We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good grit cakes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sam's Fresh Seafood

Sam's Fresh Seafood
900 Broadway, Dunedin, FL 34698-5709
727-736-1179
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 140 Restaurants in Dunedin
Cuisines: Barbecue, Hamburgers, Seafood, Pasta, Chicken Wings
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“good grit cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We tried Sams from TA review. I tried the homemade clam chowder. It was good. Husband had amber Jack sandwich. Daughter had oysters. All in all a good lunch. The fried grit cakes were great. It was obviously a ~locals favorite ~ would loved to have had room for the peach cobbler.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    19
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lionlvr
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fresh off the boat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our Garmin found a winner! Sam's Fresh Seafood had the freshest and best oysters than I've eaten in a long time. If you're looking for casual dining with friendly staff, this is the place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

The best u peel em shrimp I have ever had! Excellent!!! Service is excellent as well! The owners are very friendly..great place overall

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food at a reasonable price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Good food at a reasonable price. I question whether the fish that I received was cod. Cod filets are usually not that small. Good service.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent fish & chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We ordered take-out for 2 orders of fish & chips. Fish is cod and it is very good and excellent batter. Portions were large and brought to me very quickly. And what a deal as their prices are very reasonable. The ambiance is homy and friendly but more like a cafe than a fine dinning reataurant. While not a fancy place it probably has the best seafood in Dunedin, IMO.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's Fresh Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Sam's Fresh Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam's Fresh Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.