We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor experience.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean to your Saves list
Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5001 Sunset Village Drive, Duck Key, FL 33050   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Poor experience.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very old and tired accomodations. Hot tub didn't work and was not heated. Furniture is old and uncomfortable. Bath rooms are small and outdated-very little water pressure in the shower. Whole place needs paint badly. The paint is worn off the toilet seats. All in all, not a very nice place or experience. Would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysCaribbeanResorts, Manager at Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We see this often from guest booking directly with Hawks Cay Resort. Next time book directly with KeysCaribbean Resorts and see our special listed on Trip Advisor. We offer 24/7 guest service and guarantee a great vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    17
    10
    6
    7
See reviews for
40
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Have never written a review on any site but my experience at Hawk's Cay was so bad I felt compelled. The resort overbooked and tried to place us in a lesser Villa with no change in price. We had called day before as suggested by another visitor to confirm our room. After insisting we were not going to stay in lesser villa I was told could move the next day. Placed in a 1969 condo with lovely street views and traffic all night, mold, and overflowing toilets. After having our travel agent call and repeatedly going to front desk we were moved. More mold, rooms so tiny you cannot turn around, bathrooms barely accommodate one person.

Staff: unhelpful, rude, and condescending. Most of them are walking around on their cell phones. Don't expect a relaxing or pampered experience at this resort.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysCaribbeanResorts, Manager at Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We see this all of the time with guests that make their reservation directly with Hawks Cay Resort. Next time book with KeysCaribbean Resorts Village at Hawks Cay Villas. Our guest receive special treatment and always have a great vacation. See our specials listed on Trip Advisor. Village at Hawks Cay Villas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015


My friends and family stayed at Hawks Cay Sunset villa this weekend. My friends have stayed here before and had had OK expiriences in the past. This time we were not so lucky.

We arrived at the resort a bit early and were told our room was not yet ready ( understandable, check in was at 4pm.) They took our information down and promised to call the minute the room was ready after 2 hours ( now 5:15 pm ) still no call. I went to the front desk to inquire about our room and had to wait another 20 minutes to get an answer and room keys. The front desk attendant was not in a cheerful mood and seemed bothered at my request to have an update on my room.

It was not all awful, our villa was nice and cozy, the backyard was by the water so it was nice and traquil. We later went to the pool area where the kids had a good time for the rest of the afternoon. The next morning we got ready to cook breakfast ( as we were told we would have full kitchen add on available, pots, pans etc.)
We did not. We had to call the front desk and have someone bring frying pans over in order to make breakfast this took about an hour.

We spent most of the day by the pool and decided to go off site for dinner as it was my best friends birthday and we wanted a nice meal on the beach. The following morning we woke up early to start to pack and I attempted to call the front desk in order to request a late check out. To my surprise our phone was out of service and I had to call using my cell phone which took me about 25 minutes to get a hold of a human operator to only have her transfer me to an empty front desk. She understood that I wanted to extend my stay and once I clarified I only needed a late check-out she further explained they were totally booked and this was not going to be possible.

Overall the customer service aspect of this stay was not great. The sunset was beautiful and the kids a had fun at the pool. I would research other places to stay at in the keys for my next vacation.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysCaribbeanResorts, General Manager at Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean, responded to this review, March 31, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. Unfortunately, you reserved your Villa with the Hawks Cay Resort. We received many negative comments regarding Villas managed by Hawks Cay Resort. Next time you vacation plans bring you to the Keys, book directly with KeysCaribbean Resorts and save 50% or more from the cost you paid to Hawks Cay. We have very good comments from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

Stayed at Hawks Cay in February. Was promised a room with a water view. When we arrived, we were told that they had us booked in a "family" room with no view. Since we are a couple, not a family we asked to speak to management. The desk clerk kept going in the back and coming back with different prices for an " upgrade".
We did not consider this an upgrade since we were promised the water view upon booking. We ended up paying $80.00 more per night for a room we were originally promised. The room smelled of mold and the latch on the patio door was loose. Disappointing, considering the price that we paid. Will go back to Tranquility Bay next time. Won't be back.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysCaribbeanResorts, Manager at Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean, responded to this review, March 31, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. Unfortunately, you reserved your Villa with the Hawks Cay Resort. We received many negative comments regarding Villas managed by Hawks Cay Resort. Next time you vacation plans bring you to the Keys, book directly with KeysCaribbean Resorts and save 50% or more from the cost you paid to Hawks Cay. We have very good comments from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

The picture of the property in the ad is not the actual 1969, second story unit we stayed in for 8 days. It took 45 minutes of contact with customer service to get the door lock to work. We had to stand on the balcony and fuss with that until they electronically reprogrammed the code.

The hot water heater did not work for 3+ days, over the Valentine's/President's Day holiday weekend. We were told there were no other units available. No one offered assistance of how to attend to basic personal hygiene. The weather was colder than usual - in the 60s so we did not take cold showers. Our plans of a romantic dinner dance in Key West on Sat and church on Sun was spoiled because we had people in and out and could not clean up with out hot water. We were not comfortable leaving our belongings alone in the unit with 2 plumbers, an electrician, a neighbor (who turned out to be the owner), the management representative , etc. in and out to repair the water heater even though we were assured that they were all bonded and it was okay.

The bedroom lamps and the shades had 1/4" of dirt/dust on them. The bathroom exhaust fan had dirt packed in it as did the grill of the space heater. There was 1/4" of dirt/dust on the face of the vanity between the drawers. The bath floor tile was dirty in the corners and around the edges.

There was dirt cobwebs hanging from the bedroom ceiling as well as cobwebs in the corner of the bedroom. There were tiny roaches hatching out every morning in the kitchen when I went to make coffee and there were bigger roaches walking across the TV in the bedroom and under the glass on the dresser at night when the lights were turned off. There was dirt on all the ceiling fan blades. There were stains on the carpet in front of the sofa and on the rubber strip molding that separates the tile from the carpet. Half of the screen door latch was missing so you could not secure the screen door. There was dirt smudges on the walls and on the switch plates, cupboards, etc. There was a mixer that was yellowed and looked as though it had never been cleaned and other miscellaneous kitchen tools such as plastic lids in addition to used and opened cooking supplies that were in the cupboard. There were elbows in wall outlets and cords running along some baseboards...with dust/dirt on them.

The water view was the maintenance/operations area of the marina so there was constant traffic that could be seen/heard from the balcony. The sounds of pumping gas, compressors to inflate tires, back up alarms from a forklift dumping metal poles into a pile were sounds that we heard. One day a worker in a service truck had his radio turned up so he could hear it while he worked outside his truck. At 6-7am, we were awakened by people talking and singing as they walked from the bus stop and cut through our parking lot, I assume to go to work at the resort up the way. There were parking spaces for each unit but if someone took your spot, you parked across the way.

We were refunded a portion of the days without hot water however, this will never happen to me again. I have traveled extensively in the US, Europe and Scandinavia and this is the worst experience I have ever had and the worst customer "service" that I have ever had. Very disappointing and never using Keys Caribbean again.

Room Tip: I would definitely talk to the management first and find out EXACTLY what unit you are renting befor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysCaribbeanResorts, General Manager at Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean, responded to this review, March 31, 2015
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write about your experience at the 600sqft one bedroom Condo on Duck Key. All of the photos that appear on our listing were taken within the last 4 months. I am sorry you that you found the one bedroom condo overlooking the Hawks Cay Marina and beautiful sunset views to have been such a disappointment and did not meet your expectations. I was also disappointed that you refused to allow the housekeepers to come back to the small one bedroom condo and correct immediately any cleaning deficiencies that you found, so that you would be able to enjoy your time in the small one bedroom condo. I also appreciate that you took the time to document all of your issues with photography, which appears to have consumed significant time away from enjoying your vacation. Your husband indicated that he appreciated the quick response over a holiday weekend to repair and then install a new hot water heating system and was very pleased with the condo and the rebate of 4 nights rental on your 7 night stay as compensation for your 2 day inconvenience.

We have received many positive comments on the cute one bedroom condo and I am sorry you are not in agreement with the many guests that return frequently for this Condo.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Brought the family down from Miami for a long weekend, It was great, We have rented from Keys Caribbean before and the service is great. Highly Recommend. Its about a 15 min drive to Marathon, for restaurants , groceries and pretty much anything you would need.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysCaribbeanResorts, Manager at Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Another Great Guest Experience staying with KeysCaribbean Resorts Village At Hawks Cay Villas. Save 50% of booking with Hawks Cay Resort and have spectacular vacation in Paradise! See our specials listed on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Awesome place to stay! Very clean and has everything you need! Been on several vacations to the keys and by far the cleanest we have ever stayed in! Very kid friendly also! My daughters absolutely loved it! They said they felt like they were at home! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysCaribbeanResorts, Manager at Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Another Great guest stay with KeysCaribbean Resorts Village at Hawks Cay Villas. Save over 50% from booking with Hawks Cay Resort and see our specials listed on Trip Advisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean

Address: 5001 Sunset Village Drive, Duck Key, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Duck Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village At Hawks Cay Villas By Keys Caribbean Hotel Duck Key
Village At Hawks Cay Villas By Keys Caribbean Duck Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.