We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SummerPlace Inn

Save Saved
You added SummerPlace Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SummerPlace Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14047 Emerald Coast Parkway, Destin, FL 32541   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 39 hotels in Destin
Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed 3 nights

Pros- Great value, renovation included new furniture & TV, housekeeping excellent-very clean rooms, comfortable beds

Cons- Inn showing age(minor), noise inside - (neighbors- 1 night only), noise outside - go-cart track at next door amusement park in operation; and small jets/aircraft flying over Inn to land at nearby airport - park could be distraction when in full summer operation; did not notice aircraft noise at night

Pros a plus; Cons minor

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for sharing about your pros and cons experienced at the SummerPlace Inn. I see that you have posted several reviews - and I wanted to let you know that I sincerely appreciate your positive review - as someone who it is clear travels extensively - I (and I am sure our future guests) appreciate you taking the time upon your return from vacation to help ensure future travelers have the best experience they can. We sure hope to see you again in the near future!

Best Regards,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    66
    28
    7
    7
See reviews for
80
85
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
preston uk
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This one of the few occassions TA research has let me down. The hotel is easy to find on US98 and is very impressive from the outside but let down by very indifferent service at reception. The front of the hotel is floodlit at night and it was not possible to close the "blackout" curtains to make a dark room. Ask for a room facing the rear; we were only staying one night and only recognised the problem when we returned from dinner at the excellent nearby "Back Porch" restaurant.
We were advised at check-in that the kitchen was being renovated and that only a limited breakfast service would be available, not a huge problem we thought. On the morning, at 9.00am, there was no breakfast at all, when queried at reception we were advised with a shrug of the shoulders that the order they had placed with an external contractor had not been delivered, On the basis that breakfast should have been available from before 8.00am why had the problem not been solved.
At checkout we asked for a reduction and the bill was reduced to their promotional room only rate.
The bedroom & bathroom were very good but an absence of management control and apparently disillusioned staff spoiled what had promised to be a great stopover.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
I am very sorry that you were disappointed in your stay at SummerPlace Inn. I understand that while we were renovating our kitchen to allow us to offer an even larger breakfast selection, you felt this disappointment. I sincerely regret that. As such a busy hotel that runs full all year long, unfortunately we did encounter a hiccup in not having enough breakfast sandwiches one day. I hope that you were at least able to enjoy the McDonald's breakfast we offered as a back up solution. I also regret that we did not know of your curtain problem. There are actually three sets of curtains on our windows and I did confirm that all curtains and blackouts were in your room. Please know you are always welcome to contact the hotel with such issues while in house and we would assist you immediately with such a problem in the future so as not to have had to experience your frustration. Again, I apologize that you felt disappointed with your stay. I hope that should you be in Destin again you will allow us the opportunity to show you the level of service and quality that was written in the reviews that encouraged you to initally stay with us.

Best Regards,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just returned from a long weekend at the SummerPlace Inn. Had stayed there a few years ago when it was a Best Western and was surprised at the newly renovated hotel. Front desk staff was very friendly, no matter what time you passed the desk. We had a handicap accessible room, which had a very large bathroom with no obstacles for an older person. Room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was adequate, with muffins, bagels, fruit and waffles. Even though the hotel was busy, the room was very quiet. Also, parking was never a problem. The location was ideal for shopping, restaurants, and of course the beach. Indoor pool looked inviting, as did the hot tub. Will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room in the back of the hotel, which is away from 98.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
First, we are so glad that you made it back home safely! Long weekend trips are always the best getaways, and hearing that we succeeded in making this a great getaway, well that just puts the icing on the cake for us! This time of year is also one of the best times to steal away for just such getaways as the hotel has some really great promotions and rates during this time. If you are able to sneak away and get back to Destin, please be sure to let us know so that we can make sure we have your welcome back gift situated!

Best Regards,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed at the SummerPlace Inn multiple times and at different times of the year. The staff is just as nice during Destins slow time as it is during their very busy season. I've always gotten a room with a king and they've always been very nice and clean and the beds comfortable. The location is ideal if you want to experience everything Destin has to offer. It's right between harbor walk and the Destin commons and beach access isn't far away either. I definitely plan to visit again :)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
First, I'd like to thank you for being a loyal and valued guest at the SummerPlace Inn. One of the greatest levels of service that we provide is ensuring that our guests feel like they are at home - EVERY time they stay with us - no matter when they come to visit!!! Whether our guests are here to enjoy the sizziling summer days on the beach or enjoying the crisp fall morning with a quiet afternoon picnic along the emerald coast...we have the same goal: Superior Style and Superior Service. It tickles us pink to know that not only have we accomplished this with you - but that we have done so each and every time you've stayed! Please let us know next time you are coming - and we will make sure we have your returning guest welcome package ready for you upon your arrival. We sincerely look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. We walked in (without reservations) and we're promptly greeted. The staff was friendly and efficient. We asked for a ground level floor and she was honest enough to let us know there was one available but there was a yappy dog next room. Since we had left our own yappy dog at home we elected for a 4th floor room. The room was clean, as was the bedding. The bathroom is nice size and the sink/counter area is generous. There was a small fridge/microwave and a one cup coffee maker in the room. We thought we had an issue with the TV. After calling the front desk to report it, the person that checked us in come to the room within minutes and fixed the problem (although I think it had more to do with the operators, Us!!! than it did with the TV.
The breakfast is adequate. There was everything from hot waffles to cold ceral.
The motel is located on 98 so if you have a room facing the road, you will hear road noise. There is a go-cart track beside the motel but I don't know how much noise you hear from it since our room was on the other side.
Overall the motel does show some age but it seems to be well maintained.
I would stay here again. For the price, I think it is a good value

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
I wanted to thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at the SummerPlace Inn. I am glad to hear that not only were we able to help you with your TV issue - but that we did so in a timely fashion while delivering great service! We pride ourselves on honest, quality and fair value. We are so appreciative that you experienced this from all of our staff and the hotel itself and chose to share this experience with others. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAKE PLACID,FL
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Great hotel to stay for a long period of time.A+ service at front deck.Clean rooms with large marble counter in bath!NICE king bed plenty of pillows..with coffee and small frig.and large tv!All furniture is quality!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
One of the greatest rewards we have as hotel operators is the joy of building relationships and being the extended family to many of our guests. I want to personally thank you for sharing as well about your experience being a long-term guest with us. We have many guests who chose to stay with us for 30+ days and our rooms with their amenities and our deluxe breakfast make SummerPlace Inn a great choice! We hope that should you need our services again, whether for a single night stay, or another long term stay - we would be honored to be your hotel of choice again! Once again, thank you for sharing of your experience at SummerPlace Inn.

Sincerely,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for three nights and have no complaints. One thing to know is that this property is right off the end of the Destin airport runway and during daylight hours, there is noticeable noise from air traffic. We did not find it objectionable but some might.

Breakfast was a cut above the standard 'continental breakfast' many hotels offer. The pools and common areas were nice and the overall feel of the hotel and our room was clean, comfortable and modern. Hotel staff was always helpful and friendly.

If you are looking for good eats that are close, we suggest avoiding Bubba Gumps and instead, going to the Back Porch - the food is very good and the location amazing. It's right on the beach!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistellelangen, General Manager at SummerPlace Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share about your experience at SummerPlace Inn. I might also add - that your tip regarding the Back Porch is spot on - and fellow travelers will find that we at the hotel as well highly recommend the Back Porch (Destin's original oyster house). We are so glad that you had such a good experience here at SummerPlace Inn - and we will be sure to do a "Whoop Whoop" shout at our morning roundup when we read off your comments at our daily staff meeting.

Best Regards,
Mistelle Langen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SummerPlace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SummerPlace Inn

Address: 14047 Emerald Coast Parkway, Destin, FL 32541
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Destin
#5 Business Hotel in Destin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SummerPlace Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the premier choice for hotel rooms in Destin Florida USA – the SummerPlace Inn. Our Florida styled hotel is perfect for overnight Destin hotel accommodations when you want a break from the ordinary. Come see for yourself why we have quickly become the local’s choice for a Destin boutique hotel.The SummerPlace Inn Destin Hotel is newly remodeled with guest rooms decorated in British Colonial theme. Our hotel is near everything you are looking for - including the sparkling Emerald Coast beaches. Located directly on the Emerald Coast Parkway, (US-98) we’re the perfect choice for whatever brings you to Destin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your SummerPlace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerplace Hotel Destin
Best Western Destin
Best Western Summerplace Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SummerPlace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.