We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hawks Cay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hawks Cay Resort to your Saves list
Hawks Cay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, Duck Key, FL 33050   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% All Fall!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Oviedo, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Just took a trip to Costa Rico total cost with airfare for 6 nights $667.00. 4 nights at hawk Cay 2 bedroom condo,my share $575.00, total cost $2200. Not worth it! I had to put money on my room key which I didn't mind until I had an alert that they charged me an additional $150. For what who knows. When I asked them to refund me money now I was told I would have to leave resort if I checked out now and receive my credit. Really they must need the money. So I can't wait to leave, not my ideal place to stay. If you stay watch the charges, they are sneeky. Oh and the kitchen is not very well equipped not even a pan for the oven. It's ashame I have to leave the USA for a decent vacation and not get ripped off. Shame on you hawks cay!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your perspective of our resort. It is disappointing to learn your stay was not as you expected and we’re truly sorry. We will review your comments with our team as we continually strive to provide the highest level of customer satisfaction for our guests. We appreciate your review and we hope that you’ll allow us another opportunity to welcome you back again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,246
    790
    398
    200
    152
See reviews for
1,377
795
18
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Haven, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

From the moment we got there, we were treated astounding. Every employee that you ran into says hi and ask if everything was ok. The place has five pools one for kids one for whole family one for adults only and a couple down further at the resort. Don't forget the spa. The prices are high for drinks. For a large piña colada and blood Mary it was $28. The food at oceans for dinner was good but also expensive . We had a pizza pepperoni and sausage. The crust is thin, so good we got two more the next night .Our waiter was really slow took him forever to do something we asked for. He was the only one we had any problem from. Know they have a breakfast buffet for $20 per person. It was some of the best food I ever had, it was all high quality. I would recommend this place highly

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We couldn't be more pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay here at Hawks Cay Resort. We are committed to providing our guests with superior service to ensure their visit is the best it can be and we are pleased to hear that we did just that. It was wonderful to learn that you enjoyed our delicious restaurants and our rejuvenating Calm Waters Spa. Thank you for your great review and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina Coast, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Just got back from our June 2014 stay at Hawks Cay and enjoyed every minute. From the Doormen when you arrive, the Front Desk, Wait staff to the pool staff we were not disappointed. Well cared for although busy and great choices to eat or play. Great for family's as we had our grandson's. Easy access to Marathon and other activities. Thanks to all for a great time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your great review. It was wonderful to have you here and your kind comments about our staff and resort are very much appreciated as this is the experience we strive to deliver to all of our guests. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hawks Cay Resort on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Overall we were very pleased with Hawks Cat. My granddaughter was thrilled she had a bunk bed to sleep in. Room was clean and the bathroom updated. We did have a problem getting clean towels. We also had a o problem with our clock radio. I called the front desk and they said they would send maintenance. They never came. Food was good. Service was a little slow. But hey we're in the Keys.
They had great activities for the kids. Some for extra money. My seven year old granddaughter had a blast.
Overall beautiful resort. It
had a very tropical feel at night with all the tiki torches and beautiful sunsets. I would definitely stay again if planning a trip to the the Keys.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We are delighted to have you and your granddaughter stay with us at the Hawks Cay Resort. Although we appreciate the positive remarks regarding our resort, it was disappointing to hear that your stay with us was not as anticipated. Your feedback will allow us to identify areas where we can make improvements. Thank you for your review and we hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back for another relaxing getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

we had a blast!!!
Clean, Safe, Friendly, They have activities almost at every hr. for the kids with no extra charge - plus you have the options to book extra fun family activities. very good customer service..

Room Tip: ocean view with balcony is always the best, but Island view it was not bad at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Wow, what a great review! It was wonderful to have you and your family stay with us at the Hawks Cay Resort. It’s always our pleasure to provide all of our guests with a variety of great amenities to ensure their stay with us is unforgettable. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you and your family on your next trip to the Florida Keys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed in Sunset Villas, needed updating but was adequate. Family of 5 stayed, a little tight, but upstairs and downs stairs balconies were great. There was a nice pool nearby however, was closed the day after we arrived for maintenance. We didn't mind the 10-15min walk to the main pool. Shuttle was available about every 15 min. Loved the Indies Club for the kids, pool and lagoon were also great. My daughter and I participated in the dockside Dolphin session, was ok. Not worth how much we paid. Was a nice sunset view over the marina. Staff was all very nice and accommodating. Food at the pool grill was good, a little pricey but was expected. Overall great location and amenities, will definitely return, would like to see updating of the villa. Good location in the keys, midpoint between upper and lower keys.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
It was wonderful to have you and your family here and your kind comments about our staff and resort are very much appreciated. We are delighted that you and your family had the opportunity to enjoy many of our amenities including our Indies Club and delicious on-site restaurants. Thank you for your review and photos and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Keys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our room was beautiful, clean and well attended daily. We chose to use the Tranquility Pool reserved for those 21 yrs and older. Unfortunately, it was in need of cleaning (tiles quite dirty). Some guests used this area for smoking, though it was not a designated smoking area...tough when you are allergic to smoke. Most amenities for eating at the resort were quite pricey. Driving to Marathon Key for restaurant alternatives was a 25+ minute drive. The buffet breakfast was reasonably priced at $20 per person and the food excellent, including an omelette chef. Seems to be a wonderful stay if you have children and money. LOTS of kids, smokers, and mosquitoes.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks_Cay-FL, General Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and we greatly value your perspective. It is great to hear that you appreciated the beauty and comfort of our resort. Our resort offers guests the chance to try a variety of food options and we are delighted that you were able to enjoy our breakfast buffet. Your comments about the smoking areas at the resort have been forwarded to our management team so that they may be addressed. Thank you for your review and we look forward to having you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawks Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Cay Resort

Address: 61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, Duck Key, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Duck Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawks Cay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Villa 5005 located on Duck Key Harbor overlooking the Gulf. Expanded size bump-out provides roominess of a cottage villa. Huge master suite with balcony, 2 full baths up, 1 half bath down. Dining room seats 8, sleeps 6, big lower deck and sandy beach. Call Reservations to reserve 5005. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hawks Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Cay Hotel Duck Key
Hawks Cay Duck Key
Duck Key
Hawk Cay Resort
Hawks Key
Hawks Cay Resort Duck Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawks Cay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.