We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hawks Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hawks Cay Resort to your Saves list
Hawks Cay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, @ Hawks Cay Resort, Duck Key, FL 33050   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4th Night Free
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dissappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We booked reservations at this resort because it was reported to be family friendly with activites for teens. During our week stay there was only one two hour block with teen activities. The restaurants were very diappointing. The one night we could get into the better restaurant we placed in a darkcorner and the service was very very slow. Other nights we were told we could not get into the restaruants. There were some special events on the property so the service was catered to them. We were ignored. We had hoped to snorkel but the trips were cancelled every day. Instead we drove an hour to the National Park and went with them. We would not recommend this resort.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,404
    974
    498
    271
    181
See reviews for
1,659
932
19
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (817)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

What a resort, probably the best in all of the Keys! Prices are wide ranging so you really have to look for some good deals, but this resort is worth the effort. This key does not have much around it, so once you are at this resort, there is no place to go unless you want to drive for a while. However, I don't know why anyone would want to leave! Prices on the food is reasonable, activities for all ages are in abundance. Staff is exceptionally friendly and everything you need for having fun is ready. There is some great pier fishing just outside of the resort. The kids have their own mini resort and it is awesome with very friendly staff and very attentive to the patrons.

Room Tip: Look for specials to save money, the regular rate for this hotel is pricey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkscaycc, Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Contacttodd,

Thank you for sharing your great experience with us. I’m thrilled you had the opportunity to take advantage of all the amenities the resort has to offer.

We look for forward to welcoming you and your family back to the resort for your next stay with us. Again, thank you for allowing us to host you in the Florida Keys.

Best Regards,
Cindy Carter cindy.carter@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a wonderful, family oriented resort. My wife and I celebrated our 20th anniversary at Hawks Cay and just had a wonderful time and didn't break the bank in the process. The staff was great as were the amenities. I will definitely be returning this time with the kids as well.

If you are a diver I really can't say enough good things about Dive duck Key the dive operator associated with the resort. They treated my wife and I like royalty and the Seafari is a great dive boat! Many thanks to Joe and Wendy hull and to our favorite DM Lynda. I feel like we not only had some unreal dives but made some friends as well. Superb outfit!

Room Tip: I can't speak for the ocean view rooms but the rooms facing inland were just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkscaycc, Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Steve,

Thank you for your comments and allowing us to be a part of your special celebration. Congratulations to the both of you!
We appreciate you kind comments regarding our team and the awesome customer service you received. I will be sure to share your comments with Joe, Wendy and Lynda regarding the excellent service and diving experience you had. I’m thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to you returning with the kids during your next visit with us.


Best Regards,
Cindy Carter
Cindy.carter@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had 5 rooms for 4 nights 4 teenagers did all the activities and had a great time Marathan is only 15 minutes away and has great restaurants We fished two days Zack was our captain and was great Most restaurants will cook your catch

Room Tip: lanai rooms are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkscaycc, Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Baldd,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay. We appreciate your feedback and we are thrilled to hear you had a fabulous time! I’m glad we were a part of creating those special memories for you and your family.

Best Regards,
Cindy Carter
cindy.carter@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at one of the vacation villas with some friends and their kids this summer and had a great time. THe villa had a pool which the kids enjoyed tremendously after thoroughly enjoying the beach at the resort. We had one snafu (it was raining torrentially a couple of the days we were there and the staff discovered a leak in the villa we had originally rented, and so we wound up staying in a smaller place), but it was all resolved quickly and barely affected our stay. We will definitely stay here again soon!

Room Tip: The sanctuary villas are beautiful and each has their own pool. However, the villas in Sunset Villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkscaycc, Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear GRMom,

Thank you, for your comments regarding your most recent stay at the resort. We are thrilled to hear your stay with us was a success and exceeded your expectations. Sounds like you took advantage of the lagoon and beach area, dipping your toes in the sand. I’m sorry to hear the weather didn’t cooperate a couple of days during your visit. Thank you for being so understanding during your transfer to a new, post-rain villa. I do apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused. We look forward to your next stay with us. See you soon!

Best Regards,
Cindy Carter
cindy.carter@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I was there on a business trip, and the resort was beautiful. I only wish my family was there to enjoy the surroundings. The rooms were great and the the resort layout was beautiful.
The restaurants quality was top notch.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkscaycc, Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Deuce2001,

Thank you for your comments and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We’re glad you enjoyed the resort and the beautiful surroundings the resort has to offer. We welcome you and your family to come back and spend time with us in the future. Please don’t hesitate to contact me directly to plan your next visit with us.

Best Regards,
Cindy Carter
Cindy.carter@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have been in Hawks Cay resort 5 times and it is always a pleasure in staying there. Great condos, we always prefer the harbor village comdos. The swmingpool is lovely, clean and the staff is very friendly. If you would like to come to the Keys, go to Hawks Cay Resort

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkscaycc, Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Franshuys,

Thank you for your generous recommendations for other fellow travelers looking for a perfect get away that offers something for everyone. We are honored to have you as a repeat guest at the resort. Again, thank you for choosing us, and we look forward to having you back again.

Best Regards,
Cindy Carter
Cindy.carter@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck Key
13.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
18.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#7 of 20 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 758 reviews
7.7 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
12.8 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
19.8 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#9 of 20 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawks Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Cay Resort

Address: 61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, @ Hawks Cay Resort, Duck Key, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Duck Key
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawks Cay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hawks Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Cay Hotel Duck Key
Hawks Cay Duck Key
Duck Key
Hawk Cay Resort
Hawks Key
Hawks Cay Resort Duck Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawks Cay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.