We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Destin Holiday Beach Resort 2

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Destin Holiday Beach Resort 2
Save Saved
You added Destin Holiday Beach Resort 2 to your Saves list
1006-A Highway 98 East, PO Box 125, Destin, FL 32524   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Destin
House Springs, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great family resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed in a gulf-front studio in Phase 1. Although smaller than what we usually stay in, I must say the space is very well laid out. The views of the gulf are great, and the resort offers so many activities, there is really no reason to leave! In addition to swimming on the beach and in the 2 pools, guests can also play tennis, shuffleboard and volleyball. The beach is not nearly as crowded as neighboring resorts and is meticulously clean and quiet. The resort is very well maintained, and they are currently remodeling many of the rooms. There are also planned activities/ offerings throughout the week--live music and very reasonably priced hot dogs, hamburgers and ice cream. I must say I was a little leery renting the condo based on its size, but we had a wonderful time!

Room Tip: Many first floor units open right onto the pool deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great price and great rooms! We actually went 7/8/12 last year. The beaches are beautiful. We picked this place over many other places we checked out! Thank you for a great stay.
The staff is nice. Check in wasn't until 3pm and we got there at 10am, but they let us go ahead and go to the beach. Love this place, and definitely will be coming back.
Rooms are clean, and I love the tennis court. Didn't get a swim in the pool, only stayed one night, but it looked very nice. Love this place so much!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I get up in Fort Walton Beach so I love to bring my family here.

The Staff are very friendly. We use a Timeshare here it a larger 1 bedroom that sleeps 6. It is an older place but management has kept it up. Phase II is the larger 2 and 3 bedroom, also newer and are all ocean views. you can beat the rates and the location in Destin. I recommend eating at least one night at Louisiana Lagnappe. The food there is so good!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is a time share condominium where there are 2 phases. Phase 1 are primarily studio condos. Just remember the days back in the 1960's when you went to a motel with a kitchenette that is what phase 1 is like (very charming). The decor is very nice and all of the units have been updated nicely. There is a big pool in front of phase one with a hot tub. Most units in phase 1 overlook the Gulf of Mexico (tops units get a view of the gulf).

Phase II are the newer units and are 3 bedroom 2 bath, nice full kitchen, washer/dryers in the unit, porches with a gorgeous view of the Gulf (with table & 4 chairs). They are beautifully decorated, but currently are in need of new sofa's because they have been worn out over the last 8 years. You couldn't pick a better place to stay and have a nice quiet fun time.

You are in the heart of beautiful Destin and a stones throw from Ft. Walton Beach and Panama City Beach. There are many things to do for the family or if you just want to chill by yourself this is the place. During the summer traffic is horrific, but if you get all of your shopping out of the way you really don't need to leave the resort. There is live music by the pool once a week, hot dog lunches, ice cream days, a small workout room, with small game room. There is also a wine/cheese party every Monday.

Negatives:
New management is not friendly (retired Air Force officer is now running the show), there is no communication when there are issues, and multiple people go to the desk to ask the same questions when a note could be sent to each unit via phone, or flyer. Front desk staff used to be very friendly, but looks as though they have taken the new managers attitude. They are nice, but do not go out of there way to make sure everything is okay.


The nice thing about this resort is has been here since the 1960's (Phase 1)! And it did not parlay itself into one of those huge towering condos that suck the life outta of the beach. I highly recommend this place even if management doesn't give a warm fuzzy...the sales person has the same attitude not overly friendly..makes you wonder how she makes a living.

Room Tip: Phase 1, ask for a 2nd floor room overlooking the Gulf past room 210. It's quiet on this end. P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Me and my family are from Louisiana and planned on a weekend trip to New Orleans. We didn't realize a music festival was going on and there were no rooms available. Also I should mention this was right after July 4th. We decided to ride to the coast and see if we could find something to rent. We started in Gulf Shores, Al and ended up in Destin. We rode around in our car for 13 hours when all of a sudden my husband spotted the sign to this resort. We were happy they had vacancies for two nights for $222.00 that's including tax. It was like 10am and check in wasn't til after 3pm but the resort gave us our wrist bands and let us change into our swimsuits and enjoy the beach. We had so much fun. It was our teenage daughters first time on the gulf coast. My poor hubby got sunburned really bad, but other than that we enjoyed ourselves so much. The resort was full of families and it wasn't loud at all. That is what we liked the most and we will make this our choice of places to stay when we visit again this summer and summers to come!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was the second time we have stayed at this resort. Yes it is a little older place but well worth the money. It is on the smaller side compared to most of its competers in the area but that is what we liked about it... it has very nice pool and even had live music one night while we were there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This property is great for beach access. It is centrally located so you are near everything. That's a definite plus. Had we visited in late spring or summer, the proximity to the beach would have been more appealing.

The unit, itself, is very ordinary. It is time for redecorating because the furniture is showing serious signs of wear. There were no flat screen TVs in the unit. The screened porch on our
3BR unit, however, was great! Nice view of the beach. A portion of the screen needs to be replaced, though, before summer and mosquitos.

Now about this 3BR unit: it is actually a 2 BR and a closet with bunk beds. There is no table, chest or chair in the room. There is only a small wall-mounted cathode ray tube TV. Fortunately, there is a window or you would experience complete claustrophobia. In my opinion, this is acceptable ONLY for very small kids. The double bed in the second BR where I stayed was not very comfortable. Needs a new mattress. Would recommend a queen bed replacement.

Our stay was pleasant; just not very plush. I prefer more luxurious accommodations. However, I would stay here on a subsequent trip for the beach access if nothing better was available.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Destin Holiday Beach Resort 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destin Holiday Beach Resort 2

Address: 1006-A Highway 98 East, PO Box 125, Destin, FL 32524
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Destin Holiday Beach Resort 2 Hotel Destin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Destin Holiday Beach Resort 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.