We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Surf Hut” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Surf Hut

The Surf Hut
551 Scenic Gulf Dr, Destin, FL 32550
+1 850-460-7750
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 246 Restaurants in Destin
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Welcome to The Surf Hut, the newest restaurant addition to the South Walton, Destin/Miramar Beach area. Sit back, relax and enjoy the view! This brand new, open air restaurant is located directly on the beautiful Gulf of Mexico and is the place to be all year long! The Surf Hut has a menu that goes far beyond your typical 'beach fare'. Chef Paul Richards adds a little surfer flare to a cuisine that includes Seafood, Oysters and St. Louis Style BBQ! Kids meals are served in a take home souvenir frisbees and we've got a custom game area on the beach where you can grab a game of corn hole while you watch the waves and sip a delicious signature frozen libation from our full bar! Whether you're looking for a place for lunch while you're enjoying the beach, a local spot to get fresh from the Gulf seafood, date night or a family friendly place to bring the kids, The Surf Hut has got something for everyone! Boogie on down to The Surf Hut, enjoy the food, the fun and the waves! See you soon!
Texas
1 review
“The Surf Hut”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

If you like mojitos and a great view with having to wait forever to sit down come to this place. You can walk right up from the beach! Right by the Crescent condos! Shout out to Chase our really nice and friendly waiter! Thank you for your kindness and awesomeness! East Texas people think you are great!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    124
    44
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sulphur springs
1 review
“Great server”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Just walked up from the beach, had drinks they were Awesome!! Thanks Chase for the Amazing service! Everyone try this place out, great beachside view!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food, but way overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The Surf Hut had a great set up. Everything open and the beach was beautiful. The atmosphere was a little uptight, but I'm not sure if that was the patrons or the place itself. The food was good, but didn't seem to be worth the price we paid. The margarita came in a souvenir cup that I got to take home, but it was the size of a kids cup. I would love to go back, but only if the prices were lowered 20%.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Newest beach restrunt on old 98”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

All new restrunt right on the beach . Very open with a good view of the gulf. Nice full bar and a good selection of appetizers. My wife had the grouper sandwich and I had the ribs. Food was average and the service was good. They tried very hard to give the best service they could. Almost to hard. The price was a little high but they do give you a lot of food. I would recommend this restrunt, but it's not at the top of my list.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Surf Hut new and worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

todd was our waiter on our first night into town at Surf Hut and maybe because we had traveled all day and were starving it was a wonderful place for us to land right next to our condo rental. But then because it was so good we decided to go back a second night and we were just as happy. Good food, good location, good service, and the kids loved the corn hole game in the sand.
Recommend a stop by off and get a table outside on the beach.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Surf Hut also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to The Surf Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Surf Hut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.