We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawks Cay Resort

Save Saved
You added Hawks Cay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawks Cay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, Duck Key, FL 33050   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% All Fall!
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Duck Key
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Overall, I would highly recommend a stay at hawks Kay. Nice large facilities, extensive activities and very nice villas.

PROS: villas are beautiful, we stayed near the spa with a deck overlooking the canal. Fun to see the fish for the kids and sit in the screened porch. The dolphin connection is right here and it was a wonderful program (see another rating). Food at the lagoon/pool was just as expected and about the price range one would see at this type of resort. Starbucks in the main building. Easy checkin. Good wifi. Excellent kids club (I always stayed) with a great pirate pool and quiet pool behind that one. Comfy beds. We were granted a late check out easily as we'll an an upgrade (join the I prefer program prior to stay)

CONS: needs more kitchen items as well as dish soap, we had to use shampoo to hand wash plus ran out of bowls with 6 people in the unit frequently. Limited services later at night but for us, we stuck to the villa so it was fine. Needs more and larger garbage in the unit, and I thought we were supposed to get our garbage removed daily but that didn't happen. Construction by the marina so using the path over there was tricky, but I managed. VERY overpriced groceries by the marina, but as expected.

Overall, I wouldn't not consider the negatives to overtake the positives as I believe many of these are expected at a resort. We were here on a weekend and a couple days during the week, the week was much quieter and we had a harder time getting service at the pool. We managed however by just getting off our butts and walking to the tiki hut.

Would recommend as long as you are looking for a larger resort feel....

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawksCayResort, Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Fishyfishy11,

Thank you for taking the time to share such detailed feedback of your stay at Hawks Cay. I'm glad you enjoyed your experience wtih us. Please know that I have shared your comments with our Villa Operations team so that they can address them appropriately.

We hope to welcome you back to the resort very soon.

Best regards,
Jennifer Dinan
jennifer.dinan@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,624 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,179
    740
    372
    190
    143
See reviews for
1292
755
17
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I went to Hawks Cay for our honeymoon after much research on the Keys. We could not be happier with our decision...it was exactly what we were looking for--good food, relaxation, beautiful atmosphere, and oriented to both couples and families.

We did the jetskis and enjoyed it very much (ask to see the ship wreck on your tour it's cool but kind of creepy), eat at Key Colony Inn (its very reasonable and delicious) if you have a car it's towards Marathon, and go see Nathan for all of your Key West needs.

The pools and lagoon are amazing and definitely eat lunch by the pool and try the pina coladas! The rooms are spacious and very clean. Beds are super comfortable. They are opening a new restaurant in December 2012 and this will definitely help with food choices! I hope it's reasonably price and diverse menu options.

Definitely will go back ...probably would do jet skis and eat at Lorelais more (near Islamorada). And don't go eat at the seafood buffet near islamorada it's gross.

Also--take advantage of the full breakfast buffet. it's only $18 a person and great quality!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay in the resort, not the villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed at hawks Cay October 8th to the 10th. I had a beautiful junior suite which was much larger than I expected (room 2226)! My room was very clean and the resort was very relaxing as I spent most of my time at the tranquility pool. I would definitely recommend this resort for families with children. There seemed to be a ton of activities for kids! I loved the location! It was great for exploring the middle keys! The pool and lagoon were perfect for me, but if your looking for a beach sombrero is not far! Most hotels in the keys are very casual and relaxed. If you're looking for something a little more upscale Hawks Cay is for you!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Head, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Though Hawks Cay is certainly not a terrible resort, it is certainly mediocre. We stayed in the Harbor Village section of the resort.

The view is wonderful, with water flowing by your townhouse villa. There are plenty of tropical fish to see in the harbor itself, which made for a nice relaxing time-killer.

The villa we were in did not match the pictures on the website or our expectations. The main room and kitchen are acceptable, but the bedrooms are stuffed with queen beds when they are sized to fit doubles. We are physically fit individuals and could not squeeze between the bed and the exit to the upstairs patio.

Bathrooms are equally small. We could not stand directly at the sink due to the door being in the way. Our tub was in dire need of re-caulking. More is expected from a "luxury" resort. One shouldn't say "yuck" in a place such as this.

The air conditioning system is terribly loud. It starts with a bang and ends with a sound of cracking drywall. This woke us up three to five times each night we were here.

Trash is NOT picked up from the villas, nor do you receive room service included with the resort price (you still pay the daily resort fee, though!)

Room Tip: Try the main hotel, you'll get better service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My brother and sister-in-law are there now and called to tell us how beautiful and amazing it is! She said the view is unbelievable and they love their room and view from the room. We will be arriving in 3 weeks so it's nice to hear the great review from them. My husband does meeting planning for his company so it would be wonderful to return after our initial trip. We have heard about this resort for years and are so anxious to finally visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Very disappointed. Was charged different prices for the same drink from different bartenders. Valet parking=waiting because they did not have anyone scheduled=just go get it yourself. Restaurants were unorganized ,waited 10 min just to be acknowledged, 20 more for drink and food.WAITING seemed to be their theme.Never going back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boca raton, florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

As beautiful as this resort was, with an incredible view and nice rooms, we were disappointed with the lack of amenities. The tiki bar closed at 10pm, only one restaurant was open, it was actually deadly as far as nightime activities. We are not newlyweds and not particularly looking peace and quiet, nor were we a family with small children, so we were very disappointed. We had to travel out of the complex to restaurants and find other activities. While swimming with the dolphins at $400 for 20 minutes would be enticing, it was just too much money evidenced by the lack of interest by others. We did not see anyone take part. Would never go back. Too many other places in the Keys with more to offer. If you're driving at night be sure to know where you're going since the main road is not lit and dangerous. All in all, we love the keys, but will not return to Hawks Cay.

Room Tip: Please be sure to ask for a waterfront room, otherwise the other rooms are isolated with no view exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawksCayResort, Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Hawks Cay Resort. To be sure there isn't any confusion, we want to clarify that our in-water dolphin interaction is a 45-minute program that costs $165 per person. We also offer choices, including some less expensive programs, and even the unique opportunity to view our dolphins free of charge. Our hope is this allows an opportunity for everyone to be inspired by our dolphin family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hawks Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Cay Resort

Address: 61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, Duck Key, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Duck Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Duck Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawks Cay Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Villa 5005 located on Duck Key Harbor overlooking the Gulf. Expanded size bump-out provides roominess of a cottage villa. Huge master suite with balcony, 2 full baths up, 1 half bath down. Dining room seats 8, sleeps 6, big lower deck and sandy beach. Call Reservations to reserve 5005. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hawks Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Cay Hotel Duck Key
Hawks Cay Duck Key
Duck Key
Hawk Cay Resort
Hawks Key
Hawks Cay Resort Duck Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawks Cay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.