We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all around to make our stay a blast.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village to your Saves list
Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village
10 Harbor Boulevard, Destin, FL 32541   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Gainesville, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent all around to make our stay a blast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed only for 2 nights for a wedding. We were in a 2 bedroom that was beautiful. The staff was so friendly. Got to watch sunsets, the pool and a spectacular view. So much to do in the area. Great restaurants and shopping and fun activities.We are planning our next stay!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    115
    54
    38
    35
See reviews for
307
109
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Summerfield, Florida
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Just spent a week here with two other couples. We were in a three bedroom three bath suite and it could not have been better We could find nothing to criticize. We were on the top floor which afforded us a wonderful view of Destin Harbor. It was great sitting on the balcony watching the sunrise and all the activity below as the harbor came to life. There are a number of shops and restaurants on the Harbor Walk just below the hotel which lessens the need to jump into a car to go anywhere.
However, the location is within an hour's drive of Pensacola and the Naval Aviation Museum, which we did not do this time, and less than an hour to the quaint little villages of Seaside and Watercolor which we did visit this time. We also visited the Village of Baytowne Wharf at Sandestin which was a lot of fun as well and is only about twenty minutes away.
We could not have asked the hotel staff to be more responsive, courteous or helpful. We had a couple of minor maintenance issues when we arrived and they were handled immediately.
The pool deck at the resort affords a great view of sunsets and the on site bar/restaurant affords good drink and food. We gathered almost every evening to watch the sunset over the Fort Walton/Destin bridge.
We were there for the finale of the Destin Fishing Rodeo and were treated to a wonderful fireworks display in the harbor. We were impressed with the scope and duration of the fireworks which we watched from the pool deck. That was on our last night in Destin and we thought it a fitting end to an absolutely fabulous vacation. I can't wait to go back

Room Tip: Higher floors will be somewhat quieter because there is a lot of activity going on around the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Fulton, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were given a 5 night stay at this hotel by our daughter and son in law for our 40th wedding anniversary. Our experience here was terrific. Our room was wonderful beyond words. Sparkling clean and the decor was beautiful. Each evening we sat on the large balcony and watched the sun set over the bay. We had a full kitchen and large bedroom with a king size bed. Tucked away in the hallway were a set of bunk beds that would have been perfect for a small family. We also had 2 full bathrooms. We had complimentary daily maid service. They always came while we were out and throughally cleaned our room (including the kitchen) We enjoyed clean towels morning and evening. The pool was very nice and we enjoyed seeing the beautiful white sand beach while sitting in the hot tub. We took the complimentary boat service to a private beach and Sam put an umbrella up for us and made sure our chairs were perfect. We didn't need to do anything but enjoy! The ladies in the spa were so nice and we talked about our grandchildren. They had lemonade and lounges where you could just sit and unwind after a day in the sun. There was no charge for this priveledge. My husband spent some time in the excercise room and in the men's area of the spa. It overlooked the pool and beach area. We will definately stay at this property again.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the bay and it was really beautiful watching the sun rise on the left and the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaWyatt, Manager at Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Geeorgette S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and glad to hear you will be returning in the future. At Emerald Grande, we truly take pride in pampering our guests and are always happy to hear when we are successful in doing so especially during such a special occasion you chose to spend with us! We look forward to your next visit!

Cheers,
Victoria Wyatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herrin, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at the Emerald Grand on our honeymoon. The hotel itself was beautiful, the staff were attentive and clearly understand customer service. The only complaint was poor service on a single occasion at the poolside bar. Other than that, it was a great place to stay. The hotel is conveniently located on the Harborwalk within close proximity to shops, restaurants, and activities. We highly recommend.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Indiana
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at the Emerald Grand the October 17-19. Harbor Walk (where the EG is located) is one of our very favorite places in Destin so we thought we'd give the Grande a try while bridging the gap between our early arrival in Destin and the date we were checking into our regular condos. I think it'd be easier to state pros and cons:

PROS: clean, conveniently on Harbor Walk, staff seemed nice, spacious compared to a hotel room, lovely view
CONS: Elevators took forever. Apparently they are programmed to 'first come, first serve' not floor by floor. One night it took us close to 30 minutes to get an elevator. We weren't the only ones complaining. Also, the layout of how to get around is awkward. To get to Harbor Walk you had to go to the pool deck and walk down stairs or go to another elevator and go through the garage. One other thing was the WiFi. Terrible. Non-existent inside the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACKSONVILLE
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our 37th anniversary trip. Husband walked to his fishing boat one day; I dropped him off at golf another. Meanwhile I explored the harbor, enjoyed the beaches and nearby shopping. Back together mid-aft we shared the pool, great restaurants and our luxurious suite. It was a fun, laid-back couple of days -- plus we came home with a cooler of fresh snapper.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaWyatt, Manager at Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear KATHRYN V,

Thank you for your kind review. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your anniversary at Emerald Grande! We hope you come back and see us again in the near future!

Warmest regards,
Victoria Wyatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed at the Emerald Grande using our Club Wyndham Presidential Reserve points from October 4-11. We planned on attending the annual Destin Seafood Festival, but due to the possibility of a hurricane, the event was cancelled. If the Destin Seafood Festival hadn't been cancelled, Emerald Grande is definitely the place you want to stay at! The resort is in the middle of all the action with Harborwalk Village's restaurants, shops, and different activities. Wyndham's presidential units (there are two floors of them) overlook the bay/harbor and you have a view of Harborwalk Village. You have a have a key to even access the hallway where the units are located. Each unit is also provided one guaranteed parking spot, which is something I've never seen before!

The presidential units are incredible! I must say this is the first time we ever stayed in a presidential suite before, but Emerald Grande definitely set the bar high! The unit had hardwood floors, granite countertops, stainless still appliances, garden tubs, and the most spectacular view! There was a huge HD cable TV in the living room with a Bose surround sound.

If you are a presidential reserve member, you have different options that you can pick from during your stay. You can choose free breakfast for four, free deep sea fishing for two, or free golf at Regatta Bay for two. You can login to the Wyndham website and navigate to Emerald Grande's resort page and there will be an option to look at resort specific presidential amenities (non PR owners will not see these options). The Wyndham Liaison Manager on properly, Mark, will send you a email before you arrive asking you which package you would like to choose from. We opted for the free breakfast for four each day. You could choose to eat in the Grande Vista Bar and Grill or have room service. We chose to do room service each day. Four drinks were included, and the gratuity/service charge is also included. However, I must add that when you call to order or when they deliver, they will sometimes try to tell you that you are responsible for the 22% room service charge. Wyndham presidential reserve members are NOT responsible for anything! Upon check-in you receive a letter stating which options (breakfast, fishing, golf) you want and a clerk has to initial the paper and you return the paper back into the front desk upon check-out. When they tried to tell me I was responsible for the service charge, or when the service charge was charged to my room (upon check-out you get a list of charges that are applied to your room), I immediately e-mailed Victoria Wyatt, the Guest Services Manager. She immediately fixed the problem and apologized for the miscommunication. Their breakfast portions are huge and everything seemed to be fresh. I would like to see the resort expand their breakfast menu to include a few more items. When staying for an entire week, you sometimes get tired of eggs and bacon/sausage included with most of the meals. However, you have to keep in mind you are getting FREE breakfast! It would also be nice to see the resort include a spa treatment as part of the resort specific presidential service amenities. The resort also provides daily housekeeping, which includes the removal of dirty towels and removal of garbage from the unit. This is a nice touch as other Wyndham properties don't have this.

Even though the resort isn't managed by Wyndham, Wyndham still has staff placed on property should you need assistance during your stay. We were never contacted to setup a sales update, so I don't believe any of the staff on property are salespeople. We were asked to setup a meeting with a Wyndham representative to do a survey on the units at Emerald Grande. They promised us it would take no longer than 15 minutes. The representative arrived at our unit and it was a short and sweet survey about the units and ownership. We were provided with a free box of candy or a beach bag for our time.

The resort does have a shuttle that runs to two of their beaches. I will say they are not true beaches; they do have the white sand but your view is of the bay. One beach is the Cove and the other is the Jetty's. Both beaches have umbrellas and chairs that are setup by beach attendees that stay on the beach all day long. The Jetty's is the best beach to go to because you can walk out and view the Gulf of Mexico. You can always drive across the bridge to go to the public beaches, which are just a few minutes away. The staff on the shuttle along with the beach attendees has the best personalities! Our shuttle captains for the time we were there was Captain Cracker and Captain Cindy. The resort tells you the shuttle runs every 30-45 minutes but the Captains will tell you they try to run a schedule that keeps everyone happy. If you are ready to go back all you have to do is tell your beach attendant and they will radio the Captain. Everyone we came in contact with was very welcoming and always asked how we were doing. Everyone seemed to love their job.

Emerald Grande was definitely a whole new experience for us! If you are a Wyndham owner I encourage you to visit Emerald Grande at least one time. I definitely recommend going during the fall as the resort isn't as busy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaWyatt, Manager at Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dylan T,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at Emerald Grande. I'm glad Tropical Storm Karen didn't ruin your vacation as she brought in very little rain to the area. I am also happy to hear you enjoyed your PR amenities. I hope you got a chance to try the seafood omelet one morning! That is one of my favorite items off the breakfast menu. The late spring is also a very nice time of year to visit as well as the fall. Thank you again for taking the time to review our property. We look forward to your next visit here at Emerald Grande.

Best regards,
Victoria Wyatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village

Address: 10 Harbor Boulevard, Destin, FL 32541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Grande Harbor Walk Village Hotel Destin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Grande at HarborWalk Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.