We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SummerPlace Inn

Save Saved
You added SummerPlace Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SummerPlace Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14047 Emerald Coast Parkway, Destin, FL 32541   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 39 hotels in Destin
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Satisfied”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We booked via Travelocity and so I wasn't expecting a room with a balcony or a high level floor. We were facing the back. No complaints. The room was very clean and modern. Our fridge wasn't working but the front desk was right on it, and by the time we returned an hour or so later, it was up and running properly. The beds and pillows were comfy and the staff was really nice. It's close to everything and you can walk to the beach. The free breakfast was nothing to get excited about but I'd stay here again, definitely.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a balcony room because you won't really get a view of the beach, if that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing about your experience at SummerPlace Inn. The greatest compliment is when guests share that they will be back to stay with us again. Please know that if we have rooms available - we are always happy to place our guests with their preferred views. On your next visit - please let us know in advance if you do prefer a room facing front so that we can make a notation and try to accommodate that request :)

Best Regards,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    66
    28
    7
    7
See reviews for
80
85
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We asked for a quiet room, as we'd been travelling all day. We expected some traffic noise, given the location, but it was louder than I've ever experienced in a similar location, ie on a busy road. Upgraded windows would be a good idea. But on top of that, the hotel is right next to a go-kart racing track, which kept on going til about 10.30pm - so much for a restful evening after a long day's driving.

After the noise from the karts and traffic had started to die down, we were awoken by noises that sounded like power tools, or a dinosaur with a cold, but which we worked out were plumbing noises from other rooms flushing toilets.

Breakfast, described in the hotel's own publicity as "deluxe" or words to that effect, was standard "free" hotel breakfast, but with less choice than you find at the cheaper hotel chains - definitely nothing special.

We booked this place in a hurry and based on its Tripadvisor rating, which must be based on facilities we didn't use, as I don't think it is deserved for its rooms, location or breakfast.

Room Tip: At the back, away from the 98, and away from the go kart race track. It'll probably still be no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
I am sorry that you did not have the restful vacation you had hoped for when staying at the SummerPlace Inn. We strive very hard to meet all our guests expectations - and sometimes we are unable to deliver the service and product our guests desire. I deeply regret that we seem to have failed you during your stay.

Mistelle Langen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

As the general Manager of hotel, I can be very critical. My husband and I vacationed in Destin the year and stayed at the Summerplace Inn. You can not go wrong. Clean rooms, great staff and close to everything. Just a hop, skip and jump from the beach. Thank you for a great vacation Summerplace! We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share about your experience at SummerPlace Inn. Knowing you manage other hotels and were so pleased with our service is the ultimate compliment to our hotel and team. We certainly hope we have the pleasure of taking care of you again!

Best Regards,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

I am truly blown away after my recent stay at the SummerPlace. Normally I don't stay at independent hotels but I took a gamble walking in because of the outside. Wow am I glad I did! Cleanest room I've had in a long time and the staff was amazing. I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the rooms were and the size!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying here multiple times. The management and staff are always super friendly and go above and beyond. The free breakfast is more than what you get at most hotels and was very fresh. I love the two pools, the free wifi and the workout room. My room was comfortable and clean. I had a severe gall bladder attack in the hallway and the staff took such great care of me while the ambulance was on its way. The manager stayed by my side, along with other staff members to make sure I wasn't alone. This is one of the best places I have every stayed in, and not just including the Destin area. I would highly recommend this hotel over and over! Thank you to the staff for a wonderful job! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share about your numerous experiences here at SummerPlace Inn! It was great to learn that you survived the gall bladder attack and surgery went well! We can't wait to see you again and let's hope there are no medical emergencies on your next visit!

Mistelle Langen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

First of all, don't pay more for an ocean view room - it is a joke! The main, highly trafficked, and very big road in destin runs right in front of the hotel, with buildings/hotels on the other side of the street, and then finally the beach. I could get a glimpse of the beach between buildings, but oh so not worth it, especially as it was so far away. Also, who wants to sit on their balcony next to a super busy road? Not me.

Hotel itself was average, breakfast was good, I enjoyed they had a hot item every day (biscuits and gravy one day, waffles the next). We drove to the beach both days we were here because the walk wouldn't have been feasible with beach chairs, an umbrella, our beach bags, and a cooler. If you walk to the beach I'd say its about a 10 minute walk. Next time I will pony up the cash and get a hotel right on the beach so I don't have to drive. Parking was fine though, plenty of spots at the beach just across the street.

Room Tip: Don't get an ocean view, waste of money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
destin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Summerplace Inn is listed as one of the best places to stay in Destin. But I will have to disagree.

I will say the staff members are. You do get free parking, wifi and breakfast.

But there is a weird "covered up" moldy smell in the hallways and rooms. It is listed as beach front property. The beach is walking distance (5 min). And finally my major disappointment was the exercise facility. I like to have access to a gym when I travel. Their "gym" has 2 treadmills and that's it. Luckily, I was able to find a local 24 hour gym and pay a daily rate. But I definitely think it would be worth it to spend the extra money if you have it to stay "on the actual beach"

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SummerPlace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SummerPlace Inn

Address: 14047 Emerald Coast Parkway, Destin, FL 32541
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Destin
#5 Business Hotel in Destin
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Destin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SummerPlace Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the premier choice for hotel rooms in Destin Florida USA – the SummerPlace Inn. Our Florida styled hotel is perfect for overnight Destin hotel accommodations when you want a break from the ordinary. Come see for yourself why we have quickly become the local’s choice for a Destin boutique hotel.The SummerPlace Inn Destin Hotel is newly remodeled with guest rooms decorated in British Colonial theme. Our hotel is near everything you are looking for - including the sparkling Emerald Coast beaches. Located directly on the Emerald Coast Parkway, (US-98) we’re the perfect choice for whatever brings you to Destin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your SummerPlace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerplace Hotel Destin
Best Western Destin
Best Western Summerplace Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SummerPlace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.