We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawks Cay Resort

Save Saved
You added Hawks Cay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawks Cay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, Duck Key, FL 33050   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 20% All Fall!
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Duck Key
Garner, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great experience...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Spent my birthday weekend there. The front desk team is great. They were so welcoming when I arrived. Andrew, Stewart, Jenny, Jason, Amy Kate some of the front office team I interact with. The valet team remembered my name every time I came down to pick up my car. My room was ready and I got a complimentary upgrade. It was nice.
I loved having the different pools all over the resort. My favorite pool was the sunset pool. It was so relaxing. I went diving one day with the team from Dive duck key, they were great. So much fun spending the day with them. Defiantly coming back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawksCayResort, Director of Marketing at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear floridadiver101,

Thank you for choosing to spend such a special occasion with us. We're honored to have helped you celebrate your birthday, and are happy that we provided you with the fun trip you had hoped for.

I know that our front office team appreciates your thanks. They really are a great team! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Jennifer Dinan
Jennifer.Dinan@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,637 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,183
    746
    375
    190
    143
See reviews for
1309
760
17
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swartz Creek, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I chose this resort as our 25th wedding anniversary destination. We had an excellent experience here. The resort offers lots to do if that's what you are looking for in a vacation, but we really enjoyed to laid back quiet side of the resort - the adult pool was very relaxing. The room we had was clean and roomy (island view king). The staff was wonderful, very helpful and caring. The food was great! We had food and drink at the pool, also at Ocean's restaurant and the Alma and never had a complaint about any of it. We will for sure be going back and hope to take friends along! We spent several late evenings sitting at the Alma talking to both vacationers and some very nice local people - we felt right at home! We also must say if you go to the Alma, sit at the bar and ask for Cheryll, she is fabulous as a bartender and a person!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawksCayResort, Director of Marketing at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear jandmssmith,

Thank you for choosing to spend such a special occasion with us, and we hope to be a part of many anniversary celebrations to come. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time at Hawks Cay.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Jennifer Dinan
Jennifer.dinan@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed for Christmas this year after trying to pick somewhere close to Miami to spend the holiday before we started having kids. That was our first mistake. Do not stay here if you are a single couple. It is loud, and rambunctious. The walls are paper thin... Kids screaming, doors shutting, toilets flushing.... We could even hear our neighbors peeing!!! The noise started as soon as the sun came up and calling the front desk provided no relief. We had the lanai room by the adult pool, but it made absolutely no difference....it was like being in a daycare.

The food at the pool bars was inedible, we ended up driving to Key West to have some adult fun and have some decent food. It was the highlight of our trip. There is absolutely nothing to do on Duck Key and the resort is much tinier than the photos lead you to believe and there is no activities for adults. There were never any lounge chairs at the pool and the cocktail service was nonexistent.
.
The servers and staff at the hotel were very nice, that was the one positive. There was live music near the fire pit which also provided some entertainment. The breakfast buffet was ok.

Relaxation, romance, and unwinding will not take place at this resort... Consider Cheeca Lodge or head to Key West for higher quality adult vacationing. We will not be returning.... Even when we have children.

Hope this helps!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawksCayResort, Director of Marketing at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear RKB041513,

Thank you for your review of your Christmas stay with us. I am so sorry that we were not able to provide you and your husband with the relaxing experience that you desired.

While Christmas and other holidays tend to be our busiest travel periods for families, and in fact Christmas week is the busiest week of the year, you'll find that Hawks Cay provides the wonderful, relaxing adult experience that you desired outside of those holiday time periods.

I hope that we'll have the opportunity to host you and your husband again in the future so that we can showcase the many adult-oriented activities, dining options and pure relaxation that we are able to provide.

Best regards,
Jennifer Dinan
Jennifer.dinan@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Arrived in a pouring down rainstorm so VERY happy that they had a covered valet entrance! Nice that valet parking is included with the daily resort fee. We stayed in the main hotel and had a pool view room. Nice updated room, but didn't have that "wow" factor for me. Normal hotel room furniture and decor. We are a couple in our 30's, no children. This is a family resort and you can tell they cater to it. We still had a great time, but probably will not return as we clearly did not fit their demographic and felt it the entire time we were there.
Pros: Dolphin program was great and we are so glad we did it. You can view the dolphins any time of day from viewing areas near their enclosure as well. Also did the jet ski tour and that was very fun. Live music at night by fire pit a great way to end the day. Drink service was attentive and good by pool and lagoon.
Cons: Caters to families and we got tired of watching kids run around. They do have an adult pool, but it is smaller and not convenient to where our room was located. Adult pool bar closes at 5 PM which also is a bummer. Gluten free dining options were poor and so we had to venture off property for almost all meals. Tram service was slow.
The florida keys are worth visiting but there are better options in this price point for couples to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawksCayResort, Director of Marketing at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Kathy 3679,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for your detailed comments. It sounds like you enjoyed many of the amenities and activities that we have to offer, and I'm so glad you had a fun trip.

We hope that we'll have the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Best regards,
Jennifer Dinan
Jennifer.dinan@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This resort made a billing error in that they charged the wrong credit card. When i spoke to the front desk they said no problem, call this number and they will move the balance on to proper persons credit card. Then called the billing office to make the correction, they said nothing they could done by law since i had already checked out. Basically a bunch of excuses so as not to go through any trouble to correct their mistake.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawksCayResort, Director of Marketing at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Shayne E,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. I apologize for the billing error you encountered. Could you please contact me directly so that I can look into the issue and see if there is a way that we can correct the problem for you?

Best regards,
Jennifer Dinan
Jennifer.dinan@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We spent several days here, and found it to meet our expectations, for the most part. We had one of the walk-out lanai rooms that faced the adult/quiet pool, and it was perfect. The pool itself was very relaxed and quiet, and at least for the time we were there, we had no issues with people reserving chairs and not using them, which was not the case at the other family pool, where this game was played without apparent policing by the hotel staff. The pools were well-maintained and the water was heated to a very comfortable level. The beach is not really a beach, of course, but it's usable. This is not your typical resort type of sandy beach, though. Not by a long shot.

Food choices are probably the most mediocre thing about this place. The smaller restaurant is nothing to write home about, and the larger restaurant is nothing more than a slightly more upscale Denny's. You'd be better served by driving to Marathon for dinner.

Poolside drink/food service is available, but is clearly not a high priority. Most of the time we had to take care of ourselves, as the service was spotty and unpredictable. This was surprising, given that the prices are not cheap. I've stayed at many other places with better poolside service.

Room Tip: Poolside lanai room facing the quiet adult pool is preferable if traveling without children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawksCayResort, Director of Marketing at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear pennsyguy,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Hawks Cay. I'm so glad you enjoyed your time here, and you've shared a great tip about the Lanai Guestrooms along the Tranquility Pool when travelling as a couple.

I am so sorry that our dining experiences did not exceed your expectations. I will insure that our Food & Beverage team has an opportunity to review your comments so that they can be addressed appropriately.

If there are any additional details or suggestions that you'd like to share, please don't hesitate to contact me directly. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Best regards,
Jennifer Dinan
Jennifer.Dinan@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed one night in one of their 2/2 villas with 11 friends and family. The villa had two bedrooms with private bathrooms in each room on the top floor. Downstairs consisted of a living room with a pullout sofa bed, full bathroom and kitchen and a guest room with a twin daybed with trundle bed. Both rooms upstairs had spacious balconies! As well as a back yard patio that opened out to a backyard pier where one can dock a boat if need be. The grounds of the resort were amazing. We took advantage of two of their five pools and spent most of the day in the saltwater lagoon. The resort also has a dolphin cove, kayak and boat rentals and at night, various fire pits with live music. The staff was exceptionally courteous and helpful. When walking through the lobby, the staff politely hold the doors open and greet you. Throughout the resort you are greeted and welcomed by every staff member. Not only were the grounds naturally and manicured beautifully but the service and staff of the resort was exceptionally top notch. It almost felt like you were at a Caribbean five star resort instead of two hours away from my home in miami. Love this place and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawksCayResort, Director of Marketing at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Irene A,

Thank you for your review and recent stay at Hawks Cay. It's wonderful to hear that your entire family so thoroughly enjoyed your time with us.

I always tell my South Floridian friends that even thought Hawks Cay is a quick drive, you truly feel that you're a world away when you arrive. I'm so glad that you experienced that same sense of escape and relaxation.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Best regards,
Jennifer Dinan
Jennifer.Dinan@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hawks Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Cay Resort

Address: 61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, Duck Key, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Duck Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Duck Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawks Cay Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Villa 5005 located on Duck Key Harbor overlooking the Gulf. Expanded size bump-out provides roominess of a cottage villa. Huge master suite with balcony, 2 full baths up, 1 half bath down. Dining room seats 8, sleeps 6, big lower deck and sandy beach. Call Reservations to reserve 5005. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hawks Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Cay Hotel Duck Key
Hawks Cay Duck Key
Duck Key
Hawk Cay Resort
Hawks Key
Hawks Cay Resort Duck Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawks Cay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.