We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawks Cay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hawks Cay Resort to your Saves list
Hawks Cay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, Duck Key, FL 33050   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
De Pere, WI
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We recently stayed at the Hawks Cay Resort area in an individually owned condominium. It had a lanai with a great view of the marina. The resort has many activities to keep all ages happy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawksCayResort, Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Jodie 1906,

Thank you for your feedback. It sounds like you stayed in one of our 1-story villas in the Marina Village. I absolutely love these units because of the large screened-in lanai overlooking Hawks Cay Marina, as you mentioned. An ideal way to start or end your day in the Keys is lounging on the lanai watching the boats departing and returning with the day's catch.

Best regards,
Jennifer Dinan
jennifer.dinan@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,269
    821
    414
    213
    155
See reviews for
1,408
817
18
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valrico, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We just got back from an amazing experience at the fabulous Hawk's Cay resort in the beautiful Florida Keys. I have been to many resorts accross the country and I can honestly say that Hawk's is at the top of my list. The facility itself is fantastic, several pools one of them called the Tranquility Pool. Tranquility = no children!! No worries though, because a beautiful meandering pool is available for families. Also great for folks young or old is the lagoon, an enclosed section of ocean water where you can swim, paddleboard or just sunbathe. Plenty of attention from the wait staff, always willing to help with a tropical drink or lunch.
We had a group of about 15 and we stayed several of the rooms and a couple of villas which were immaculate and very comfortable. The villas were huge and included everything we needed. Our villas bed were by far the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in!
This place is a gem located right square in the middle of paradise. I liked it so much I booked again in July, but I'm not sure I will be able to wait that long to go back.

Room Tip: Four bedroom villa 7057 was perfect. Amazing setup and spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawksCayResort, Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Frank P,

It sounds like you and your family had a fantastic trip to the Keys. Thank you so much for staying with Hawks Cay and sharing your story. We look forward to seeing you again in July!

Best regards,
Jennifer Dinan
jennifer.dinan@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

What do I say? Came here with high expectations based on the website. Villa is nice, but the pool is very small for the number of guests. The main view is of the highway. Granted, it is over a beautiful blue canal, but it's still the highway. The amenities are very spread out, and it is pretty much up to you to do and arrange everything. The concierge is non-existent. The food on the property is limited, sub-par, and very expensive for what is. Let's face it, the reason you visit a resort is for the convenience and availability of activities at your fingertips. Hawk's Cay seriously fails in this department. Hire a concierge for gods sake! Love the keys, but next time will pick a different resort.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed there from March 28th to April 1st. When we checked in we got assigned a room with the dirtiest carpet I have ever seen. The furniture had stains that looked like blood and body fluids. We did see how bad it was when we first checked in, but when we came back at night it was frightening. We spoke to the front desk person who agreed that the room was not right. He switched us to another room, which to keys did not work. After waiting for a maintenance person in a hot hallway, we were told that we could only have one key because the front desk system was not working. The second room also had stains on the carpet and furniture, just not as bad. The night desk person told us the stains must be from Spring Breakers. We had to wear our sandals in the room because of the filthy carpet. I got up during the night to use the bathroom and there was a roach on the floor. Before I could smash it, it disappeared. When I was unloading my suitcase at home, guess what I found? A roach in my suitcase! Because there was not an apology from the management about the unclean carpets and furniture, we decided that all complaints would be ignored. The night manager did say he would write a report of the complaints to the hotel manager who never bothered to contact us.
Despite the room experience, there are some good things about the resort. There are an abundance of activities. We booked a reef fishing trip and had the greatest time of our trip. We took the Tailwalker 3 with Captain Zack and Mate Tyson and they knew exactly where the fish were. Tom’s Grill at the Marina cooked some of our catch for dinner. How cool is that? We also took a kayak tour, which was tough to do on a very windy day. Also, the spa is very nice and calming. We had a couples massage and enjoyed it.
Every day we came back to the room, the door to the lanai was unlocked. I think the maid did not know how to lock the door because it is very confusing, even though it is written on a clear sticker how to lock the door in English. Anyone could have walked in from the pool area into our room.
They have this no tipping policy at this hotel, but they include the gratuity in the price of your meals and bar tabs. In the room information book it says the opposite. We had to ask if this or that service included the gratuity.
Until they clean it up, I would not stay there again. It is so sad that such a great resort could be so filthy.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Tranquility Pool are more for adults. Easy access to the pool. You cannot lock the door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawksCayResort, Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear HoneyWife_7,

Thank you for your very candid review regarding your recent stay. While I'm thrilled that you enjoyed the activities and amenities at the Resort, the issues you encountered regarding cleanliness are embarrassing. I am so sorry for the inconsistent experience you had in our guestroom. Our Resort Manager is addressing the issues you mention, but I hope we can connect directly to further discuss your stay.

Thank you, again, for your feedback. I hope we'll have the opportunity to earn your loyalty in the future.

Best regards,
Jennifer Dinan
jennifer.dinan@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Hawks Cay is a great place for families. There is so much to do! I have a 6 and 7 year old. We did the Sunset Cruise, Dolphin meet and greet, Parasailing. We were going to snorkel but the trip got cancelled due to impending bad weather. Tom's is a great place to eat! They also have an ice cream shop and a food store so we bought food for the week. We stayed at 4401 which was a beautiful 2 bedroom suite with full kitchen, dining room and living room. We had a spacious wrap around balcony that was screened in looking over the water. The staff is very friendly there was not one person who did not say hello to me as I passed them by! Only one negative was Alma -the fancy restaurant. Way overpriced and the food was not good. We will definitely come back for fishing, jet ski, snorkling and enjoy everything else we did this time!

Room Tip: If you can afford get the marina view suites they are spacious, clean and beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Hawk’s Cay is a resort island that features a variety of different types of vacation accommodations.
The reviews are confusing because some people are reviewing the main resort hotel area and others are reviewing the 2+ bedroom condos/town house/vacation rentals. The areas outside of the main hotel are divided into Sunset Village, Marina Village, Harbor Village, Sanctuary Village and Vacation Rentals. The reviews that refer to outdated décor are referring to some of the condos/vacation rentals.
The island tram transports guests to all the major attractions on the island: the main resort area with dolphin experience, spa, kids area, and marina. The marina area has charters, a shop, restaurant (Tom’s Harbor House), and an ice cream store.
In the immediate vicinity of the main resort hotel there are two pools: the family pool and a tranquility pool for adults only. We were looking for a kid free getaway so we requested a room near the tranquility pool. The beach area is man made (The Keys are not known beaches). Sombrero Beach in Marathon is a small clean free public beach.
The staff was fantastic! Kerstin at the front desk had terrific advice on things to do during our stay. Vincent at the restaurant was welcoming and friendly.
Pros: Tranquility pool, balcony, nicely manicured grounds, dolphins, resort activities. Good value for the money.
Con: Room wasn’t ready at check in, house keeping could have been better: had to ask for extra towels every day, and there was a toilet paper shortage, Ocean view room was disappointing: the ocean was through the trees, across the property on the other side of the pool.
Overall, Hawks Cay was a good value and we hope to return.

Room Tip: If looking for a kid free vacation, request a room near the adults only pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkscaycc, Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear ilovepool,

Wow! Thank you so much for your response, very well put I couldn't of said it any better. It's so great to hear responses from our guest describing the resorts in their own words. It is truly, a place you can come to relax and enjoy the tranquil atmosphere, as well as explore the island; there are so many options we offer our guest as you mentioned, and I’m so glad you were able to take advantage of them during your stay. Its guest like you that keeps us motivated to provide and surpass our guests’ with an extraordinary stay. Again thank you so much for your feedback.

Best Regards,
Cindy Carter
cindy.carter@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Spent a week at Hawks Cay Resort. The activities were fantastic including: swimming with the dolphins; fishing the flats; kite boarding; spa treatments; segway rides, etc. My family loved swimming at the main pool and in the lagoon. The sunset villas were very nice. My only wish is that there was more of a beach on the property. The dining at Alma was some of the best food we have had. Great service all around.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawks Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Cay Resort

Address: 61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, Duck Key, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Duck Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawks Cay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Villa 5005 located on Duck Key Harbor overlooking the Gulf. Expanded size bump-out provides roominess of a cottage villa. Huge master suite with balcony, 2 full baths up, 1 half bath down. Dining room seats 8, sleeps 6, big lower deck and sandy beach. Call Reservations to reserve 5005. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hawks Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Cay Hotel Duck Key
Hawks Cay Duck Key
Duck Key
Hawk Cay Resort
Hawks Key
Hawks Cay Resort Duck Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawks Cay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.