We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bon Appetit

Bon Appetit
148 Marina Plaza, Dunedin, FL 34698
+1 727-733-2151
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bon Appetit is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 140 Restaurants in Dunedin
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: This landmark Dunedin Restaurant offers casual waterfront dining in a sophisticated but relaxed setting; stunning waterfront views of St. Joseph Sound, Honeymoon and Caledesi Islands. Chef Stephen has created a menu to showcase weekly specials, comfort food creations, and seasonal temptations to tantalize the most sophisticated of diners, all in addittion to the regular menu. Enjoy alfresco dining at the Marina Terrace Cafe with the same menu and phenomenal views and sunsets. Please visit us for our All New "New Orleans Bistro Brunch." Inspired from the city that started the brunch movement. Enjoy classic New Orleans food and drinks while listening to jazz played on our baby grand piano.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Always great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had lunch on the open patio. Service was good, food was very good. The crab Louie was the best I've ever had! The lobster roll was huge portion of fresh lobster meat, no filler, and nice fresh fruit. The brunch waffle was standard. The omelets were over-cooked. The drinks were a little pricey for what we got. Nice view. Friends were delighted. Brunch menu ran about $16 each, and alcoholic drinks were $6 -$8. There was also a $21 set menu which had several nice options, but a Ceasar salad was $3 additional.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmr1983, Manager at Bon Appetit, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for visiting us here at Bon Appetit and we are delighted you had a wonderful experience! We would like to thank you on behalf of the Bon Appetit Management Team for taking the time out to post your wonderful compliments about our restaurant. Please respond to nbashimam@bonappetitrestaurant via e-mail with your current mailing address as we would like to send you a gift thanking you for your continued patronage.

Thank you,
Nadia Bashimam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    138
    52
    22
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville TN
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Seaside/Sundown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were just in time for the sunset so were pleased to be seated inside at a perfect table to view the display. What luck to find the last (albeit tight) parking spot and an excellent table at prime time w/o reservation in spite of the crowded bar and outdoor dining.

Our server, Sear, of Pakistani heritage (although he and his expansive family have been in the US for decades leaving a similar assembly behind in the old country) is a true pro, attending to our every need, confidently explaining the dinner selections and advising on best wine to pair. We opted for the excellent value 3 course option and my lamb rack was perfectly prepared and attractively plated and the wine recommendation an excellent complement. The bread was warm, crusty, and fresh from the oven and the mini dessert accompanying our meal was just the right amount of sweet to provide a perfect ending.

There is an excellent pianist; her playing of Red Sails in the Sunset perfectly timed as the orb disappeared below the horizon. Lots of familiar favs are on her playlist and she strolled among the tables seeking requests only once during the meal so as not to disturb our talk time. The couple at the next table hosting an elder for her birthday particularly enjoyed this special occasion touch.

Bon Appetit is a recommended sundowner dining - all in our group agree.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmr1983, Manager at Bon Appetit, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for visiting us here at Bon Appetit as we are delighted you had a wonderful experience! We would like to thank you on behalf of the Bon Appetit Management Team for taking the time out to post your wonderful compliments about our restaurant. Please respond to nbashimam@bonappetitrestaurant via e-mail with your current mailing address as we would like to send you a gift thanking you for your continued patronage.

Thank you,
Nadia Bashimam
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Snooty, snooty, snooty!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

It is a shame that a restaurant with so much potential can ruin it.

I have two stories:
1) My husband took his board of directors to this restaurant for dinner. They ate inside and were offered a sampling platter of appetizers. The price of the appetizers was triple of what it would have been had they just chosen a couple from the menu and the selection was not any different from what was offered on the menu. Not only was there such a difference of price but it was not made clear and was not found out until the check came. In addition to the "surprise", the entree's were good but again not worth the price.

2) A few years ago, my husband, myself, my daughter, her husband, and our two grandsons were giving my sister and brother-in-law a tour of Dunedin and stopped at Bon Appetit to enjoy a lunch on the outside deck overlooking the water. We were dressed nicely and the grandsons were not being wild. We were given one of those "look down your nose" stares when we walked up to be seated and told that we would have to wait. We waited and noticed 3 other parties of 4 get seated. These were NOT people who had been waiting. They were people who arrived after us AND this restaurant did not take reservations for lunch.
Needless to say - we left.

This restaurant is definitely NOT family friendly and they have lost my business as well as my husband's.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Angelo manager”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

From our seat on deck outdoors to dessert...soup,entrees and desserts for $21 per person....music on a weekday afternoon....very nice,clean and great surf and turf...efficient staff and great delivery...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmr1983, Manager at Bon Appetit, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you on behalf of the Bon Appetit Management Team for taking the time out to post your wonderful compliments about our restaurant. Please respond to nbashimam@bonappetitrestaurant via e-mail with your current mailing address as we would like to send you a gift thanking you for your continued patronage.

Thank you,
Nadia Bashimam
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mothers day ~ choices not here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I not been to this restaurant since a wedding a few years ago. We had several choices for Mother's Day but decided that we would retry bon appétit. We selected the buffet over the five course downstairs dinner. As we could not get the seating time we had wanted downstairs. We Arrived a little bit early but there was plenty of seating available upstairs for the buffet. We arrived at approximately 12:30 however for the brunch there was absolutely no breakfast items available. We ordered bloody Mary's and were treated to a warm glass of tomato juice it was Disgusting. Sent it back. Food selection was average for a buffet, the prime rib was overcooked. For a buffet the service was challenged even filling water and picking up plates. You cannot beat the view from this restaurant as you're basically sitting on top of the water is amazing and beautiful. There are many other fine waterfront buffets and I would have recommend them over bon appétit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmr1983, Manager at Bon Appetit, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I first and foremost am very sorry to hear you had a less than enjoyable expierence here at Bon Appetit for Mother's Day. We try to accomadate a diverse group of people consistantly in our special holiday menu as well as our drink preparations. We truly appreciate you coming out to spend your holiday with us so when you get a free moment if you can send your current mailing address to nbashimam@bonappetitrestaurant.com I would like to invite you back with a wonderful gift. Once again, we truly appreciate your feedback and would love to have you visit us again soon!

Best Regards,
Nadia Bashimam
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bon Appetit also viewed

 

Been to Bon Appetit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bon Appetit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.