We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Oats Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Oats Motel
3420 Scenic Highway 98, Destin, FL 32540   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 39 hotels in Destin
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great spot for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here in July with our 9 month old daughter. Compared to a few other properties we saw, the Sea,Oats has the following unbeatable advantages: 1) Proximity to the beach - there is no hotel closer to the beach. None. And being that close with a 9 month old and all of the stuff that one must carry, being that close was priceless! 2) amenities - we were thrilled to have a kitcheonette and access to a washer dryer. Again, those features at the price we paid, were great and key for a traveling family. 3) did I mention that you are literally right on top of the beach?! :)

If we go back, we would probably do one of the beck front efficiencies right on the board walk. We were in one of the apartments over the pool and while it was perfectly fine, you can't beat the location of those beach front rooms!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    58
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
52
57
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is an older, no frills property. But it is clean, quiet and right at the water's edge. If you are looking to enjoy the sound of the surf from your room, sunrises and sunsets from your private balcony and be only steps from the water, this is the perfect location. We just spent our second Thanksgiving holiday here and plan for many more return visits.

Room Tip: The efficiency rooms have a full size refrigerator, a range, sink and counter space. They provide di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I found this little motel right on the beach and found it to be clean comfortable and with everything we needed and a view that anyone would love great winter rates so drop by you won't be disappointed. We chose the efficiency over the motel room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Sea Oats based off reviews on Trip Advisor and were very happy with our experience. So much so, we stayed an extra night!

Pros:

1. Great location in Destin on a very nice beach.
2. Close to restaurants, shops and activites.
3. VERY comfortable bed, and nice updated rooms.
4. Stayed in room #29 and we were just steps from the beach from our patio. Definitely go for a room on the bottom floor.
5. Very nice staff.

Cons:

Don't have any!. They accomodated our late night arrival and early departure with a smile.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly staff, clean spacious room with kitchenette. Located right on the beach at a very reasonable price. Walking distance from a large seafood restaurant. We are just passing through and only staying one night, but would certainly come back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimberly815
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Me and my husband stayed here for our anniversary and it was great. You are footsteps from the beach, the rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly. These rooms are very basic, but you are paying for the location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed at Sea Oats for first time Aug 17-25 2012 in Apt 2. Wonderful experience, great friendly staff. Property was exactly what we were looking for. Right on beautiful, powdery beach. Beach was impeccably clean as was the motel and surrounding areas. Room had kitchen with all ammenities. Will definitely stay again at Sea Oats, Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Beach front units seem to be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea Oats Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Oats Motel

Also Known As:
Sea Oats Hotel Destin
Sea Oats Hotel
Address: 3420 Scenic Highway 98, Destin, FL 32540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Destin
#6 Romantic Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Oats Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sea Oats Motel to your Saves list