We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Beach Towers Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Silver Beach Towers Resort to your Saves list
Silver Beach Towers Resort
1048 Highway 98 E, Destin, FL 32541   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off Stays Now-Jan 2nd
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in W1404 and it was beautiful. The beds and living room furniture were VERY comfortable. We felt like we were at home. It had everything we needed. We will be back. We liked the security features and felt very safe there.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    15
    6
    8
    1
See reviews for
43
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX - Go Horns!
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed 5 nights in W605 at Silver Beach Towers and liked the following:
- Spacious, quiet, clean and comfortable unit
- Great location on the beach and close to stores and restaurants
- Two bedrooms with king bed in each room
- Each bedroom has a very nice ocean view
- Bedrooms are on opposite side of the unit
- Large balcony with same nice ocean view
- All appliances and kitchenware worked fine
- Large pool and pool area with plenty of seating available
- Pool area was clean and never crowded
- There were enough towels to last a few days before you have to wash them
- Elevators were quick and efficient
- Security -- you have plastic chip in your room key chain that you place near the scanner for parking garage and entrace and it works really well, much easier than sliding a room key; if you have your key, it works every single time with just one pass; I can see how it can be a hassle if you need to contact someone and the management office is in Silver Shells; but I like the security feature and consider that a good thing

Things that could be improved:
- The carpeted floor has many stains near the entrance in living room
- Wi-fi was very spotty for a couple of days, even when it worked it was pretty slow
- You get beach towels when you check in at Silver Shells, you have to return them to Silver Shells when you depart
- They want you to run the dishwasher when you depart

And as others have noted, you need to refill your own toiletries and sundries. You wash your own towels, sheets if you need clean ones. You take out your own trash -- there's a trash chute on each floor that makes it very convenient. So don't come here expecting to get your room serviced or toilet paper refilled, you're on your own. Frankly, I did wish there was some basic room service, just to sweep the floor, vacuum, take out trash, just a little tidying up would have been nice.

Overall, it was a very relaxing vacation at the Silver Beach Towers. We have been spoiled by our stays in the Caribbean the past three years prior to Destin where the condos all had full service. It's always nice to come back to a clean room. I have no problems with staying here again but I will probably see if there's a comparable hotel/condo that provides room service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

things that were great...Compass Resorts Rentals promises great customer service and they delivered,, the view, beach service, high speed elevators are terrific, location, pools and security. We loved the security, we saw them keep people out of pool area who were not staying there and they cleaned the pool deck every night, so if you stay there make sure you don't leave towels/pool toys, etc...behind. Each morning the pool water was cleaned, so very clean pools...no sand. . Not so great was unit W1503 which needs a few updates and it would be perfect, until that is done chose another unit to rent. However even staying in a unit not up to par, Compass Resorts made sure we had a stress free vacation as they fixed all issues in a timely matter and made any situations the issues caused right by us. Compass Resorts is the shining star in our Destin vacation and we'll use them again to book a rental in Destin, but if we stay at the Silver Beach Towers again (lots of great things going for it) we will likely stay in a different unit or at least until we see W1503 has made some necessary updates in their unit. I give W1503 an average sleep quality because only the master bedroom's mattress gave a good night's sleep and it's a wonderful bed!! The cleanliness is due to lipstick on three coffee mugs, milk stained glass in cabinet, meat on steak knife and jetted tub SLIMBED me and no matter how many times they tried to clean out the jetted tub Compass Resorts friendly staff just couldn't get that job done while we were there. The water in those jetted tubes likely had not been cleaned in more than a year. Compass Resorts did say W1503 was a newly acquired rental by them and I'm sure the guests who stayed there next were able to use the tub after management was able to take the tub apart and clean thoroughly. Compass Resorts comped a couple days stay for our troubles in this unit.....all came out very fair in the end and we enjoyed our stay. Also whatever water pressure issues they may have had at one time (I read in one of the reviews) didn't exist while we were there (in the west building) and it was completely sold out for the week and we were on the 15th floor.

Room Tip: make sure in prime rentals times (mid to late May all of June and parts of July) that you book at le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

The hotel had way too much security that involved a key to have access to EVERYTHING.From the front door to the entrance to the beach.The pool was decent as well as the rooms.But during my stay,I was trying to get into the hotel and called my friend to come to open the door for us because we had no key,I saw that the new workers there were dumbfounded and also had no way of getting in.I don't recommend this place and there is dozens of better non uptight hotels in

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

My family has stayed at Silver Beach Towers for the past 10 years and are returning again in July. We wouldn't imagine staying anywhere else. It has become our summer home. 2 pools, 2 hot tubs, safe secure gated parking.. Walking distance to Big Kahuna's and The Track. Directly on the beach. Great views in basically every room. Decor is modern and beautiful. Rooms are always spotless and clean. Amenities fully functional. The location is ideal & the traffic light at the entrance to the property is a life saver - no fighting traffic to pull onto Hwy 98! We love this place. We'd never even consider giving another condo a try - we know we'd be disappointed and it just wouldn't be the same. We travel as a family and my grandmother is "afraid of heights" :) so we've never stayed higher than the 6th floor which is fine with us - great view of pool and ocean. She likes to watch us at the pool from the balcony and search for us on the beach also. She loves waking up early every morning and having her coffee on the balcony trying her best to spot a dolphin. We truly love Silver Beach Towers. We're tried and true, loyal, faithful customers who do not plan to go astray! Definitely recommend! Can't think of anything negative.

Room Tip: Ocean view units are incredible! Different units available to help you choose the best for the numbe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Marketing Director at Silver Beach Towers Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you ever so kindly for promoting our resort so well and mentioning all of the amenities that we offer. However, what is most important to us is that your time here was memorable and pleasant! We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours make it all worthwhile.

I hope that we can continue to exceed all of your vacationing needs in the future. Please find us on Facebook and post some of your favorite vacation photos.

Thank you again and we look forward to providing you with excellent vacation memories in July!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellettsville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We Researched condo's in Destin's beach area before we chose this one. I worried about it all the way (drove 12 hours) there because this was a family vacation and I wanted every just right. Arrived early (11 am) they checked us right in even though it was early. The condo was on the beach, 3 bedroom 3 baths, saying it was B E A U T I F U L is an understatement.
SPOTLESS clean,
Location was perfect, Not overly touristy but enough of the comforts that we had one of the best vacations that i can remember.
Pools were cleaned every morning, staff was incredibly friendly. Will I go back? Absolutely! Already thinking of when,,, and I just returned. :)
The only reason this condo has a 4 rating and not a 5 is the appliances (while fine) could stand to be replaced.

Room Tip: 1st floor no view, i would avoid this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Marketing Director at Silver Beach Towers Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive feedback on our resort. We strive to exceed all of our vacationers' expectations and customer service is of the utmost important to us!

As we are the property management company, Visionary Destin, we have strict guidelines with the rental units regarding the luxury furnishings and designer accommodations that we offer. Very pleased to see that the unit you chose was suited so well for you and your family.

Thank you again for your feedback, we truly appreciate knowing about or guest’s experiences so we can celebrate our successes as we look forward to your return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gramercy, Louisiana
1 review
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We spent a few nights here on the tail end of our honeymoon as we drove back from Orlando. The condo we stayed in was actually quite beautiful. The water pressure left a lot to be desired, but the view more than made up for that. Our problem came when we were on our way home and received a call from the condo management telling us that it was obvious we had a dog with us in our room and that they would be charging us $100 to have the comforter dry cleaned. I was immediately ready to debunk this little scam as we did not have any type of animal. We were on our honeymoon 4 states away and security cameras would prove that we did not have any animal. Honestly, I could give you a million reasons why we wouldn't have had an animal with us, but my point is we didn't. This phone call truly put a huge damper on our trip. I was so upset and it was not a pleasant way to end our honeymoon. I will never go back because of it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Beach Towers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Beach Towers Resort

Address: 1048 Highway 98 E, Destin, FL 32541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Destin
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
#8 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Beach Towers Resort specializes in Gulf-front Destin vacation rental suite amenities. Guests from all over the world stay at Silver Beach Tower's vacation rentals in Destin, Florida for a peaceful escape. Our two gulf front vacation rental tower amenities offer spacious one-to five- bedroom fully equipped suites that feature kitchens, living areas, washer and dryer, unique designer finishes and private sliding-glass door balconies with picturesque views of Destin, Florida's beautiful beaches. When you stay in Silver Beach Tower vacation rentals, you are just steps away from 600 feet of private beach, two lagoon pools with waterfalls, and whirlpool. Conveniently located within walking distance of Destin's premier shops, nightlife, dinning, and area attractions makes Silver Beach Towers the perfect vacation rental get away. Stay at Silver Beach Tower's vacation rentals and treat yourself to the relaxation and revitalization you deserve in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Silver Beach Towers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Beach Towers Hotel Destin
Silver Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Beach Towers Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.