We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Black Pearl is a gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Pearl Restaurant

The Black Pearl Restaurant
315 Main Street, Dunedin, FL 34698
+1 727-734-3463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 140 Restaurants in Dunedin
Price range: $25 - $75
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: At the Black Pearl Restaurant, creating a one of a kind dining experience is our goal, every dish from the warm ciabatta bread to the homemade vanilla bean ice cream is made in house, and to order especially for you. We believe life is too short to eat bad food.
Victoria, BC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Black Pearl is a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Without a doubt, this small fine-dining restaurant is the best in Dunedin and in all probability, one of the best in this part of Florida. It only sits about 35 people so reservations are a must. Food is both creating and delicious. Their house wine is very good and reasonably priced. While the menu isn't huge. there is something for everyone. While this is not an inexpensive restaurant, given the service and quality, we felt the price was well worth it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    16
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"If you have the means....:”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Easily the best in class for Dunedin, probably in Pinellas County.

When you're ready to shell out for a special occasion or impress a date, this is the place. Mostly French influences, Continental food, winelist, the whole magilla. Skillfully prepared and presented by an attentive staff.

Very small, only a few tables so reservations are a must. You will love the food and being fussed over. I can't wait to get back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ambiance, Food, Service: EXCELLENT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

It had been several years since dining at The Black Pearl and we could not have been more pleasantly surprised. The new decor is sophisticated, quiet and inviting. The menu has a great variety of dishes; Our meal - filet with a fantastic sauce and planked salmon was excellent and beautifully presented. We were not rushed but not ignored. We were celebrating our anniversary and could not have chosen a better restaurant!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We went to the Black Pearl for a birthday party and this restaurant really lived up to it's billing. Everything was excellent. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Every restaurant has a bad night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

My wife and I just came from the Black Pearl in Dunedin, Fl. March 2, 2014. We were celebrating out 52nd, anniversary and figured this would be a nice place. My wife had the Crab Imperial and said it was excellent. I had the New Zealand Rack of Lamb as recommended. I've had many Rack of Lamb and this was the worst. It was to be medium rare, but it was mostly rare or raw. I memtioned this to the waiter, but he said maybe its just that first one. That was not the case and he never returned to find out how the rest of it was. The rest was no better. It was very tough, chewy, and mostly raw. The fact that nothing was done was management was very disappointing. Needless to say, I don't believe I was be returning to the Black Pearl any time soon.

Ernie

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zzrock45, Owner at The Black Pearl Restaurant, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Ernie,

My apologies for not being there to assure that you were satisfied with your Dinner. However.
All of our servers , and Chefs are there for your dining pleasure. Though we do not have to replace
dinners very often , it does happen once in a while. At any time anyone is unhappy with anything
that is served , we are always happy to replace it , or to delete it from their check. If for any reason you were charged for your meal , then We will be very happy to refund that amount.


Hopefully we will have the opportunity to serve you in the near future;
Sincerely
Rene - The Black Pearl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Pearl Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Black Pearl Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Pearl Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.