We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SummerPlace Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added SummerPlace Inn to your Saves list
SummerPlace Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14047 Emerald Coast Parkway, Destin, FL 32541   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Dothan, Alabama
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sweet stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Two nights stay king size room over looking the pool, with my husband was great. Will be back..... next summer..and telling friends and family....about the friendly staff. Restaurants nearby was good. Easy check in and out. Nose level was low to none. The breakfast was good with seating and tables.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny L, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. During your next visit call us directly to get the best deal possible. Don't forget to mention that you've stayed with us before. Make sure to sign up for our Summer Club loyalty program. It is completely free to sign up and it never expires. We keep track of all your stays booked directly through the hotel and for every ten nights that you booked with us you receive a free night! We also offer complimentary upgrades when available and offer exclusive discounts for Summer Club members only. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    77
    28
    7
    8
See reviews for
85
96
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for a couple of nights on a road trip. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and nothing was too much trouble.

We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it as a convenient place to stay in Destin.

Thanks for making us Brits welcome in Destin.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny L, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review. We genuinely enjoy making your stay as comfortable as possible. Our reward is all the great reviews that come from great guest such as yourself! We hope to see you again on your way back through Destin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Second stay. Stayed in king 1 bedroom suite. Like better than studio rooms. Little tight, but not bad. Breakfast was fine. Staff was great.. good rate.. $99 for suite.. Worth the extra money for me to have bedroom with privacy.. Kids in sofa bed. two TVs. Walk to go cart and mini golf.. Very good for the money. Will return again. If your rich you may like the condos on the beach better for 200 plus per nite. Indoor and outdoor pool with hot tub.. Much better than Wingate, Days, Sleep, Country Inn and Suites, Holiday Inn Express. Compatible with Residence Inn/Wingate.. If you are Looking for good value this is it.. Highly recommended if you can get a better rate than any of the others mentioned. Have a great trip.. Enjoy... thanks

Room Tip: To save money travel to Destin in May, September or October. Same rooms are 60-120 less per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny L, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
We are glad that you choose to come back and stay at the SummerPlace Inn again. What makes the hotel special is getting to see familiar faces year after year. We appreciate your loyalty and kind words. We do our very best to consistently deliver a great product for reasonable prices. Always contact the hotel directly when booking your reservation we offer the best deals and are able to ensure your specified room types. There are not many hotels directly on the beach other than the condos. However I hope that you found the quick walk to public beach access convenient. We strive to live up to our motto Superior Style. Superior Service. Our goal is to go above and beyond that standard level of customer service and supersede your expectations. We do our best to stand out from the rest. Our hope is to continue to provide a home away from home for you and your family whenever you're in town. We look forward to seeing you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had the great opportunity to stay at this hotel 2 years ago and were so pleased with SummerPlace. The staff was the epitome of southern hospitality. Once again, we were not disappointed. As a matter of fact, I believe it was an even nicer more hospitable stay. Our room was one of the cleanest I've ever been in and the cleaning staff was so nice and efficient. The breakfast was a nice extra as well as the location of the hotel. We were only two blocks from the public beach. I work in customer service and tend to be hardnosed about it but I was very impressed with the way we were treated. Most of my family is from Cuba and I wanted them to experience a part of America that is known for being so nice and we are planning our next trip to Destin and to this hotel. Thank you again for your good service.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly when you see a good price on one of the travel websites. They may just give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny L, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about our Hotel. We are certainly happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It is our pleasure to make sure that our guest feel welcomed and at ease. It gives us great pride in our jobs to know that you were satisfied with our hotel and service. We are also very pleased that your family was able to visit and experience what the SummerPlace Inn has to offer. We make sure that we go above and beyond from the cleanliness of our rooms to our deluxe continental breakfast items.We will continue to look for ways to better accommodate you and your family to enhance your experience year after year. We Look forward to creating more great memories for you in sunny Destin Florida! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marianna
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

we arrived without a reservation and needed to stay one night due to business....if u must go to destin....this is the place to stay....very friendly and helpful staff, what a pleasure to deal with professionals....we had two rooms, both with balconies....they were amazing, very neat and clean and well stocked....was surprised and grateful to have beautiful ceiling fans in rooms...beds were so very comfortable! breakfast was terrific and bountiful and complimentary! .... and the 24 hr fresh coffee was very much appreciated! my only complaint is please offer larger coffee cups....very good hotel location with easy access to area desires....the indoor / outdoor pool and spa was a wonderful surprise and both were very neat and clean....for me and my family Destin is not a vacation destination ever because (( like most other tourist places on the Gulf )) it has been ruined by high rise condos blocking the beach and offers nothing special for tourist attractions. if we were to return to destin it would only be to relax and enjoy this hotel....

Room Tip: go for the higher up balcony rooms....at least u can catch a glimpse of the beach tween the high ris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny L, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review. We are so pleased to here you enjoyed your stay. Our motto is Superior Style. Superior Service. We strive to go above and beyond for all our guest. We are happy to hear that you were able to experience one of our balcony suites. While we are not beach front property the balcony is still a really nice feature. You can actually smell the ocean water in the breeze from the balconies. We will definitely look into adding larger coffee cups especially with winter months around the corner. I'm glad that you were satisfied with our breakfast options. It is a HOT deluxe continental breakfast, but we make sure that our guest get a chance to fill up with a hot meal every morning. We actually rotate our hot items daily everything from waffles, sausage, eggs,biscuits and gravy. We hope that you when you get a chance to make your way back to Destin, Fl. you come back and stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TALLAHASSEE
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We checked in to this hotel when my daughter's truck broke down while she was moving. The staff was very accommodating, the rate was reasonable, and the room was very nice - and very clean. The beds were super comfortable! The breakfast the next day was great - and much appreciated since we had lots of unexpected costs (hotel, tow truck, car repair, etc.) so it was nice to have a full, hot, and FREE breakfast! We weren't there long enough to use the pool, but it looked very nice. Location is great - very close to beaches and other attractions.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra $10 for the larger "suite"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny L, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay despite the challenges you were facing. Our staff works very hard to provide a clean and hospitable environment for all our guest.We are always looking for ways to offer a HOT breakfast every morning. To ensure that our guest have a variety of breakfast options. We rotate our hot items daily-everything from hot waffles, sausage and eggs to biscuits and gravy! You absolutely right about the room upgrade for a little bit extra you can stay in one of our many spacious suites. When you make your way back to Destin please be sure to contact me I would love to offer you a complimentary upgrade to one of our suites during your next stay! Hope the truck is up and running and giving you no more trouble...See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The purpose of our trip was to visit family so this hotel was great. If we were visiting Destin to go to the beach it would be a little less convenient since it across a busy road. But it is very convenient to everything else, between Destin Harbor and Sandestin so it's pretty easy to get to anything. The rooms are very nicely decorated, free Wi-Fi and a nice included continental type breakfast (my husband said the coffee was great). We have stayed at a number of hotels in the area and in this price range it is by far the nicest for rooms. My only gripe is that the rooms do not have a safe, it seems like in this day and age this is almost expected at even the bottom rate hotels so I was quite surprised by this. The check in was also very slow, it was very late at night (after midnight) but there was only one other person checking in at the same time and it took almost 30 minutes. Not the end of the world but we drove 6.5 hours so we were tired and it felt excessive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny L, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are happy to hear your family enjoyed their stay at the SummerPlace Inn. We do our best to maintain our stylish boutique style rooms with upgrades and amenities. We recently upgraded our Wi-Fi capability for faster service. We are pleased that you found it a plus! We make sure to add hot items on our breakfast bar to get your day started right. It is great to hear the positive feed back about our breakfast selection. Thank you for sharing your concerns in regards to the safety box. We are always adding upgrades based on the suggestions and ideas of our guest. We will definitely look into that possibility. We understand that the walk to the beach tends to be busy at times. Which is why we were pleased when the City added a crosswalk for easier and safer accessibility. We look forward to seeing your family in the near future. When you make your way back to Destin please contact me directly. I would love to offer you a complimentary upgrade to one of our suites. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SummerPlace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SummerPlace Inn

Address: 14047 Emerald Coast Parkway, Destin, FL 32541
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Destin
#6 Business Hotel in Destin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SummerPlace Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the premier choice for hotel rooms in Destin Florida USA – the SummerPlace Inn. Our Florida styled hotel is perfect for overnight Destin hotel accommodations when you want a break from the ordinary. Come see for yourself why we have quickly become the local’s choice for a Destin boutique hotel.The SummerPlace Inn Destin Hotel is newly remodeled with guest rooms decorated in British Colonial theme. Our hotel is near everything you are looking for - including the sparkling Emerald Coast beaches. Located directly on the Emerald Coast Parkway, (US-98) we’re the perfect choice for whatever brings you to Destin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your SummerPlace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerplace Hotel Destin
Best Western Destin
Best Western Summerplace Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SummerPlace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.