We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always the same, terrific!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beso Del Sol Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Beso Del Sol Resort to your Saves list
Beso Del Sol Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1420 Bayshore Boulevard, Dunedin, FL 34698   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Dunedin
Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always the same, terrific!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

My annual destination. Can't wait for my check in. Wonderful staff and lovely decor. Whether I am off to Caladedi Island or Country Side Mall or downtown Dunedin it is great to come home each night for sunsets at the poolside. See you soon.

Room Tip: Bike to almost everything. Bus (clean) right at the front door. Nothing like it anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david d, General Manager at Beso Del Sol Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for your business. We truly appreciate our repeat guests, especially our neighbors from the north! Looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    35
    18
    13
    7
See reviews for
37
74
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brugg, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We focused on an ad promising a Luxury Weekend. We booked a waterfront studio. Well, the view over the bay from the waterfront studio and its midsize balcony was fantastic. The studio itself was average or even less.
Small and dated. The small kitchenette was o.k., but we had to prewash the dishes and pots before use. No wardrobe, no safe. The aircon is very noisy - must be an old modell. The bathroom is very small with a walk in shower, which we prefer (no bathtub). The (cupper?) fittings in kitchen and specifically at the bathroom sink are terrible - totaly oxidized and covered by verdigris. The king bed was more a hammock, but you can enjoy the awesome view from the bed.

The complimentary bikes are a treat, we enjoyed a few miles on the Pinellas Trail and a ride to Honeymoon Is.

Unfortunally we had a very annoying technical issue in the first room. After it couldn't be solved they moved us to annother room - same problem! For that I should rate Beso with two points (poor) but the staff took my complaints seriously and did their best. Finally, after 24hrs the plumber was able to solve the problem.

Although we couldn't use the room for hours, they did not offer us any refund.

2 points for the room, 5 points for the view.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david d, General Manager at Beso Del Sol Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for being our guest and for recognizing the efforts of our staff to rectify the issues you experienced during your stay with us. We hope that you will choose to come back again and enjoy the 2 day/1 night gift certificate you accepted from us upon check-out. As the resort was completely renovated in 2008 it surprises us that you would think your condo was "dated". Voted Tampa Bay's Best Boutique Resort for the past 2 years Beso Del Sol is proud of our reputation for exceptional customer service, cleanliness, and of course, our outstanding waterfront location and views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I would like to comment on the unit we stayed in #416. Two bedroom townhouse quite roomy, could not believe their is no Central Air Conditioning!!! One wall unit in the main part of a large area, one unit in the down stairs master bedroom which didn't help cool the rest of the area because the door was closed for privacy. Upstairs their was some kind of portable air conditioner. This thing is sitting in a large plastic basin with a hose running through the wall, thank heavens we weren't there during a hot weekend, this thing was loud and couldn't keep a cooler cool. The bathroom upstairs is small. When you sit on the toilet your knees smash against the door. The bed up there was not real secure, spots that you have to be careful when sitting on it. The porch outside the dinning room was wet, the wall unit is there and sprayed water on us the whole time. We tried to watch a movie, the sofa was so worn out that when sitting on it you would be in a hole, gave us backaches so couldn't use that room. The pool was nice but Do Not eat at the restaurant Marker 8, we love grouper sandwiches, these sandwiches were so bad, one bite and you knew not to take another, don't know how long before We can even try grouper again after that. Dunedin is the most wonderful place, just find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david d, General Manager at Beso Del Sol Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thanks for your candid review. Although we appreciate you bringing your concerns about the AC and the uncomfortable sofa to our attention, had you done so during your stay we could have attempted to rectify the situation for you while you were on vacation. Can't imagine what the problem may have been with the Grouper sandwiches as we regularly receive rave compliments for all of our tiki bar menu items. We would have appreciated the opportunity to make you happy while you were here. Dunedin is indeed a wonderful place to stay - we hope perhaps you'll give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneola, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We couldn't say/rave more about the team at Beso Del Sol. From management to the housekeeping staff to the bartenders... Everyone was AWESOME! Highly recommend to ANYONE! Beautiful property. Can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Beso is a nice condohotel on the water near Dunedin. The staff was very nice and helpful. There is a tiki bar on the premises with live music that draws a good crowd. We had an updated one bedroom that has a small kitchen and a fold out loveseat.The bed was very firm. There are bicycles you can use for free and we took advantage and rode to the downtown area for breakfast and rode on the great bike trail nearby. Dunedin is a wonderful quaint town with a main street of shops and restaurants. We especially enjoyed the Dunedin Brewery that claims to be the oldest brewery in the state.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david d, General Manager at Beso Del Sol Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We certainly appreciate you being our guest and your kind review of our resort and our staff. Glad that you enjoyed your accomodations, our tiki bar and our complimentary bikes. Thanks again and please come ee us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The service is great from the office staff to the housekeeping! We had such a great time as a couple. Although there was no spa but a bar which is located near in the hotel. We had a water front view in the 3rd floor which is great but the noice still lives outside.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We spend many weekends at the pool bar so we decided to rent a room for the night. The room had a nice view, the décor was tacky, and the staff was so rude we will never go back to the hotel or the pool bar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david d, General Manager at Beso Del Sol Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
As a result of the "many weekends" you have spent enjoying the pool bar and numerous previous guest reviews attesting to our great customer service we were surprised with your comments about our staff. We take pride in providing all of our guests with excellent customer service as well as protecting our condo owner's private property. It was generous of you to acknowledge our excellent view and we appreciate your business. We hope you will change your mind and come back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beso Del Sol Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beso Del Sol Resort

Address: 1420 Bayshore Boulevard, Dunedin, FL 34698
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beso Del Sol Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the premier all-suites waterfront resort in beautiful Dunedin, Florida. Overlooking St. Joseph's Sound and the Gulf of Mexico, our accommodations provide a relaxing old Florida-style change of pace.Visit downtown Dunedin for art galleries, wine tasting, shopping and dining. Spend a day on the links at St. Andrews or Dunedin Country Club. Soak in the sun on several of America's top-ranked beaches.Maybe you would prefer relaxing at our waterfront pool area or fishing from our pier. The possibilities are endless and all are here for your enjoyment.Resort amenities include an onsite restaurant and tiki bar serving casual fare daily, weather permitting. Join us as we toast the sunset every evening with free sunset shooters! We offer complimentary bike rentals. Boat dockage for overnight resort guests at a nominal fee. A heated spa, book and CD lending library, guest laundry,free fitness club membership,summer kids club activities and a 4,000 square foot banquet and event venue round out the guest amenities. We hope you come as our guests and leave as our friends with memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beso Del Sol Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beso Del Sol Hotel Dunedin
Beso Del Sol Dunedin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beso Del Sol Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.