay there again (but I'll be sure to carry a copy of the reservation with me).

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on the road
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

Quiet, clean, and nice location--marina view from window and gulf on the other side. Great restaurant on-site (Bon Appetit)--excellent food. Lots of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yacht Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yacht Harbor Inn

Address: 150 Marina Plaza, Dunedin, FL 34698
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yacht Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Dunedin, Florida hotel located on Florida's West Coast is a boutique waterfront resort with access to the Gulf of Mexico. Located at Dunedin's Marina Plaza, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Yacht Harbor Inn overlooks beautiful St. Joseph's Sound and offers vacationers a friendly port with immediate access to the open Gulf of Mexico. The rooms have either balconies or patios. Each hotel room is comfortably equipped with high-speed Internet access, cable television with HBO®, coffee/tea maker, microwave and refrigerator. Have breakfast (additional charges may apply) for two at Tampa Bay's number one waterfront restaurant, Bon Appetit, located on the premises. Guests can enjoy a complimentary USA Today available in the lobby. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Yacht Harbor Inn offers superb banquet services for special occasions, including sunset waterfront weddings. Charter boats are available at the marina for sightseeing and for world famous Gulf of Mexico deep sea fishing. Nearby attractions include Busch Gardens®, beaches, Pinellas Trail, Sponge Docks-Tarpon Springs and the downtown area. Blue Jays spring training baseball fans frequently stay at this Florida Coast hotel for its convenient access to the ballpark. To enjoy the best of the Florida Gulf Coast, reserve a room today at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Yacht Harbor Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yacht Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yacht Harbor Hotel Dunedin
Best Western Dunedin
Dunedin Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Yacht Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.