We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Henderson Park Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Henderson Park Inn
Save Saved
You added Henderson Park Inn to your Saves list
2700 Scenic Hwy 98 East, Destin, FL 32541   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
1 Free Dolphin Cruise!!
Ranked #1 of 39 hotels in Destin
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

When my husband and I checked in last week we were disappointed that the bathroom and balcony were much smaller than we expected. It was a bit outdated and needed some tlc. I was going to go talk to the front desk to see if we had accidently been put in the wrong room since I couldn't understand why my balcony was so small and we were in the mid level grade room but I didn't want to start off my vacation with a complaint.
I wanted to make the most of it because I was the one who suggested we stay there. I told my husband lets stay the night and see how we feel about the place the next day.
Well, we were very pleased with the breakfast and lunch that they provided. But what we truely enjoyed the most was the staff. Everyone was so friendly and nice! They offered restaurant suggestions and even called and made reservations for us somewhere else!
We got severely burned so our remaining stay was not as enjoyable since we were on the 3rd floor and there aren't any elevators. It was hard getting around but that is our fault for not wearing sun protection.
I just want to say, if you go you will be very happy! I read that the other building is more updated so you may want to ask for that building but overall I think you will be glad you stayed there!

Room Tip: I read from other reviews that the building not attached to the check in is updated so I would sugge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    355
    50
    24
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
365
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Fl
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We love Bed and Breakfasts and have stayed at many. This was one of the finest and had so many extras you wouldn't expect. I can't say enough about the staff. Every one of them was sweet and helpful and was willing to go the extra mile.

Breakfast was superb. The grits were the best I've ever tasted. Most days we had a pork grillades but on Thursdays they serve shrimp and grits that they teach us how to make on Wednesday. They also have a variety of fresh fruit, bacon, sausage, ham, yogurt, cereal, and the most amazing biscuits and gravy. They make Belgian waffles that are light and airy. And of course any type of egg or omelet you want. chef Greg serves everything with a smile and conversation.

You would think after eating all that, we'd be done for the day, but no! Then they provide you a wonderful box lunch from Honeybaked Ham and put out home baked cookies, lemonade and iced tea. There are refrigerators stocked throughout the facility with water, soda and candy bars.

At 4 it's happy hour with margaritas, wine,daquiris and beer. There are chairs and umbrellas provided for you on the beach and beach towels as well. They have bicycles that you can ride and nothing is extra. It is all just part of the service.

I struggle to imagine anything else they can do to make you feel at home.

A fantastic place to visit to feel relaxed and pampered.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights Nov 2012. All excellent except our room needed updating and maintenance. Filled out survey saying all was great except room, that we expected more for the very expensive price. I received an email from the innkeeper apologizing and asking us to come back and try them again. We are here for three nights in the newer inn with a lovely room.
We cannot say enough about this all inclusive inn as no one under 25 is permitted so the atmosphere is pleasantly quiet, the full breakfast with eggs to order wonderful, the HoneyBaked box lunches a treat, the view of the Gulf right outside our balcony superb,happy hour drinks delightful, the staff and chefs incredible. This will be our annual go to place as I can't imagine a more relaxing inn with better service on this part of the coast. Thank you Ryan for our return visit!

Room Tip: Gulf side a must! Newer building has elevator if you have trouble navigating stairs. Just a short wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This place is a gem in Destin! We love coming here every year! The staff is beyond fantastic!!! Very welcoming!! The rooms are beautiful and have a welcome bottle of wine...:) the Tiki bar is the place to meet in the afternoon! The Beach Walk Cafe has the very best breakfast in town with Chef Greg!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful staff and service with exceptional views but the room was disappointing. We stayed for 2 nights in the Executive Suite expecting a suite, just 1 room with chairs on opposite sides of the bed. DVD's offered but the tv was so small and outdated it wouldn't be enjoyable. Bathroom especially small with small mirror, not enough room for 2 people, toilet didn't work properly without holding handle down. We expected luxurious amenities as advertised on web site. The lobby and dining area only updated part of the inn. We had to walk outside to get to the lobby or restaurant and there is no elevator. Definitely not a good value and we won't stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is the nicest hotel in Destin by far. Although the hotel is small the rooms are very spacious. The location is ideal; the rooms are beautiful; the restaurant is terrific and the service is just right. This place is a real find.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

While everyone there was so friendly and nice the room was pretty expensive for being a bit outdated. No real working wifi, really old decor and the smallest TV I've seen in years. They do have nice touches like a bottle of wine in your room and a lovely quiet location. The breakfast was amazing from a quaint dining room with great views.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minimotor72, General Manager at Henderson Park Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
I am extremely sorry you did not see the value in your stay. Please email me, rolin@hendersonparkinn.com or call me 850-269-8646 to discuss, as we normally have rave reviews, and I want to make this right with you.
Sincerely,
Thanks,
Ryan Olin
Inn Keeper
Henderson Park Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Henderson Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henderson Park Inn

Address: 2700 Scenic Hwy 98 East, Destin, FL 32541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
#10 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each guest is welcomed with a complimentary bottle of wine, fresh grapes and flowers upon arrival. Start your day with a complimentary full breakfast overlooking the Gulf of Mexico at our Destin beach restaurant. A delicious selection of cook-to-order omelets, made from scratch biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit, pastries, scrumptious bacon and sausage and so much more. Next, cruise down to the beach, but first stop by our community refrigerator to grab some beverages on the way down and then relax under an umbrella and on our complimentary beach chairs. Soak up the sunshine, go for a bike ride or take a long walk for a relaxing stroll down the beach. After you’ve worked up an appetite, stop in for a complimentary lunch (excluding holidays). For a quick snack stop through the lobby for lemonade and cookies as an added treat. Before dinner, mosey down to the restaurant for happy hour nightly while overlooking the Gulf Coast’s most beautiful beaches and colorful sunsets. Arrive back to your room after a day of relaxation and indulgence with gourmet chocolates and a complimentary turn down service. Each Suite is a perfect place to enjoy the charm and grace embraced by the peaceful shores of the Emerald Coast. Handicap-accessible units available. Come see why Henderson Park Inn is one of the hotels on the beach in Destin, Florida. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Henderson Park Hotel Destin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henderson Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.