We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place for a short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawks Cay Resort

Save Saved
You added Hawks Cay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 7 more sites!
Hawks Cay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, Duck Key, FL 33050   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Duck Key
pittsburgh
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful place for a short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We spent several days here, and found it to meet our expectations, for the most part. We had one of the walk-out lanai rooms that faced the adult/quiet pool, and it was perfect. The pool itself was very relaxed and quiet, and at least for the time we were there, we had no issues with people reserving chairs and not using them, which was not the case at the other family pool, where this game was played without apparent policing by the hotel staff. The pools were well-maintained and the water was heated to a very comfortable level. The beach is not really a beach, of course, but it's usable. This is not your typical resort type of sandy beach, though. Not by a long shot.

Food choices are probably the most mediocre thing about this place. The smaller restaurant is nothing to write home about, and the larger restaurant is nothing more than a slightly more upscale Denny's. You'd be better served by driving to Marathon for dinner.

Poolside drink/food service is available, but is clearly not a high priority. Most of the time we had to take care of ourselves, as the service was spotty and unpredictable. This was surprising, given that the prices are not cheap. I've stayed at many other places with better poolside service.

Room Tip: Poolside lanai room facing the quiet adult pool is preferable if traveling without children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawksCayResort, Director of Marketing at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear pennsyguy,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Hawks Cay. I'm so glad you enjoyed your time here, and you've shared a great tip about the Lanai Guestrooms along the Tranquility Pool when travelling as a couple.

I am so sorry that our dining experiences did not exceed your expectations. I will insure that our Food & Beverage team has an opportunity to review your comments so that they can be addressed appropriately.

If there are any additional details or suggestions that you'd like to share, please don't hesitate to contact me directly. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Best regards,
Jennifer Dinan
Jennifer.Dinan@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,476 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,129
    693
    346
    176
    132
See reviews for
1218
720
16
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed one night in one of their 2/2 villas with 11 friends and family. The villa had two bedrooms with private bathrooms in each room on the top floor. Downstairs consisted of a living room with a pullout sofa bed, full bathroom and kitchen and a guest room with a twin daybed with trundle bed. Both rooms upstairs had spacious balconies! As well as a back yard patio that opened out to a backyard pier where one can dock a boat if need be. The grounds of the resort were amazing. We took advantage of two of their five pools and spent most of the day in the saltwater lagoon. The resort also has a dolphin cove, kayak and boat rentals and at night, various fire pits with live music. The staff was exceptionally courteous and helpful. When walking through the lobby, the staff politely hold the doors open and greet you. Throughout the resort you are greeted and welcomed by every staff member. Not only were the grounds naturally and manicured beautifully but the service and staff of the resort was exceptionally top notch. It almost felt like you were at a Caribbean five star resort instead of two hours away from my home in miami. Love this place and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawksCayResort, Director of Marketing at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Irene A,

Thank you for your review and recent stay at Hawks Cay. It's wonderful to hear that your entire family so thoroughly enjoyed your time with us.

I always tell my South Floridian friends that even thought Hawks Cay is a quick drive, you truly feel that you're a world away when you arrive. I'm so glad that you experienced that same sense of escape and relaxation.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Best regards,
Jennifer Dinan
Jennifer.Dinan@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elstead, Surrey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here after a fun-filled 12 night stay in Orland do everything Disney and beyond. We had a fabulous time here. We stayed in a marina villa (we upgraded) which was like a pretty wood clad New England style home. Very nicely done inside. The bedrooms upstairs were both en-suite and very nice. They washer dryer was great as we returned home with clean clothes! We ended up doing the dolphin swim here and at the Dolphin Connection program down the road. The other one was slightly better as the whole family can participate (from age 4-adult). They also do the dorsal fin swim which they don't do at HC. My son was told he was too short to be in the water with the dolphins at HC so very glad we went down the road and he had a chance to participate in this very special of treats.

The pools are fabulous there is a main one by the restaurants and lagoon and an adult only one further round the corner hidden from the main area and noise. There is also a fab kids pool with pirate ship behind the kids club and another deeper pool here also. The hot tubs are scorching and fab and we all loved the lagoon.

We had a lovely big lawn outside our villa for family games and the marina where the kids fished off the dock (not supposed to but no one cared and the boat owners lent us extra nods and tips!). We had a manatee swim up during fishing trip which was really special.

Ocean restaurant was brilliant. The mexican restaurant burned down the day we arrived and they do need another one. Think they need a japanese / sushi / fusion restaurant.

The Keys are very laid back. Get all your shopping done in Orlando.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawksCayResort, Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear MrsGPie,
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip, and maybe by then your son will be tall enough to participate in our Dolphin Discovery program. If not, our Dockside Dolphins interaction is a wonderful opportunity for guests of any height to meet with our beautiful dolphins from the safety and comfort of our floating docks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Lobby area, restaurants and Pool area are wonderful. However, the rooms that they
gave us were in need of repair. The Chair and carpeting in the room were stained, the bottom of the bathroom door was broken up. The Hallway of our building had not been vacuumed in a long time. We had water view rooms...the only thing we saw was a large Palm tree directly in front of our Balcony. I would not stay here again. I do have friends who stayed here, and apparently, they were given a wonderful room. They booked the same style room we did.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Sates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Took a spontaneous trip to the Keys with some friends and stayed at Hawks Cay resort. We intended on staying in a 2/2 condo but stayed in a 2/2 villas. Due to our reservation mix up, one of the front agents named Stewart was very nice enough to upgrade us to one of their newer villas that included a guest room. All I can say about our villa was Wow! It was extremely nice! Every room had flat screens in it including the guest room. Plus there was a kitchenette and a washer/dryer which was upstairs. The beds were very comfortable and extremely spacious! Furthermore, the back of the villas was even nicer. There's a lot of space where you can do different things like barbeque plus there's a little lake area where you can dock a boat if you have one. If you have a big family and want some space, I suggest renting their villas. The villa felt like a little home. My friends and I loved it so much that we considered staying another night. As for the resort, it was beautiful! There are about 5 pools, including an adult pool called Tranquil. There's a place for kids to Kayak and snorkel. In addition, the kids can also enjoy feeding and watching the dolphins play. The resort is a perfect setting for honeymooners and family and kids. There are plenty of activities to do such as jet skiing, snorkeling, boating, etc. We had the buffet style breakfast which was great. We ordered food by the pool, which took us some time to get a server. But as soon as we found a server to assist us, the food came in a reasonable time. Our server, Rupert, was extremely nice and made us laugh a few times. He was also able to scare away the Seagulls who were anxiously waiting to get our food. So if you order food by the pool, please watch out for the hungry, aggressively flying Seagulls. My overall experience at Hawks Cay resort was very GOOD. The staff was very helpful, the villa was extremely nice, and the poolside was amazingly beautiful! I suggest if you want a great, relaxing experience to stay here. My friends and I had a great experience that we will be back next month. This was the best spontaneous road trip I ever had, that turned out Amazing!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The resort has an incredible location with ocean views and two pools (including a quiet pool of guests over 21). The resort has great food an uber-friendly staff, plus snorkel trips and a sunset cruise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at the resort in late April 2013. Great place with a beautiful hotel, friendly staff, beautiful pool and lagoon. Our room was very spacious and nice. We liked the central location of Duck Key and we traveled to Big Pine Key, Marathon and Islamarada to enjoy the islands. The only draw back is the food at the hotel restaurants is over priced and not of very good quality for what you get. We traveled from the hotel for great meals elsewhere. We did the Dolphin Connection which was fun and we had great interaction with the Dolphins.

Room Tip: We were in a Island view room with fit in our budget - it would have been nice to have a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hawks Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Cay Resort

Also Known As:
Hawks Cay Hotel Duck Key
Hawks Cay
Hawks Cay Hotel
Hawks Cay Duck Key
Duck Key
Hawk Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort Duck Key, Florida
Hawks Key
Address: 61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, Duck Key, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Duck Key
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Duck Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawks Cay Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hawks Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawks Cay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.