We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lots of fun moldy room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawks Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hawks Cay Resort to your Saves list
Hawks Cay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, Duck Key, FL 33050   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Bonita Springs, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“lots of fun moldy room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

my husband I stayed at Hawks Cay June 9 through June 15. We fished, caught 40 dolphins with Capt. Gary on Tailwalker III, great fun. We did the dolphin experience and it is worth every dime and trainers are great. We snorkels and did scuba and both were awesome. The tranquility pool was great. The food at the pool bar was good. The pizza delivery To the room was good. And the bartender Cheryl Alma is an asset and the food was good at the bar. The room was the only issue. We had a premium king ocean view room Room #4208. When we first arrived on Sunday I noticed a moderate smell of bleach but nothing to offensive. by Tuesday I noticed something odd looking on the Cellini and thought it may be mold. When we woke up on Thursday morning the walls were literally black with mold and breathing had become an issue. we reported the issue at 7:30 am on Thursday on our to snubs and was told I would receive a call before our return,, no call. When we Came back to room we stop at the desk and spoke with Benjamin, very nice and helpful person. We should him the pictures of the black wall and he immediately promised to credit Us with a Nights stay, a $100 credit and a room upgrade. We went to lunch he made the arrangements. Benjamin did give us a Room upgrade and a $100 credit but I
was not given a credIt for one night. I am guessing these promises were above his pay grade. More disturbing Is that the smell off bleach in the area was unbelievable trying to rid the room of mold, but the next Morning we was someone going into the room to paint. It's is not going to solve the problem in that room. I completed the survey that is sent to patrons as they check and told me story and offered to send pictures and left my number for them to call. I most likely would not stay again because of these reactions due to the mold

Room Tip: Make sure it is not 4208
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,287
    845
    426
    222
    163
See reviews for
1,444
835
18
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was our first time to the keys and when we drove through Key Largo we were relieved that we hadnt decided to stop there. As we approached Duck Key we could see what a great place we were letting ourselves in for and first impression didnt disappoint. We were booked into a 2 bed villa at the sunset village. On arrival we found it to be very small and dark with no privacy to the verandah or balcony. on checking the bedrooms out the beds were 2 small for 2 adults and needed a ladder to climb into them. I think they are designed for small kids and not the 4 adults in our party.
The next morning after next to no sleep I went to reception and asked to be moved. We were then given two huge rooms next door to each other in the hotel. The reception lady bent over backwards to help us and showed us the room first to make sure we were happy with it before moving our stuff. Although it had no balcony it was a large room with two big beds and a huge bathroom, what a result. The hotel is on top of the main pools and lagoon and all the eateries so it was much more suitable for us. I just dont think that Virgin offered it to us as an option when booking. The newly opened Ocean restaurant was great for breakfast and dinner buffet and the Beach grill .
Once we found the adult tranquility pool we were set for the holiday and we thoroughly enoyed the night swim when we had it to ourselves under the stars.
We did the sunset cruise and a bike ride around Duck key, both well worth it.
One of the highlights was seeing the Dolphins in their pool and the resident iguanas!
One day we drove down to Key West which was great.
Would definately come back next time we make it to the Keys

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Hawks Cay is a great resort for families of all ages. We have stayed on property several times and have always enjoyed ourselves. The employees are friendly, the food was good and reasonably priced, and the amenities are just what you would expect from a waterfront resort. Our room was comfortable and well maintained. There is a nice Starbucks counter inside the gift shop that has great smoothies, breakfast and snack items, in addition to their usual drinks. There are plenty of activities to keep you busy on site and you are a short drive away if you want to visit any of the other Keys. The only suggestion I would make is to not be downwind of the trash cans surrounding the pool. During the the heat of the summer they get pretty smelly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The rooms and espically bathrooms are very nice. However do not try to check in early as the front desk does not want to give you an early check-in. We were traveling on business and the front desk put the room rate on my company's business account but tried to put taxes and resort fee ($70) on my personal card. I had to call my company and get it straightened out.
We asked 3 times if our room was ready ( this was a Tuesday in June ) and until I asked for a Manager I just got a run around. Most hotels check you in early with no issue if they have rooms available. The front desk staff were not friendly and had a lackadaisical attitude. As they are usually the first hotel you see I found this shocking for a resort this size.
Food is just okay and this is a family resort I do not think I would choose it for a business meeting or couples getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I love the property, lots of activities and the various room types are great for a couple or a family.

The main building is beautiful and the pools have a great set up. A couple of things

-The facilities (all of them) seem too small for the amount of people that stay here. We went to the main pool at about 4pm (expecting it to be winding down) and we still couldn't find a proper lounge chair. The pool was PACKED with people (think the Caddy Pool Day in Caddy shack).

-The towel check out system. This is the first time I have ever stayed at a resort that required you to "check out" towels. You have to stand in line, fill out a form that is kept in a file-a-fax and you get charged $25 if you don't turn them back in. To turn them back in you must wait in another line and make sure they can find your card. The people in front of me had their card lost and had to stand there forever (with their kids in tow) while they searched all the cards. People don't pay $499 per night for a room to steal towels. Have some faith in your customers.

We will def come back to the keys and would come back to Hawks Cay but we we wouldn't eat here (see review of Ocean) and we would probably only use the public areas during non-peak times.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed here 3 nights (Sun-Tues) with friends and children. It was a pleasant stay in a 2 bedroom villa with a sunset view (5022). The view was wonderful and I would highly recommend a villa with this view! The porches were spacious and comfortable (this villa had three, not all villas do) however the 2 bedrooms were small and cramped! In the front room, you litterally had to climb over the bed to get out of the porch doors. The bathrooms were small but very clean. We had a clogged toilet that was addressed very quickly when I called the front desk. Downstairs, the kitchen and livingroom were much more spacious and also very clean. There is a full kitchen which we made good use of (after reading reviews about the restaurant, we didnt bother trying it). My one gripe with the kitchen was that it comes with a coffee maker but no coffee or filters! When you go to the store on-site to buy these items, the prices are outrageous! So we picked up some coffee & filters at a grocery store on Marathon instead. There was a pull out couch for the kids, although we had to request linens for it, they were not already in the room. No biggie, they came quickly and made up the bed for us upon request. The Wi-fi signal was weak and mostly unuseable for me in this villa. But there was a full washer/drier in the room with some complimentary detergent which we utilized and appreciated. The pool and lagoon are both very nice. The poolside bar is pricey but the drinks were good and service was pleasant. We all went on the snorkeling cruise to Coffins Patch and it was a wonderful experience, everyone enjoyed it. The staff was friendly and helpful. They even helped me with my own personal snorkeling gear when my clip that heald my snorkel up broke, they replaced it for me.They provided free bottled water for everyone, and we brought sandwhiches for the ride back. A few people got sea sick on the way back in, however the ride is not too long so it was still well worth it. Beware the hidden fuel surcharge on all of the cruises. Another benefit to this resort for us was location! It is only 15 min into Marathon, 30 minutes to Bahia Honda State Park (best beaches in the Keys) and an hour into Key West. Overall, it was a wonderful stay and I would absolutely come again! But next time, I'm packing coffee and filters, lol.

Room Tip: Sunset views are well worth it if you are staying in a villa! But bring your own coffee and filters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our family vacations every year in the Keys, sometimes twice. We have stayed with close friends until our recent trip last week. We stayed at Hawk's Cay Resort. This is a beautiful resort. We had a lovely time. The property is beautiful and the pools and lagoon/beach are well maintained. Every employee we encountered was friendly and always had a big smile for us. Our teenagers are big into water sports. One enjoyed snorkeling in the protected lagoon for hours daily. We all enjoyed reef snorkeling and my oldest tried SNUBA with Dive Duck Key. Every experience was top rate. I felt very comfortable staying here alone with my children and letting them enjoy their vacation while I enjoyed mine by the adults only Tranquility Pool laying in a cabana!. The rooms are spacious and lovely and the beds were very luxurious. Everything you need is right there within a short walk or courtesy tram ride. You don't have to leave the resort if you don't want to. Marathon is only ten minutes away and Key West about an hour if you choose to venture out. I highly recommend Hawk's Cay as a family vacation spot. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawks Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Cay Resort

Address: 61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, Duck Key, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Duck Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawks Cay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Villa 5005 located on Duck Key Harbor overlooking the Gulf. Expanded size bump-out provides roominess of a cottage villa. Huge master suite with balcony, 2 full baths up, 1 half bath down. Dining room seats 8, sleeps 6, big lower deck and sandy beach. Call Reservations to reserve 5005. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hawks Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Cay Hotel Duck Key
Hawks Cay Duck Key
Duck Key
Hawk Cay Resort
Hawks Key
Hawks Cay Resort Duck Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawks Cay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.