We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Oats Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Oats Motel
3420 Scenic Highway 98, Destin, FL 32540   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 39 hotels in Destin
Palos Heights, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best kept secret”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Loved this place. We were pleasantly surprised when we decided to spend one additional night in Destin and this hotel was able to accommodate us. The hotel is small but with a great beach location, extremely clean and well appointed. Would absolutely stay here again. Great location for couples and families.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    59
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
55
58
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a small motel on the BEACH. It was clean, beautiful view - small efficiency room.
Stayed somewhere else the night before we checked in here...not even a contest - this was by far so much better.
Staff at front desk (Mary) was very polite, friendly, & helpful. If you want a clean, updated, no-frills GULF FRONT place to stay with a FANTASTIC, unobstructed view of the beautiful gulf - this is a great choice!

Room Tip: I like the view from the second floor -- but first floor is great too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IL
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have been staying here on and off for over 20 years. It was getting more than a little tired and needed renovation so started staying elsewhere. When we were in Destin Christmas 2011 we saw they were remodeling! So we took a chance and just stayed there for ten days in an efficiency on the first floor. The renovations are very nice, the beds have great toppers, new appliances, clean as a whistle and very quiet. Now the windows on the first floor can be opened and there is now free Wi-Fi. We just loved it. You absolutely cannot beat the location and the affordability. We also found the Management to very very helpful and nice. My 80 year old mother-in-law stayed next door and they were so kind to help us hook up her earphones for the TV. When she couldn't sleep lying down they allowed us to contact a rental company to bring in an electric recliner for a week. Family friendly for all ages!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here in July with our 9 month old daughter. Compared to a few other properties we saw, the Sea,Oats has the following unbeatable advantages: 1) Proximity to the beach - there is no hotel closer to the beach. None. And being that close with a 9 month old and all of the stuff that one must carry, being that close was priceless! 2) amenities - we were thrilled to have a kitcheonette and access to a washer dryer. Again, those features at the price we paid, were great and key for a traveling family. 3) did I mention that you are literally right on top of the beach?! :)

If we go back, we would probably do one of the beck front efficiencies right on the board walk. We were in one of the apartments over the pool and while it was perfectly fine, you can't beat the location of those beach front rooms!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is an older, no frills property. But it is clean, quiet and right at the water's edge. If you are looking to enjoy the sound of the surf from your room, sunrises and sunsets from your private balcony and be only steps from the water, this is the perfect location. We just spent our second Thanksgiving holiday here and plan for many more return visits.

Room Tip: The efficiency rooms have a full size refrigerator, a range, sink and counter space. They provide di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I found this little motel right on the beach and found it to be clean comfortable and with everything we needed and a view that anyone would love great winter rates so drop by you won't be disappointed. We chose the efficiency over the motel room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Sea Oats based off reviews on Trip Advisor and were very happy with our experience. So much so, we stayed an extra night!

Pros:

1. Great location in Destin on a very nice beach.
2. Close to restaurants, shops and activites.
3. VERY comfortable bed, and nice updated rooms.
4. Stayed in room #29 and we were just steps from the beach from our patio. Definitely go for a room on the bottom floor.
5. Very nice staff.

Cons:

Don't have any!. They accomodated our late night arrival and early departure with a smile.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea Oats Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Oats Motel

Address: 3420 Scenic Highway 98, Destin, FL 32540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Destin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#12 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Sea Oats Hotel Destin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Oats Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sea Oats Motel to your Saves list