We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and relaxing time with great views!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Henderson Park Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Henderson Park Inn
Save Saved
You added Henderson Park Inn to your Saves list
2700 Scenic Hwy 98 East, Destin, FL 32541   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
1 Free Dolphin Cruise!!
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Romantic and relaxing time with great views!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed over NYE weekend- had an Executive Suite on the second floor. We were on the balcony a lot- if you're "Balcony" people, make SURE not to get a room on the third floor of the Main building- the balconies are so much smaller and you cannot fit comfortably. We were so glad we were on the second floor. Natalie was very accommodating even before we got there- she actually called us to offer a better room situation (so we didnt have to move rooms)- this was a very nice touch. The happy hour on the patio is wonderful- I don't see how anyone could possibly complain- its an hour of free drinks, people! Ive seen reviews on here complaining about the length of the happy hour- but- um- its FREE- so drink your wine and say thank you! The restaurant is excellent- highly recommend dining there. It doesnt look like much during the day, but the women do get dressed up at night and it becomes very elegant/romantic- with amazing views! ROOM/getting to the Room: This is the only reason HPI gets 4 stars. No one helped us with our luggage! We (my boyfriend) had to lug it up the stairs- NOT a way to welcome your guests! And, the decor in the rooms is SO outdated- now, I knew this going in, so I was OK with that- but- theres a difference between outdated and poorly maintained. There were actually entire patches of paint missing from our room near the TV (Not a tv, but who goes there to watch TV?) . For a hotel at this price point, this is completely unacceptable. Heres the thing about HPI- there are practically zero "Nice" choices in the Destin area- Im not sure what has gone wrong down there, but seriously- there are no nice hotels! Out of all of them, HPI is the nicest- for this reason, if going to Destin again, I'd return.

Room Tip: Get an executive suite - but NOT on the third floor of the main building- and you'll be happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    51
    24
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
374
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I visited Destin for the first time last summer at stayed at HPI. It was a wonderful experience. The room was spacious and well appointed, there was a bottle of wine waiting for us when we arrived. Nice touch. The beach is beautiful soft, white sand, HPI sets up beach chairs & umbrellas daily for their guest. They provide a buffett breakfast w/ omelet station and a (very good) boxed lunch. They have a fridge stocked w water, soda, and candy bars available anytime and happy hour each day. It was such a wonderful experience we are thinking about going back again this year. HPI is adults only, which is what we were looking for. The only reason it didn't get 5 stars is the price. During peak season it's pricey but with all the amenties they offer we expected it. Definitely recommend if you are looking for a relaxing vacation location in Destin.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed here alone over the Christmas holidays and loved it. They upgraded me so I did not have to move rooms as was expected. The service was 5 star. The place is great as was the food. There was a lot of rain and the balcony leaked onto the carpet and this happened in all the rooms I was told. The location was also perfect. Minutes to Destin Commons Mall, great restaurants, etc.

Room Tip: Third floor balconies are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

After a long road trip, my fiancé and I were very much looking forward to a luxurious respite. While our room was very comfortable and we walked into a room complete with wine and roses, our stay at the Henderson Inn was a bit soured by our experience with front desk attendant, Natalie.

Before meeting Natalie, we parked our car in the lot and Randy, the valet, offered to take our bags up to our third floor room. Rather than take them one at a time, Randy, seemingly nobly, carried both very heavy bags up to our room. From the later reports of guests he passed along the way and our subsequent treatment from Nathalie, Randy apparently complained a great deal about the services performed doing this part of his job. More to come on that later.

After a wonderful bath, we called down for help making a reservation at the Beach Walk Cafe, the in-house restaurant. Natalie explained that the restaurant was busy but that the restaurant manager would call us back shortly. After a half hour of not hearing from the manager or Natalie, we elected to dine elsewhere, the Cuvée Bistro (stellar review found on their trip advisor page). Not getting a returned phone call within a few minutes is unacceptable. Not getting a returned phone call at all is infuriating.
Upon our returning from dinner, Natalie, in an ultra-fake tone, wished us an enjoyable evening and parted with "good luck getting your bags back downstairs." At best, this was a stupid, unhelpful thing to say. At worst, it was mean-spirited and spiteful.

The bed was restful, we woke up to a beautiful view of the beach. The breakfast was really good - omelets and sausages were the highlights. Cooks and servers were super friendly.

We spent the rest of the morning enjoying a walk and swing on the beach. Again, beautiful.

The room:
- view of the water as advertised.
- very comfortable bed
- great jacuzzi
- nice decor

Bottom line: the Henderson Inn is a very comfortable place to stay but it is way too expensive for what you get and the the service is a mixed bag.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minimotor72, General Manager at Henderson Park Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
I am extremely sorry for the service you encountered from some of our staff. As you can see from the many reviews, our staff is one of our strongest attributes at Henderson Park Inn, so this is nonstandard. Please call me at 850-269-8646 if you would like to speak further. I appreciate you staying with us.
Ryan Olin
Inn Keeper
Henderson Park Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed for 7 days starting Dec 15th. We were treated like family (but not overbearing) by the entire staff-from the excellent morning breakfast chefs and assistant, front staff (with maps to New Orleans and St. Augustine), the Tiki hut guy who made the extra effort to make me Bloody Marys to Scott the friendly night watchman. The location is beautiful and the building is so refreshing - we were happy to find this place and avoid the sterile, cold new construction of cookie cutter resorts. We plan to return as often as possible, before the unbelievable and unnecessary plans to tear the place down. Hopefully the owners will reconsider their destruction plans and realize the gem they now own. Join the "Save the Henderson Park Inn" now.

Room Tip: If you plan to be away for the day, mention it to the great staff at the main desk and they will put...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minimotor72, General Manager at Henderson Park Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We appreciate you choosing Henderson Park Inn for your stay. There are no immediate plans to tear down the Inn, so there should be many wonderful years ahead. Thanks for the wonderful review!
Thanks,
Ryan Olin
Inn Keeper
Henderson Park Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Just booked our return visit to Henderson Park Inn to escape the cold weather and snow here in Michigan. Henderson Park Inn has become that wonderful escape location we count on for exquisite rooms, location and attention to detail. During our first visit we stayed in the Corner Suite above the restaurant. It was so lovely, private and the view was outstanding! When the room was not available on our second visit we selected an Executive Suite. The room was smaller but well appointed and a wonderful ocean front view. Every staff member greets you and is very hospitable. The breakfasts are delicious and being able to order a box lunch allows guests flexibility for planning during the day. Henderson Park Inn is one of our favorites.

Room Tip: I would suggest the Corner Suite or Executive Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minimotor72, General Manager at Henderson Park Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
I appreciate you writing the wonderful review. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Ryan Olin
Inn Keeper
Henderson Park Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My wife and I did a little 2 nighter this past weekend and has been our 4th time there this year and our 12th since 2008. I know it sounds cliche but Henderson Park Inn (or HPI, or Henny P's as we call it) is truly our home away from home. The staff: Tamee, Natalie (Red), Natalie (Blonde), Amber, Nick, Lance, Betty, Wade, Chef Greg (breakfast guy) and the ones I forgot to mention are a major reason why we keep coming back. It is hard to put into words but Henny P's is a state of mind or a place of being, not a destination. My wife and I consider ourselves beach lovers and for the most part are the only type of vacations we take. We have been to Maui, Aruba, Cancun, The Bahamas, South Beach, Marco Island, Key West, Palm Beach, Siesta Key, and keep coming back to HPI because of the above people I just mentioned.

The location next to the park is unbeatable. Happy Hour at The Tiki Bar is complimentary and we often see familiar faces in the clientele that keep coming back like we do. Stocked fridges with bottled water and candy bars can't be beat. Chef Greg makes the best breakfast in the morning which is also included.

Nick is the bomb...he works at Beachwalk and makes the best "Black Raspberry" Martini's. The Kung Pao Shrimp is to die for and Wifey loves the Crabmeat Springrolls.

I can't say enough about the staff and we will see you guys in May....(or maybe sooner.... :)

Room Tip: The Executive Suites in the east building on the second floor (bigger balcony) are my fav
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minimotor72, General Manager at Henderson Park Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
I like the "Henny P" nickname! Thank you for all the kinds words you said about our staff and property. We really do try to be that "home away from home." We hope to see you again soon!
Ryan Olin
Inn Keeper
Henderson Park Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Henderson Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henderson Park Inn

Address: 2700 Scenic Hwy 98 East, Destin, FL 32541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
#11 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each guest is welcomed with a complimentary bottle of wine, fresh grapes and flowers upon arrival. Start your day with a complimentary full breakfast overlooking the Gulf of Mexico at our Destin beach restaurant. A delicious selection of cook-to-order omelets, made from scratch biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit, pastries, scrumptious bacon and sausage and so much more. Next, cruise down to the beach, but first stop by our community refrigerator to grab some beverages on the way down and then relax under an umbrella and on our complimentary beach chairs. Soak up the sunshine, go for a bike ride or take a long walk for a relaxing stroll down the beach. After you’ve worked up an appetite, stop in for a complimentary lunch (excluding holidays). For a quick snack stop through the lobby for lemonade and cookies as an added treat. Before dinner, mosey down to the restaurant for happy hour nightly while overlooking the Gulf Coast’s most beautiful beaches and colorful sunsets. Arrive back to your room after a day of relaxation and indulgence with gourmet chocolates and a complimentary turn down service. Each Suite is a perfect place to enjoy the charm and grace embraced by the peaceful shores of the Emerald Coast. Handicap-accessible units available. Come see why Henderson Park Inn is one of the hotels on the beach in Destin, Florida. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Henderson Park Hotel Destin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henderson Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;