We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Place To Stay !!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Destin Holiday Beach Resort 2

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Destin Holiday Beach Resort 2
Save
You added Destin Holiday Beach Resort 2 to your Saves list
1006-A Highway 98 East, PO Box 125, Destin, FL 32524   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Glasgow, Kentucky
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place To Stay !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Nice surprise. This is an older condo resort. The people are really nice and the room was clean. Had a great view of the Gulf. We have been to the area two other time and stayed someplace else. We will stay here again. Nice to be on the Gulf side of the road.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We have been vacationing in Destin,Florida for over 30 years. We are owners at this timeshare property that is located on 500 feet white sandy beach of the beautiful Gulf of Mexico in the center of Destin. It sits directly across the entrance to the Big Kahuna water park. Although it is a timeshare, there are usually some units available for rent most weeks, even during the summer "high" months. In fact, this is how we discovered this gem by renting a unit over twenty years ago. This is definitely a family oriented place to stay with children from newborns to teenagers. The units are well maintained and whenever anything is amiss a repair person responds immediately. The staff is friendly and accommodating. There is free wi-fi, and every day there is some sort of activity in which all family members can participate - from hotdogs and hamburgers by the pool to ping pong contests and ice cream socials. There are lighted tennis courts, grills for outdoor cooking, and sports equipment available for use. Free wi-fi is available in the rooms which works well. All rooms are equipped with enough dishes, flatware and cooking utensils for a family. The three bedroom/ two bath units in Phase II have a dishwasher, washer and dryer. Check it out, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the gulf side if you are in phase I. The units in phase II have screened in por...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Mississippi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

If you're looking for fancy, this is not the place for you. But if you're looking for a well maintained, friendly place on the water, this this is the spot. The beach is a short walk across the boardwalk and due to the small size of this facility, you don't have to fight the crowds like the huge properties on each side. The private beach is roped off, so while the neighbors are 10 people deep on the beach, you will be no more than 2 deep, even on busy days.

We love this little timeshare resort, and stay here every year. The staff is very friendly, and there are two pools, tennis, bbq grills, horseshoes, volleyball, shuffleboard, and putt putt on the grounds. There are also organized activities such as a welcome reception each week.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenner, Louisiana
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The studio apartment downstairs was located perfectly, right near the huge pool. My handicapped cousin was able to enjoy the views from the screened porch. I also own several units at this time share resort. Finding availability in Destin is tough in the summertime, that is why I bought a unit for week 26, which is typically the 4th of July week.
The resort offers an owners meeting, which is nice because they do not force time share sales upon you. The units are clean, and maintenance was very quick.
The best part of this property is it's huge beach with powdery, white sands and aqua clear waters.

Room Tip: All units are now non smoking. The studio units are best for a couple and maybe one small child to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed at the Holiday Beach Resort Phase II. We were there about six years ago and enjoyed the stay so decided to return. This is a RCI affiliated resort on the Gulf of Mexico. The beach is nice white sand with a very pretty ocean color( very tropical look to it). No lifegards on beach, so swim at your own risk. There is a beach patrol that drives by every now and then. There are chairs and umbrellas to rent. The resort has a nice boardwalk to get out to the beach.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Everyone from front desk to groundskeeper.
The grounds are well maintained. However, I would appreciated it more if they would have waited in the morning to start up the mower, edgers, blowers, etc. 8:30 am is too early to start that right outside your window at a resort. Maybe they should delay that noise till 10 am?

The unit is OK. The wifi is free and that is a plus. The furnishings are very worn and really need to be replaced. The inside is the exact same as it was the last time we were there six years ago and then it was showing signs of hard use. However, over the years, rails on chairs get broken, knobs on cabinets fall off, couch becomes a rock, etc. I dont go to a resort to watch tv, good thing. The main tv is a very old picture tube type and blurry to watch. With the cheap cost of flatscreens nowdays, there is no reason for this. The bedroom was a flatscreen, but the picture was just soso, fuzzy to watch. The kitchen appliances all worked, but were well worn. The fridge was missing a crisper bin and the door was roughed up on the outside, but it did work. The stove and dishwasher all worked, but again were well worn and showed it.
The bathrooms were OK, but could use some updating. Nothing special.
Overall cleanliness of the unit was OK upon check in. But the carpeting really needs to be replaced. The unit could use a deep cleaning. Build up of dust and dirt in corners. All the fake plants are dusty some with cobwebs.
Phase II is located behind Phase I and you must walk across parking lot, through Phase I to get to the beach. You have a nice view of the parking lot, with a little pocket view of the Gulf, but the balcony is nice sized and nice to sit out on.
Over all a nice quiet place to go. Nothing really posh, but OK.
Destin has a ton of chain restaurants. Just about anything you want. However, we love good seafood. Our favorite was the Back Porch, just down the road from us. It sat right on the beach. You could walk down the beach to it, if you wanted some exercise. We found the food there was prepared the best. Delicious shrimp, amberjack and mahi mahi. Enjoyed it so much we ate there two nights. The Destin Harbor area restaurants were soso in the food. They are more for the nightlife and bar scene.
There is shopping in Destin, the Destin Commons offer upscale stores and then there is the outlet mall.
So if you want a nice quiet place to relax and you are looking to use RCI points then this is a good place to go.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

This was a RCI timeshare resort. We stayed the last week of Nov - Dec 5, 2011. BEACH: There is a short walk to the beach which had beautiful white sands. The temp was 45 degree for at least 3 days we were there. The sand is so white that in out pictures, it looked like new fallen snow (we are from NY and PA). APARTMENT: The apt. could use some updating. We had problems with the front door and the inner door locks. The keys would not turn. We called the front desk and the Maint. Dept sent a person within 10 mins. We had a three bedroom apt. The master bedroom has it own large private bathroom, the second room had a queen size bed with a inside and outside connecting bathroom door. There is a very small room with a bunk bed for small children. The master bedroom has a flat screen TV with a VCR (that' right). The living TV did not get all cable channels but had the DVD player. Washer and dryer is in the apt. The sliding door in the living room to the terrace is screened in (bugs out, children stay in). There is a sliding door to the same terrace in the master bedroom. SHOPPING: This place is right off highway 98 and traveling to and from places was very easy. On 98 you find all of the stores- Walmart, Winn Dixie, Marshall's and The Malls. We Went to Destin Commons and to the Outlet stores. Both places were somewhat empty since this is a " warm weather beach town" and not a lot of people were there in Nov/Dec. We were actually able to drive through the Outlet Mall and park in front of the stores. Discounts were great- COACH =50% + another 30%. The sales person said if you like to shop, this is the best time to get great discounts. There is a multitude of Beach Attire Shops which were open. RESTAURANTS: Bubba Gump, Hooters, Osaka Japanese Restaurant, Ruth's Steak House. We went to Harbor Walk to eat at a restaurant and had the fried shrimps, onion rings and drinks. The fried food was very greasy. Should have gotten broil. TRAVEL: If you are coming from the east coast, the airport is Ft. Walton (VPS) located on the base of Elgin Air Force. There is a 30 minute taxi drive to the resort ($50). The cab driver said that Destin gets very busy during Spring Break. If you are coming on the US Airways- CRJ plane, you need to know that this is a small plane. Unless you have a small duffel bag, anything larger will not fit in the overhead.Your carry-on luggage will be checked at the plane (free). You have to walk out to the plane and up the portable stairs. September may be the best time to come, the water should still be warm. We might come back then. Overall we had a great time spending time with out of town relatives and friends.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floor to get a great unobstructed view of the sand and ocean. Sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We took our college age daughters for a week in July. You go to Destin for the beach and ocean and it doesn't get any prettier, uncrowded or beautiful than this! The property is pretty basic, but we went for the beach. We used the tennis courts and bought a couple of beach chairs and an umbrella at a store nearby (don't go to Walmart - crazier than any I've ever seen). They're also available to rent.

We loved getting fresh shrimp and lobster and using the grills provided next to the tennis courts. It is not a deluxe hotel, it's a relaxing vacation. We plan on returning sans daughters sometime soon!

Room Tip: Get a beachfront room if you can, but we didn't have one and still had a fantastic time. We don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Destin Holiday Beach Resort 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destin Holiday Beach Resort 2

Address: 1006-A Highway 98 East, PO Box 125, Destin, FL 32524
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Destin Holiday Beach Resort 2 Hotel Destin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Destin Holiday Beach Resort 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.