We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 20th Anniversary Trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawks Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hawks Cay Resort to your Saves list
Hawks Cay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, @ Hawks Cay Resort, Duck Key, FL 33050   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4th Night Free
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
West River, MD
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful 20th Anniversary Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

I have to first say this place is absolutely beautiful. While it does not have nice beaches, I felt like I was in a carribean resort. The landscaping, decor, everything was wonderful. We were upgraded from an island view room to a lanai room. That was wonderful. We could walk right out from our deck and head to the pool. Our room was located on the adults only tranquility room. Perfect for a couple on their anniversary. The room was beautiful, clean, and the bed was great.

The food was good as well. We only ate at the grill and Tom's and the food was really good each time. Service was also very quick. A couple times it was slow getting drinks at the pool, but we were not in a hurry. Had room service one night and got a pizza as it was late. What you would expect. Not the greatest, but it did the trick.

The tranquility pool was amazing. We never went to the pain pool. Only walked around it twice. Everyone on staff was very friendly and always willing to help us.

We only had one problem. My Aunt had apparently sent us a gift of a gift certificate to the spa. They were supposed to give it to us upon check in. I figured it was the upgraded room. She called to see if we recived it. Unfortunately we did not get it until 10pm the second to last night - the day we already had spa treatments. Since we had one day left. we did not have time to use it. My husband told the manager what happened and they took the money off our bill. Worked out perfect since we already had treatments at the spa. They are willing to fix any problem.

My parents are there now and there was a mistake when they had to move their reservation two days later for a family funeral. The person forgot to put in the change and when they arrived they had no reservation and was charged as a no show. Well, the manager on duty took care of the situation and upgraded them to the penthouse suite. What a pleasure for their 45th anniversary.

This is a great place and I cannot wait to return..

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djoseph_hcr, Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Dear Imsutton,

Congratulations on your 20th Anniversary! We are grateful to you for the honor of hosting you on such a momentous occasion. I am so pleased that we were able to resolve the issue you encountered with eagerness to render the service you expect. We are always willing to go above and beyond to earn your continued patronage. Your loyalty is one of our greatest assets. We hope to be a part of many anniversary celebrations to come.

Sincerely,
Dominique Joseph
dominique.joseph@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,405
    976
    498
    271
    182
See reviews for
1,663
932
19
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (818)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We have definitely brought the rain from UK with us to Hawks Cay, Florida!! ;-( This place is amazing, lots to do... but we have spent hours locked in our room because of the rain... What a shame ;-( we will definitely try to come back one day... Hopefully we will have no storms then...

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djoseph_hcr, Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Dear PRICILLAGAVIOLI,

Thank you for choosing Hawks Cay and for bringing the much needed rain . I am sorry that you were not able to enjoy the 60 acre lush tropical setting as much as you would have liked. Hopefully you made lemonade with the lemons mother nature dealt, and visited our Calm Waters Spa for one of our divine massages or body treatments.

Sincerely,
Dominique Joseph
dominique.joseph@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We had a great time. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. My 8 year old daughter loved the kids camp there. Will definitely visit again. Cost of room was very reasonable and the standard room was very large.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djoseph_hcr, Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Dear Dao_Smith,

Thank you for your review of our resort. I am happy to hear that you found our staff very friendly and eager to accommodate your requests. It is great to hear that our Kids Club was a big hit with your 8 year old daughter. Hopefully it won’t be too long before we can welcome you back

Sincerely,
Dominique Joseph
dominique.joseph@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOS ALTOS
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We loved Hawks Cay! Gorgeous place, very pleasant and responsive staff, super clean rooms (we were in Sunset Villa condos), lots of activities for our teens, good in-house food, but also many excellent seafood restaurants nearby. It was very hot and humid in June--I would prefer to come back in early Spring or Winter. We appreciated the1-hour proximity to Key West, which is a wonderful day trip. Go snorkeling!!!

If you rent a Sunset Villa condo, ask to be close to the mail lobby/pool--our unit was very far, and we found it too far to walk in the summer heat . Sunset Villa has its own smaller pool nearby, but my kids preferred the main pool and lagoon.

Room Tip: Ask to be close to the main building/pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djoseph_hcr, Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Dear dyingtogetaway,

Thank you for your detailed review of your recent stay with us. Many guests love having Hawks Cay as a "home base" for exploring the Keys and recovering from a day or two in Key West, since we are located right in the center of the Island chain. We are proud to offer a place where any age can have a great time doing as much (or as little) as they like. I'm glad to hear that you and your family took advantage of the fun. We look forward to having you and your family back again soon.

Sincerely,
Dominique Joseph
dominique.joseph@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

The resort is really nice, the main building is beautifully decorated. We felt warmly greeted when we first arrived. The representative we checked in with (at 3:10pm) told us that our villa was not ready so we told the kids (One 22, and two 16 year olds) to go to the Beach Grill to get a table so we could all eat after our long trip to the Keys. As we were walking to join the kids we overheard the waiter complaining that he was serving water to kids. I suppose he thought that is all they were getting. Once we joined them, he found out differently. The serving staff at Hawks Cay is automattically tipped 18% for their service so I suppose they don't feel the need to work quite as hard as those who work for their tips. We went on a sunset cruise and a snuba trip that we booked through the resort and they were both great. We stayed in a villa that had a pool nearby and a view of a lagoon. The lagoon view would have been perfect if it didn't have a view of the highway and a boat storage place. The clean villa had a full kitchen, two bedrooms, a sleeper sofa and 2 1/2 baths. There was a stackable washer and dryer in one of the bedrooms which came in handy because the resort doesn't give you clean towels everyday (you'll need to buy laundry soap and dryer sheets). They only provide maid service every 4 days. If you pay and extra $75 per day, they'll come daily and tidy up. The sheets wouldn't stay on the mattress so every night it felt like we were wrestling the sheets and since housekeeping doesnt come straighten up for you...you get to make beds everyday on your vacation, ugh! We bought cereal for the kids to eat in the mornings but some tiny little ants got in the cereal and we had to dump it all. Also, we were told we had free high speed wireless internet access in our rooms but it never worked.

We ate at Tom's restaurant on the resort and it was nice. Good chocolate cake and key lime pie. If you go off the resort to do any activities (which I recommend) you'll need your own beach towels. I recommend A1A Watersports: Kathy took us on a wild Wave Runner adventure! It was a great time. I also recomment Robbies for fishing, snorkeling and feeding the tarpon! Robbies has a little hole in the wall restaurant called the Hungry Tarpon that is AWESOME! They'll cook the fish you catch any way you want it and it is super yummy. Their black beans and rice, ceasar salad and french fries (just to name a few things) are the best! They cooked our fish very nicely and gave us some really good dipping sauce to go with it. Can't go wrong at that place!
So, overall the Hawks Cay Resort was nice but I'll try somewhere else next time I go to the Keys. Our bill for just the Villa (& fees and taxes of course) for four nights was $2,100.00.

Room Tip: Villas were quiet but not the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djoseph_hcr, Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Dear 63TexasGirl,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for sharing your feedback. I am glad that you and your family had an opportunity to enjoy the Sunset Cruise and SNUBA trip. It was kind of you to mention some of our wonderful amenities available in our villas, like the full kitchen with granite countertops, stainless steel appliances, and since we strive to be an eco-friendly resort, we have also supplied an energy-efficient stackable washer/dryer. Maybe next time you will give Tom’s Harbor House a chance to cook your next catch, and sample their delicious dipping sauce.

Sincerely,
Dominique Joseph
dominique.joseph@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We rented a 3 bedroom 2.5 bath vila and were not disappointed. The villa with great and having our own private pool was great. The Resort pools and play areas were great for the kids and the local dining was great too. A Great stay for the family or for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djoseph_hcr, Manager at Hawks Cay Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Dear Ryan2013,

Thank you for sharing the details of your great family vacation with us. It sounds like you all felt right at home in the villa. Hopefully it won't be too long before we have a chance to see you again.

Sincerely,
Dominique Joseph
dominique.joseph@hawkscay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Just returned from 4 days at hawks Cay. The staff was amazing, the resort was top notch. We stayed in the sanctuary village and were a little concerned it would be a distance from everything. Rest assured everything at the resort is within a short walk. The Indies club area was fantastic. We ate at Toms Harbor House and found it was very affordable. We also went out for a snorkeling trip and had a great time. I would recommend the resort for families or couples as there area areas for each to enjoy. The only issue I had was the internet access left something to be desired but hey it was vacation so maybe thats a good thing.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck Key
13.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
18.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#7 of 20 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 761 reviews
7.7 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
12.8 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
19.8 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#9 of 20 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawks Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Cay Resort

Address: 61 Hawks Cay Boulevard, @ Hawks Cay Resort, Duck Key, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Duck Key
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawks Cay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hawks Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Cay Hotel Duck Key
Hawks Cay Duck Key
Duck Key
Hawk Cay Resort
Hawks Key
Hawks Cay Resort Duck Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawks Cay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.