We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If hearing what is going on in the next room is your thing, this is your place.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Caribbean West

Save Saved
You added Grand Caribbean West to your Saves list
Grand Caribbean West
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Caribbean West
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   3191 Scenic Highway 98, Destin, FL 32541   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 58 Specialty lodging in Destin
Spring, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If hearing what is going on in the next room is your thing, this is your place.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed at a friend’s timeshare the first 3 days in Destin. Very nice. The next 3 days we had to find a place. We found Grand Caribbean very close to the 1st place and from the reviews on the place we decided to choose it. PEOPLE!! How on earth can you actually like this place. I have been in a more sound proof tent. We arrived early since our other place was only a couple blocks away. They said our room wasn’t ready yet because they were cleaning it. I think the maid cleaned while blind folded. Hair all over the room. In the kitchen, on the dining room table, on the floor, all over the bathroom. GROSS!. There was a layer of dirt all over the place. We were even charged $80.00 to have the room cleaned. Everyone has to pay this. They did a .25 cent job on our room.The refrigerator sounded like a diesel truck. Oh, and the rack inside the fridge was duct taped together. REALLY ???? The ice maker created one huge block of ice instead of cubes. The table and chairs must have been dug out of a trash dumpster. They were falling apart. There was no additional deadbolt on the door and you could see where the door had been kicked in before. The frame is busted. I wasn’t concerned although due to my CHL and hardware accordingly. I especially liked the extension cord and power strip strung across the wall to the TV. Nice touch. The photos on the home page are of a room other than what we stayed in. They would never put our room online. I guess they thought the beaches would compensate for the poor room. Not sure how it got 3 star rating either. Dont expect coffee or even shampoo. NEVER AGAIN.

Room Tip: If you read a good review it must be from someone that knows the owner or just doesnt have very high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

It was really spacious and we stayed for the weekend. From our second floor unit you could see the ocean. And it was a quick walk across the street to the beach. Also it was really close to restaurants, the water park, and night life! Overall a great steal!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

we stayed in unit #105, a lovely and comfortable condo with immediate access to pool and hot tub and just a few steps to the gorgeous, private beach. it was clean and newly remodeled with a washer/dryer and dishwasher, which is a great touch. we loved the fact that the condo is located on scenic highway 98, away from the hustle and bustle of the rest of destin, but is still very close to all amenities.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 105 which is great because it has a slightly larger back porch and has immediate a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011 via mobile

We stayed in Room 304 for a weekend trip & we didnt book this condo until about 2 weeks before at 1st I was a lil disappointed that we couldnt find a beachfront property in our price range but this condo is less than a min walk from the beach, it was clean & the owner was great to work with he was almost to good to be true lol!!! When we go back to Destin I would def stay here again!!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We recently stayed on a third floor unit. The complex is easily accessible to the beach (short walk, just a few minutes) and located near lots of restaurants and shopping. The unit was spacious and my children loved the bunk beds. My particular unit didn't offer free wi-fi and it was offered for an additional $35. We felt that this was too much. There is a pool but we didn't use it. There is a shower located near the pool for you to show off all your beach belongings. The only downside is the lack of an elevator to haul all your luggage up. There is plenty of parking. Also, there were lots of family and was quiet. For the price, it was a great value.

Room Tip: If you want a gulf view rent a third floor unit. If not, try and rent a first floor unit due to lack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

We just returned from a week stay at the Grand Caribbean West Condominiums in Destin, Florida at Crystal Beach. We stayed in condo #313, which was an excellent, updated unit that had all the comforts of home for our vacation. We had a great view of the ocean from the balcony and could also see the pool/spa and BBQ/picnic area which was nice with kids! I would recommend staying on the third or top floor as we did as it has the best view of the ocean. The condo is in the muli-miilion dollar property area of Destin so is very exclusive, yet is also close to all the great shopping and restaurants. The staff on site are really friendly and laid back and ready to help in any way they can.

The best part of the vacation was Crystal Beach - the condo was just a few steps away from the white sands and crystal clear blue water, and the condos have their own private, deeded access. Our kids found some unbeliveably pretty shells there and had a blast!

We would highly recommend the condo to anyone looking for a really nice place to stay, great view, steps from the beach and at a great price too!

  • Liked — Close to beach
  • Disliked — Would have liked an onsite fitness room
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2007

We just got back from our fun and relaxing trip to Destin. We had a fabulous week at Grand Caribbean West! Each unit at Grand Caribbean is privately owned so each unit is different. We always rent directly through owners and don't bother with management companies since it's cheaper.
This year we stayed in a first floor, end unit that was spotless and had everything we needed and for only $135 a night . That's cheap! A gulf view isn't that important to us especially if we have to hike up down 3 flights of stairs with all our stuff every day. The pool and grounds are really nice and we especially liked sitting on the covered patio and eating dinner, playing cards and having drinks. Sunset from our patio was amazing! The unit we stayed in, #111, had new everything it seemed like and it was nice. It was super clean and the bed was firm but comfortable. The only thing I found wrong was one blind wouldn't rotate open but we just raised it... no biggie.
The location of Grand Caribbean West can't be beat. It's close to everything. We rented bikes, went deep sea fishing, rented jet skis, shopped, grilled out a few nights and layed on the beach alot. Beaches in Destin are gorgeous. It's like the Bahamas! My boys especially liked the pool and hot tub. I was really happy to find a washer/dryer in the unit so I could wash all our stuff half way through our stay.
I highly recommend staying at Grand Caribbean West. We are already planning our vacation next year and plan to stay at the same unit.

  • Liked — The beach, the convenience, the homey feel.
  • Disliked — That we could'nt stay longer.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Caribbean West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Caribbean West

Address: 3191 Scenic Highway 98, Destin, FL 32541
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 58 Specialty lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Caribbean West 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Expedia, Agoda, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Grand Caribbean West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Caribbean West Hotel Destin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Caribbean West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.