We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is NOT part of Hawks Cay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean to your Saves list
Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5001 Sunset Village Drive, Duck Key, FL 33050   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Duck Key, Florida
Level Contributor
134 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“This is NOT part of Hawks Cay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I live on Duck Key and my in-laws booked here a while back. They were disappointed to find out that this group is completely separate from the Hawks Cay resort. Apparently some of the villa owners broke off from the hotel when they were required to go through renovations and started their own rental group. The villas at the hotel are upgraded with modern appliances, carpeting and bathrooms. These villas are not, they are in the same original condition from some 15 years ago. Since you book through a third party and not Hawks Cay, you can not use the hotel amenities. This is the reason these are so much cheaper than renting through Hawks Cay directly.

Room Tip: Book through the hotel if you want the modern villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysCaribbeanResorts, Owner at Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean, responded to this review, June 23, 2015
Thank you for sharing your response. Unfortunately, there are many privately owned Villas that can be rented directly through the owner. Village at Hawks Cay Villas by KeysCaribbean offers great Villas that are in excellent condition and updated. Your family must have rented from someone else.
Next time book directly through KeysCaribbean Resorts and receive 24/7 guest service and a guarantee for a great stay in paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    17
    11
    6
    8
See reviews for
42
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Poor value. Stayed in Villas. Small rooms. ZERO SPACE! Beds took up entire room. Could only access Queen bed from one side. Difficult even to navigate to bathroom. Zero closet space. Nothing fancy. Dining options at Resort were very pricey.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysCaribbeanResorts, Manager at Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean, responded to this review, May 9, 2015
Thank you for your review. We see many negative reviews from guest that booked directly with Hawks Cay Resort. Next time book direct with KeysCaribbean Resorts Village at Hawks Cay Villas. Our villas are in excellent condition we offer 24/7 guest service assistance. Save 50% off the prices at Hawks Cay Resort. See our specials listed on Trip Advisor; KeysCaribbean Resorts Village at Hawks Cay Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Just don't go there! I arrived a day ahead of a business meeting and decided to spring for a Villa. Don't bother! The villa I was escorted to was in poor condition. The lamp shed fell off the lamp when I turned it on. The fan in the master didn't work. The furnishings looked worn. Carpet was dirty. The hook in the bathroom fell off when I touched it. The kitchen sink was missing some hardware. Not at all what I was expecting for what I was going to pay. I asked to be moved to the hotel and was moved to the first floor with a view of some golf carts. The manager made that decision which didn't say much for making things right. When I got to my room there was a ringing noise that would not go away. Maintenance came and determined it was the mini refrigerator. Hawk's Cay has been a nightmare and I haven't even gone to sleep! It took me all day to get here. Don't make the same mistake.

Room Tip: Don't bother coming here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysCaribbeanResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
We receive many complaints about the Hawks Cay Hotel; next time book directly with KeysCaribbean Resorts and enjoy your stay for 50% less than Hawks Cay Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Island, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The villa was nice but needed some maintenance.. dirty carpet, broken drawer, closet door etc... was charged additional resort fees and a hold of 100.00 a day for incidental. Location was great and worked for use. Two couples stayed in this villa very comfortably.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed first two nights of our honeymoon. Excellent room, couldn't have been more perfect. Our pool overlooked the larger pool. The room was spacious and comfortable. Especially loved the larger shower in the room. Adult pool was quiet with ample lounge chairs, a beautiful water view and service staff that is friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Hotel room overlooking larger pool was quiet, romantic and picturesque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Overall this place is awesome for families. VERY upset with Oceans New Years Eve buffet. Ripped off at $50 plus tax gratuity. That really soured us on our trip. Rent a car!!!! Many fine restaurants in the area. Beautiful state parks as well. Pirate pool so cute! Kids loved it!! Waitstaff at pool outstanding. Our villas had cleanliness issues. Staff very nice.

Room Tip: We stayed at sunset villas. Full kitchen and nice decks. We did not have good sunset views. Huge mar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We rented a 2 br villa through KC. This is a very quiet and kids friendly community. We had no problem using the main resort pool and salt water lagoon and even ordered food/drink at pool side. We just paid by credit card instead of room key card. No questions asked.
I wish the furniture (especially the sofa bed) can be more comfortable though. Overall, I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck Key
12.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
7.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
18.4 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#7 of 20 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
0.3 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 stars 3,335 reviews
12.6 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean

Address: 5001 Sunset Village Drive, Duck Key, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Duck Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Duck Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village At Hawks Cay Villas By Keys Caribbean Hotel Duck Key
Village At Hawks Cay Villas By Keys Caribbean Duck Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village at Hawks Cay Villas by Keys Caribbean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.