We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time wasnt a charm” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Home Plate

Home Plate
234 Douglas Ave, Dunedin, FL 34698
+1 727-953-9812
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 144 Restaurants in Dunedin
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Villa Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Third time wasnt a charm”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have recently moved to Dunedin March (2012) we tried Home plate back in April was ok not prpared for lots of customers. Went back twice in the last two weeks. The first time was on a monday not many customers food was good service was adequate.Went back later that week on a Sunday. The place was busy probably half to three quartes full. There was four of us each of us recieved our breakfast order at a different time. My toast was cold. They brought might toast about five minutes later saying that toast was hard to do. Really!I had to askfor coffee refill twice. The place isnt cheao and it appears they are not ready for more than five customers at a time.The last comment was they split our check up but didint get that right. Sorry home plate but your out.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PALM HARBOR
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Kept secret in Dunedin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Great food, friendly owners and staff, great customer service.

I love the pumpkin pancakes, and I'm not a pancake person. The omelets are light, fluffy, and packed with whatever you ordered to be put in it.
The coffee is freshly brewed and they have French Vanilla coffee creamer.

One of the best breakfast in Dunedin

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

From the people to the service and of course the good, everything was great at this restaurant. Next time we are in the area we will definitely return. Thanks and keep up the good work.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We just tried this place earlier this week, and we went back again today. The food is great, and it has a friendly atmosphere. Don't let the outside fool you ...inside it is very tasteful and nice...and fabulous coffee!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Right off the Pinellas Trail,walk or bike over for a quality meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This should be higher ranked for Dunedin restaurants. Trip Advisor should remove past reviews when a place has new ownership as Home Plate did early this year, as it's dragging this spot down. Excellent service - staff is so friendly and eager to please you. Inexpensive breakfast with a great breakfast sandwich( ham was superb) and multigrain pancakes. This will be our go to spot when we return to town in December. Walk the trail over and earn your breakfast - you won't be disappointed,

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Home Plate also viewed

 

Been to Home Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home Plate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.