We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Spot for a Weekend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hawks Cay Resort

Save Saved
You added Hawks Cay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawks Cay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, Duck Key, FL 33050   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 20% All Fall!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Interesting Spot for a Weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to Hawks' Cay for a little weekend escape. We are very familiar with the Florida Keys, but have never stayed at this location. The staff is pleasant, the main hotel is clean, and the lobby is open and decorated very well. The property is huge, but we stayed in the main building/resort. Since we do not have children (this is a family friendly resort) we chose a room on the backside of the hotel near the adult (21+) tranquility pool. The first day we arrived, we went for a quick swim in the tranquility pool and even though it is 21+, some guests act as if they are teenagers…load talking, lots of booze…you get my drift. Our room was lovely and we had a large wrap around deck to sit out on, drink a glass of wine, and watch the sun set. The A/C was very load when it kicked in. If we were staying for an extended period of time I would have mentioned it to the staff or asked for a room change. The first night we decided to stay on property and eat in the Ocean restaurant. We chose to dine outside overlooking the Resort Pool and Fire Pit because inside it gets very load and there were tons of kids running around. The food and service was very good and we came back to the same spot for breakfast the next morning before going on a snorkeling adventure. After dinner, we sat by the fire pit and were amazed that after 10 pm people were still in the main pool. Personally, we prefer smaller, boutique-style resorts, but this was a nice 3 day get-away. I would recommend Hawks Cay for families, but probably not for couples looking for some R&R away from the kiddies.

Room Tip: The property is very large. Rooms facing the main pool are great if you have kids or don't mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawksCayResort, Director of Marketing at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear TLR3131,

Thank you for your detailed review. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your quick trip from West Palm to Hawks Cay. I always tell my South Florida friends that we are a short drive, but feel like we're a world away from the mainland. We hope to welcome you back to Hawks Cay in the future.

Best regards,
Jennifer Dinan
Jennifer.Dinan@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,228
    780
    392
    198
    149
See reviews for
1367
781
18
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (653)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

This was my 3rd trip in 5 years to Hawk's Cay and definitely the worst accommodations to date. We paid $300/night for a basic, dated hotel room with fancy bed and toiletries. Previous stays must have been in a recently remodeled wing of the hotel. There was an issue with consistency with housekeeping. One day out glasses/ Ice bucket were taken and not replaced and other days out toiletries were not restocked at all or leaving out shampoo or lotion. We even left a note after this to please restock shampoo and received 2 conditioners. The room itself had a very basic, dated bathroom, unlike a previous stay which had the same King, Island view room with a large opulent bathroom/ steam shower. Our towels were stored across the room in a closet, which was an odd thing. The carpet was also worn and stained and the walls were dirty. Just a disappointment for the high price per night and compared to previous visits.

For the good-- this resort has everything! Regardless of your party, you can find something that appeals to everyone. The staff were all helpful and friendly and the resort location in the middle keys is perfect for exploring all the Keys as a whole have to offer. Would definitely recommend this resort but request a newer room.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I've been to this resort several times in the years prior and sad to say I do not think I will be returning. The outside area appears somewhat unkept especially later on when there was so much garbage laying around. Gross. The pools actually
seemed cloudy and not as inviting. The worst part however is trying to sleep at night. The walls are paper thin and you hear everyone's plumbing, the ac turning on and off and even the elevator going up and down constantly. So annoying. The towel process is a pain as mentioned in others reviews too. On a positive note the lobby is beautiful and most employees were very friendly. Unfortunately we will have to find somewhere else in this beautiful area of the keys.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deptford, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is our second time staying at Hawks Cay. We had a Lani room the first trip but just a water view this time. I much prefer the Lani room... much cleaner and more convenient to the pool. However, the resort was still wonderful. The views from our room were breath-taking. The second story deck was small but quiet and private, beds were comfortable and bathrooms were spacious and well decorated. We just love Hawks Cay and would recommend it!!! Perfect location in the center of the Keys and great for kids but not overwhelming for adults. Pools are beautiful, the salt water lagoon is wonderful and camp fire at night with live music on some nights is relaxing!!! Can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Lani room has a wonderful deck and spectacular views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Duck key dive staff couldn't have been better. Wade was especially helpful............
Jet pac man was very cool!!!!!!!

Stayed at marina village. 2 bedroom suite. Excellent view of marina.
Good food
Watch out for resort charges ........

John dubon from Long Island.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was our first family visit to the Florida keys and we could not have picked a better place to stay! Not only great for families but also nice for adult time also. Diving with Dive Duck Key was outstanding. Linda, our dive guide was tremendous, very accommodating and great with seniors as well as teens!! The spa on sight was nice and relaxing. On the fourth day of our stay, they had live music at the main pool/saltwater lagoon/fire pit- simply wonderful! By far one of the best piña colada I have ever had!! Our whole family, young and old, loved the stay here. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

my husband I stayed at Hawks Cay June 9 through June 15. We fished, caught 40 dolphins with Capt. Gary on Tailwalker III, great fun. We did the dolphin experience and it is worth every dime and trainers are great. We snorkels and did scuba and both were awesome. The tranquility pool was great. The food at the pool bar was good. The pizza delivery To the room was good. And the bartender Cheryl Alma is an asset and the food was good at the bar. The room was the only issue. We had a premium king ocean view room Room #4208. When we first arrived on Sunday I noticed a moderate smell of bleach but nothing to offensive. by Tuesday I noticed something odd looking on the Cellini and thought it may be mold. When we woke up on Thursday morning the walls were literally black with mold and breathing had become an issue. we reported the issue at 7:30 am on Thursday on our to snubs and was told I would receive a call before our return,, no call. When we Came back to room we stop at the desk and spoke with Benjamin, very nice and helpful person. We should him the pictures of the black wall and he immediately promised to credit Us with a Nights stay, a $100 credit and a room upgrade. We went to lunch he made the arrangements. Benjamin did give us a Room upgrade and a $100 credit but I
was not given a credIt for one night. I am guessing these promises were above his pay grade. More disturbing Is that the smell off bleach in the area was unbelievable trying to rid the room of mold, but the next Morning we was someone going into the room to paint. It's is not going to solve the problem in that room. I completed the survey that is sent to patrons as they check and told me story and offered to send pictures and left my number for them to call. I most likely would not stay again because of these reactions due to the mold

Room Tip: Make sure it is not 4208
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawks Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Cay Resort

Address: 61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, Duck Key, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Duck Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawks Cay Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Villa 5005 located on Duck Key Harbor overlooking the Gulf. Expanded size bump-out provides roominess of a cottage villa. Huge master suite with balcony, 2 full baths up, 1 half bath down. Dining room seats 8, sleeps 6, big lower deck and sandy beach. Call Reservations to reserve 5005. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hawks Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Cay Hotel Duck Key
Hawks Cay Duck Key
Duck Key
Hawk Cay Resort
Hawks Key
Hawks Cay Resort Duck Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawks Cay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.