We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Villas of Dunedin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Villas of Dunedin to your Saves list
Coconut Villas of Dunedin
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   2675, 2677, & 2679 St. Joseph Drive East, 2687 & 2691 Woodette Drive, Dunedin, FL 34698   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

First visit to coconut villas, perfect size for a family of 3, villa very clean and well situated on the water saw the dolphin and sting rays a few times, shops and supermarket within walking distance of the villa. Honeymoon island a short distance from the villa one of our favourite places to visit the beaches are perfect and very quiet. Can't wait to visit again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    17
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
74
37
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

First visit to coconut villas stayed for two nights wish it could have been for longer, villa was very clean and a great size for the three of us, handy to have access to washer and dryer. Perfectly situated on the water saw coco the dolphin and sting rays a few times. Bar,shops and supermarket within walking distance. Honeymoon island close by with fabulous beaches one of our favourite places to visit. Can't wait to visit again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This was our family's first trip to Dunedin, and I must say that we were very pleased.
The location to the beach was just unbelievable! My wife, kids, and I walked down to the beach a few times during our 5 day stay.
The pool area was also very nice. The neighbors were super friendly and even offered the kids poles and bait to do some fishing one night, which was a nice gesture.

The only down side was the one bathroom. With 2 small kids that could be a hassle some evening, but nothing major. I would definitely stay again and we made some amazing memories there in Dunedin!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This was our second year in a row staying at Coconut Villas and once again, we really enjoyed ourselves! My boys went fishing every day off the dock in the back of our condo, and we swam and grilled out in our very own courtyard pool/chill area. There were some other families there and we enjoyed hanging out with them too. All in all, it was great! We plan to go back in November and check it out during the non summer months.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The location is wonderful, easy bike access to beach & fishing. We enjoyed relaxing on the deck and watching the wildlife. We also took advantage of the clean, well maintained pool area. The condo provided everything we needed, was very clean and comfortable. We will return!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Our stay, with 2 couples was in March 2014 for 1 week. Overall we recommend the accommodations and would likely return, but with only a small effort the place could be so much better. The location is one of the high points - on the water and convenient access to Honeymoon Island's beaches and Dunedin.. The unit we had was pleasingly decorated and clean. Although we did not plan to watch a lot of TV, we thought it time to send the current TV to the electronics recycling depot and spend a few bucks to acquire a unit built in the current millennium. Everything else in our unit worked well, but a few details could be improved. The toilet paper was so thin it was laughable and it would have been nice to have more than one dish towel. Minor details, but indicative of very good, but not excellent rating. Also the locks and/or keys really did not work well. When one of our party attempted entry to the main door, the lock could not be opened with the key after several minutes of trying. A few good rattles on the patio door at the other side of the unit solved the problem. The glass door slid open even though it had been locked from the inside. Time to improve the security.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

It's not a BAD place by any means. My parents live in Dunedin so there's a good chance that we'll stay here again. But that's because I haven't seen any other two bedroom options in the city. We had two major complaints about the place. First and foremost was the fact that there's only one bathroom. So, while there are two bedrooms, there is no "master". That made it a bit challenging with four of us. We're usually a family of 7 so I don't think that we'd stay here with the entire brood. The second gripe is a lack of service. We had a bedroom door that would not stay closed or locked. Not a deal breaker but certainly an inconvenience when my wife and I are trying to enjoy some privacy. We ended up having to take the fake potted palm tree that was in our room and sliding it in front of the closed door to keep it that way (see photo). Hardly a proper fix. We called twice on the first day and once on the second day. Each time we were assured that it would be fixed. By the third call, we pretty much just gave up on any hope that the maintenance guy was actually going to show up.

I guess this lack of response could be a real red flag to those of you considering this place, if they treat all of their calls the way they did with this one. I would hate to think that a broken AC unit or a stopped up toilet would be ignored for days.

There was also a BUNCH of junk being stored in the hall closet (see photo). No idea what it was for but it made that closet completely unusable. Fortunately we didn't need it.

Other than that and a few minor things (sketchy wifi, change left on the counter and dishes left in the dishwasher), it's not a bad place. It's clean and well equipped if you like to cook some of your meals in and not eat out every meal.

Room Tip: It appears that all of the units are on the water so I other than choosing something upstairs (to av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Villas of Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Villas of Dunedin

Address: 2675, 2677, & 2679 St. Joseph Drive East, 2687 & 2691 Woodette Drive, Dunedin, FL 34698
Location: United States > Florida > Dunedin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Villas of Dunedin 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These 2 bedroom and 1 bath Suites/Villas are overlooking Honeymoon Island, St. Joseph Sound, and the Gulf of Mexico in Dunedin, Florida. Each condo includes a private patio or balcony. The Suites feature 875 square feet, granite counter tops with full size kitchens and ceiling fans throughout. Most of the condos have 2 queen size beds and a sofa sleeper. We do have othersuites with different sleeping arrangements. Please inquire about them. Coconut Villas is just minutes away from the charming downtown Dunedin. There are many unique shops and restaurants to visit. Dunedin also has a marina with a fishing pier. The Pinellas Trail is close by and is great for bike riding, roller blading, or walking. These suites are just minutes away from Honeymoon Island and Caladesi State Park. You can take the ferry from Honeymoon Island to Caladesi Island. Caladesi Island was voted as America's best beach by Dr. Beach!There are two pools and 4 tiki huts to relax with a tropical paradise setting. One of the pools is heated during winter season. Enjoy breathtaking open water views and sunsets. You can also enjoy the dolphin and manatee shows right at your back sliding doors. Coconut Villas is a fisherman's paradise! Fishing Charters and Boat Rentals are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Coconut Villas of Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Villas Of Dunedin Hotel Dunedin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Villas of Dunedin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.