We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Your Average Beach Vacation! :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henderson Park Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Henderson Park Inn
2700 Scenic Hwy 98 East, Destin, FL 32541   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 39 hotels in Destin
atlanta
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not Your Average Beach Vacation! :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I absolutely LOVE this place. It's a New England B&B in Destin! No tacky sea shells in this decor...but very nicely appointed rooms! No one under 25 (so this isn't a place where you would go with kids) which means you can actually relax under/in the Inn provided umbrellas/beach chairs. The breakfast is wonderful and the staff that does the breakfast is so friendly & accommodating! It's a nice touch that they provide boxed lunches (you choose your order prior) along with freshly baked cookies, and tea/lemonade...so you can just run up from the beach, grab your lunch and head back down without having to run to a restaurant! Happy Hour is awesome too - no cheap liquors, quality everything. So all in all, I would highly recommend this Inn. :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    343
    49
    24
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
355
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Who would have thought this gem was tucked away amidst Destin! We actually stumbled upon the website after having to cancel a cruise two weeks before. It did not disappoint--everything people had said was exactly as we found it. After a long day of travel we were greeted by extremely friendly staff members who were more than happy to help answer our questions. When we opened our door we were greeted by a softly lit room with relaxing music playing. On the bed was a tray with wine glasses, a bottle of wine, a single rose in a vase, grapes and chocolates. The beatiful views of the gulf were breathtaking! The morning breakfasts were so relaxing and delicious. Again the staff attend to your every need. The boxed lunches are great especially when spending the day on the beach. My husband went to the front desk to get us reservations for dinner on our last night. He said they only had 6 pm. I said that was fine. When we spoke with the hostess she said our table was not ready yet and that our server, Dustin would like to take us on a little "tour"! Not sure what I was in for, he walked us out on the deck and then turned and gestured toward the beach and said "your table awaits"! There on the beach was a lone table spectacularly set with lit tiki torches surrounding it. A hand carved path sprinkled with rose petals led our path to our private dining table. Our chairs were facing an unbelievable sunset and a few hours later were turned to view the gorgeous full moon! Dolphins frolicked along the coast line. Dustin was the perfect server. He was so kind and thoughtful. His professionalism and the pride he has in his work was refreshing. The food we were graced with was fantastic!! Every course was culinary genius!! We have never experienced anything like this "Toes in the Sand" extravaganza--an unimaginable birthday surprise! Thank you all for your great service and a vacation we will cherish for many years to come!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

You couldn't ask for a better staff operating the hotel. They are engaging, courteous and make you feel at home. Any negatives in this review are a function of the owner's strategy on maintenance! It was the third time my wife and I have been to the Inn, with a very long break between our prior visit. We stayed in the main part of the Inn on the second floor.

The great stuff:
As mentioned above, the staff is exceptional. From the people at reception, the cleaning people...who actually say hi and will talk to you, to the cooks at breakfast. They make you feel at home. You sense they are not putting on an act, but are genuine. They actually talk and share...novel for an Inn this size.

The amenities are great. Nice bottle of wine with grapes on arrival. The breakfast is excellent. Lots of fresh fruits, including berries, meats and eggs in any style you could want. They also have grits, but with a great fish sauce you can use to flavor them with...outstanding. Of course they have the standards, oatmeal, gravy, biscuits, potatoes, cereal....if you don't end up with a satisfying breakfast it is your own fault. The dinning area is also a restaurant at night. The eating area is very nice, windows along two of the walls providing a wonderful view. There is also a wrap around porch that has tables that can be used at breakfast. They provide a box lunch, which seems to be from Honey Baked Ham, had a chicken salad salad that was excellent. An unusual amenity for an B&B/Inn, lots of choices on the menu for lunch.

Coffee is available 24hrs a day, which includes expresso & latte. The machine they use is great, you can dump a shot of expresso in your coffee. Very good! Water, sodas, and candy bars are available, you can fill yourself full if you so choose.

Beach towels are plentiful and they set up loungers and umbrellas on the beach.

Your favorite beverage at happy hour will be supplied in mass quantities. They don't skimp on pours. My wine glass was always 3/4ths full, it could be easy to drink too much! It is served on a large deck that has a tiki hut bar. The deck has plenty of seating but only a few chairs with cushions.

Very close to the beach and Gulf. Rooms on the beach side have a great view. Very easy to get to the beach and back.

The room was clean, did not have a musty odor even though being that close to the beach it could!

The not so good:
The owner is not doing a good job of maintaing the building. When you walked out the door to the deck, if you wanted to eat breakfast on the wrap around porch, there was a 1 to 1.5" hole in the planking. Since they use the area for the restaurant at night, not a safe condition. Ok, you can say that is being picky...well maybe until they are facing litigation...or you end up with a wrenched knee.

Our room needed work. Tiles in the bathroom were cracked and about a 1/2" wide piece of grout along about a foot of the tub is missing. Paint on the sink faucet...great they paint, wouldn't hurt to keep it off the fixtures...including the toilet flush handle. Batting on the deck was missing and the leg was folding under the small end table. Carpet was a pretty outdated short shag, it was clean on the surface. Door lock was difficult to operate. It always took a couple of trys to get the door in the correct position to get the key to work. The vanity table in the bathroom was swelling and starting to split from moisture. A few more maintenance issues than you would expect from a $500+ room with tax. Especially when it could be easily and fairly inexpensively remedied.

Summing it up:
I usually don't go to a location like Henderson Park Inn for the room, other than its location/view. For an older Inn located on a beach, I don't expect the room to be perfect, rather I expect that it isn't going to be like a 5 star resort with the latest in fixtures or even water flow that is consistent....a little dirt in the bathroom corner doesn't bother me. But the room we were in is getting tacky, they are well over the line of being quaint and it could be easily fixed. I view that as the owners fault, not the employees. At the price point for the room, the value equation starts to become a little skewed even with the amenities and staff being so good.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room facing the beach. The higher priced room we were in was not worth the add...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at the Henderson Park Inn for a 2 night romantic get away. It greatly exceeded our expectations and lived up to its status as "North America's Most Romantic Hotel". The rooms are beautiful. A bottle of wine, flower, and grapes are on a tray on the bed with romantic music playing as you walk in to the room. The private balconies (2nd & 3rd floor) provide a spectacular view of the ocean. To the right is Henderson State Park so their are no buildings and just open beach to the right of the hotel. It is for adults only so if you are looking for a place with no kids this is it!

The staff is friendly, very accommodating, and provide many extra touches to the stay: Umbrellas with chairs on the beach, hammocks, porch swings, happy hour at the tiki hut, snacks and water for free, a delicious breakfast and boxed lunches for your excursion. It is truly a unique place that we will return to on our future romantic getaways to Destin.

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floors have private balconies. 1st floor rooms have the public wrap around porch. The ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Henderson Park Inn & staff exceeded our expectations on every level. After a long travel day, we walked into a softly-lit room, wine on the table and music playing. We have extremely high expectations for customer service and the staff seemed to anticipate our every need. The breakfast is included AND incredible,, the cooking class with Chef G was great, and happy hour each day is not to be missed and we didn't. We have been looking for a place that would be worth returning to on a regular basis and we have now found it at the Henderson Park Inn. See Y'all soon!

Room Tip: I think all rooms are oceanfront but you might double check this. We stayed in the newer East Bldg a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Destin is a great destination. With it's white sands and blue & green ocean, it is truly a piece of paradise, unlike any other place in Florida or in the U.S. for that matter. And Henderson Park Inn is the perfect vacation resort.

Be aware that Destin is chilly in the winter it's high season is in the summertime. In early April we enjoyed the first really warm sunny days of the season.

Henderson Park Inn is the best resort we have enjoyed in 50 years of U.S. and international travel. Our stay included a lovely corner suite (loved everything but the rain/shower/nozzle Breakfast, lunch and a happy, happy hour every afternoon.The staff was the friendliest most helpful we've encountered.

On check-out we found charges we hadn't expected in addition to taxes, increasing the per nght rate but it was well worth it.



LOCAL SEAFOOD RESTAURANTS WERE CONVENIENTLY CLOSE AND FAIRLY PRICED.

Room Tip: We had a corner deluxe room. It was great. Don't know about any other rooms. Ask reservations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville TN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is the third time we have returned to Henderson Park Inn, and already have our next reservation booked. I do not know where you can find a more relaxing place to stay in Destin.
The staff is so friendly, the breakfast, lunch and afternoon drinks are all included- and are outstanding. It is such a quiet and peaceful place to be. There is wireless internet available, and a tiny TV and DVD player- but personally, we never touched the TV in the room- Bring a good book, or borrow one from downstairs!
Paradise....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Henderson Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henderson Park Inn

Address: 2700 Scenic Hwy 98 East, Destin, FL 32541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each guest is welcomed with a complimentary bottle of wine, fresh grapes and flowers upon arrival. Start your day with a complimentary full breakfast overlooking the Gulf of Mexico at our Destin beach restaurant. A delicious selection of cook-to-order omelets, made from scratch biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit, pastries, scrumptious bacon and sausage and so much more. Next, cruise down to the beach, but first stop by our community refrigerator to grab some beverages on the way down and then relax under an umbrella and on our complimentary beach chairs. Soak up the sunshine, go for a bike ride or take a long walk for a relaxing stroll down the beach. After you’ve worked up an appetite, stop in for a complimentary lunch (excluding holidays). For a quick snack stop through the lobby for lemonade and cookies as an added treat. Before dinner, mosey down to the restaurant for happy hour nightly while overlooking the Gulf Coast’s most beautiful beaches and colorful sunsets. Arrive back to your room after a day of relaxation and indulgence with gourmet chocolates and a complimentary turn down service. Each Suite is a perfect place to enjoy the charm and grace embraced by the peaceful shores of the Emerald Coast. Handicap-accessible units available. Come see why Henderson Park Inn is one of the hotels on the beach in Destin, Florida. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Henderson Park Hotel Destin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henderson Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Henderson Park Inn to your Saves list