We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   15000 Emerald Coast Parkway, Destin, FL 32541   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Destin
colesburg, ia.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I have stayed at Silver Shells the last 9 years. Some of the condos have been updated and are very nice. We always stay in the ST. Martin building. They are currently working on the outside of the building and this is a big inconvenience if you stay on the ground floor. I know it has to be done and it will be nice when finished, but we could not sit out and enjoy our patio. Thought they should have told us before we arrived and also discounted our unit accordingly. The unit I stayed in was nice just could use some new furniture to upgrade it. Overall Silver Shells has been a great place, big rooms, nice pool, and great beach. It's location is also nice, close to a lot of good eating,and Walmart,. Will probably stay there again next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    19
    9
    12
    17
See reviews for
58
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ypsilanti michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed at this unit, and I have to say it was fantastic, I read the one negative review this unit had, but was assured they were under a new management company, and what a difference. The unit is huge, three bedrooms and three baths and they were complete, clean and everything worked fine, The kitchen had everything I needed, all untensils worked, and it had a complete set of dishes, pans and everything else I needed, The living rooms was beautiful, seemingly professionally decorated, and the three TVs, and DVD players (HD and Blue Ray), all of which worked. You have a great pool, a hot tub and only have to walk out your back door to walk right to the Gulf on the other side of the pool. I expecially like the fact its on the first floor and ground level, and that was great for the kids. I would give this place five stars and wouild recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: This area has a good central location and a great selection of restaurants and shopping areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyrone, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were there as a group of 8 women. We stayed in condo 407 of St Maarten building. The condo was beautifully decorated. The beds were super comfortable. The furniture was very neat, comfortable and plenty of seating for everyone. The balcony had a beautiful view and plenty of furniture for everyone to sit. The kitchen was very stocked with everything we needed to cook for 3 days. The only thing we did end up buying extra was trash bags. Everyone felt totally spoiled. We had a wonderful time and plan to make this a yearly thing. Bobby at the front desk was so fun and helpful. Nothing bad I can say about this condo. We loved our stay and can't wait for next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

First impressions were great. Then we realized the refrigerator was not cooling after purchasing food for our stay. Also the lighting in kitchen had multiple bulbs that were out. Why didn’t housecleaning notice it was very dark in the kitchen? For the lighting above the stove, only one bulb was working. In order to have good lighting in the kitchen for cooking, etc, we had to have the dining rooms lights on.
We put in for a repair order, maintenance came and cleaned the coils on the bottom of the fridge; there was so much lint covering the coils. Maintenance didn’t have bulbs that evening to replace, so he stated he would be back at 9:30 the next morning. We waited for him and by lunch time, no maintenance and no bulbs. We weren’t comfortable him entering the condo without someone present, so by waiting for him, we passed up some time on the beach/pool. We had to call and request that maintenance service come back and change the bulbs at a later time. It took 2 days before we had bulbs for the kitchen, but the bulbs over the stove were never replaced. Considering we had a 4-day stay, why bother!
The beach had a LOT OF SEAWEEK that was at least one week old, (hard and black) all along the beach for their area. Talking to nearby guestS, they were told by Silver Shells that EPA didn’t allow the seaweed to be picked up off the beach. Upon walking down the beach, we witnessed two other condos picking up their seaweed. One had a pickup truck on the beach picking up seaweed, and the other condo had someone racking and placing it in a wagon/wheelbarrow. Why could they pick up the seaweed and Silver Shells could not? Every time we wanted to take a dip in the ocean, we had to walk through hard, black seaweed for the first five feet after we got out of our chairs. We expected/desired white sandy beach and all we got was black and dirty. There was also lots of trash, bottles, caps, wrappers mixed in the seaweed.
For the amount of money you pay for this condo (it's on the high end), it would seem that the maintenance of the condo and beach areas would be a top priority. I will NEVER STAY HERE, NOR RECOMMEND, the Silver Shells Resort. We were extremely dissatisfied. For the cost of this condo, we could have stayed elsewhere, with better features, for a LOT less money and an extra day or two. Upon checking out, we voiced our complaints to the Manager. She didn’t seem to be overly concerned, other than stating she would have her manager call us, and she verified a number for us to be reached at. Here we are a month later, and we NEVER GOT THE CALL.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisionaryDestin, General Manager at Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
I am concerned to hear of your unpleasant experience during your stay at Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa. I checked directly with the EPA and found that is against the policy for the natural preservation of the beach to remove any unwanted seaweed. At certain times of the year, the water temperature makes the seaweed a little less manageable unfortunately.

The other inopportune encounters you had regarding your unit are definitely not something we take lightly. Please be assured that I have contact all department heads in order to rectify any future incidents.

Again, thank you for your feedback and I apologize profusely that we were not able to exceed your vacation expectations. Please give Visionary Destin the opportunity to host your family on your next family vacation to Silver Shells Beach Resort and Spa; we are currently running fantastic specials offering free nights and value added packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Me my wife and 2 sons stayed in St Croix building Unit 1205. The view was outstanding from this unit as you are right in the middle of the building but that was about it. The pool was nice but populated with all kinds of characters that made us feel unsafe because of the way they ware presenting themselves ( poor language, excessive consume of alcoholic beverages ) and it was no security guard unless it was 10:00 pm and he was there to kick you out. After the first day we skipped the pool and stayed at the beach more, we reserved our condo through their reservation center so we had the beach chairs included, witch was nice as well but they ware only available until 5:00 pm, after that the chair Nazi would just take the chair from under you.
Well all good until it comes to the condo. Our unit was 2 bed 2 bath and we paid 1800 for 6 nights and it should have been in better shape for that money, instead it was average at best, not very clean, smelled like mold, the sheets ware not changed before our arrival, area rugs ware damp and filed with sand, couch was dirty and had some stains, ( they did give us a vacuum and told us we can use it ,kind of a slap in the face) the hole unit seamed dated and old. Overall we could have probably stayed somewhere else, payed less money and have better experience. Will probably not come back.

Room Tip: This unit is good for the view but the owner has to make some improvements or charge less money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisionaryDestin, General Manager at Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
I am disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations while staying at Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa. The examples you provided do not reflect the high standards that we have strived to achieve over the many years of service in the hospitality industry. I have shared your concerns with the respective departments in order to prevent this situation from occurring in the future.

Again, thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. I hope we have the opportunity of hosting you again at the Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa.

Sincerely,
David Hess
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

We are a family of 5 with kids ranging in age 13, 12, 9. The room, grounds, location, and beach are nothing short of gorgeous. The lobby, elevator, and rooms are kept immaculate. Even with the parade of beach goers traipsing through with sand and water, the inside is always kept spotless.

The Sand Bar is ideal for a cocktail on the beach or a quick lunch (the mahi sandwich is my favorite along with a Grey Goose Blue Ocean).

The only negatives (hence the 4 stars for value) is the price of beach chairs. They charge $20 per chair per day and you're not allowed a personal umbrella. You have to rent that as well. seems a little excessive although the aesthetic aspect of matching chairs and umbrellas look better than a hodge-podge of beach furniture.

Overall, this is our second trip to Silver Shells and we hope to make it a yearly trip as the beauty and luxury is tops.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisionaryDestin, General Manager at Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback on your recent family vacation to Silver Shells Beach Resort and Spa. We are thrilled to know that the property including all amenities and the grounds exceeded your expectations.

Visionary Destin is the onsite property management company at Silver Shells and renting a Destin vacation through us includes a complimentary beach set up (2 chairs and umbrella) per day as well as more other perks and benefits.

Again, thank you for your glowing review and please give Visionary Destin the opportunity to host your family on your next family vacation to Silver Shells Beach Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My family stayed in silver shells this July 4th week. When we arrived after the check in time the housekeeping were still cleaning our room and told us we had to wait an hour before they would be finished. Not to mention, they had 2 of there children in the room sitting on the sofa. So apparently we pay for babysitting instead of cleaning. I called to complain and was told that it was the buisiest time of year so they don't guarantee that you are actually able to get in your room at check in time. On top of that our chair had ripped fabric and a closet door had came off its track and they just layed it up against the wall. I didn't think the room was dirty, but it certainly still needed to be dusted and vaccumed. Also, They close the pool down every night at 10:00 p.m. I think that is ridiculous. The only staff that you saw were maids and the security that kick you out of the pool. I think this condo has potential to be a great place if it was managed correctly. It wasn't the worst place I have stayed at, but next year if I have to pay that much for a condo I want to be wowed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisionaryDestin, General Manager at Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your feedback from your recent 4th of July family vacation. I regret to see that you encountered some unfortunate circumstances while you were here. It seems as if you rented from an outside property management company as Visionary Destin is the onsite rental company at Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa. We do not practice any of the management styles that you mentioned and I assure you that not of these occurrences would have happened had you rented through Visionary Destin.

We find that being located onsite that we are able to provide our guests with a fabulous vacation complete with deluxe accommodations, prompt and accurate reservations and 5 diamond service up until the time of check out. Again, thank you for your feedback and please give Visionary Destin the opportunity to host your family on your next family vacation to Silver Shells Beach Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 15000 Emerald Coast Parkway, Destin, FL 32541
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Destin
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Shells Beach Resort and Spa features the best in luxury Destin vacation rentals and accommodations. Enjoy luxury and elegance in our spacious gulf front one- to four- bedroom Destin, Florida vacation rentals. Our resort vacation rental amenities offer fully equipped kitchens, washer and dryer, extra linens and a serene view of the Gulf waters from your own private balcony and much more. All four vacation rental towers offer guests private parking, exclusive outdoor pool and hot tub with beach access for endless opportunities of peaceful relaxation or adventure. Visit Sunrise Beach Services for your complimentary beach chair and umbrella or see a list of all the fun offered water sports and excursions. You may also enjoy the center piece of our resort, a 7,500 square foot lagoon pool with waterfall and whirlpool where you may enjoy your favorite drink or snack from our Sandbar Restaurant and Beachside Bar. As an exclusive guest at Silver Shells Beach Resort and Spa, you may also enjoy a variety of our vacation rental amenities. Savor a delicious meal at the famous Ruth’s Chris Steak House, escape to the luxurious The Spa at Silver Shells full service spa and fitness center, or play a game of tennis or basketball on our private courts. Centrally located among Destin’s premier shops, nightlife, dinning, and Destin area attractions there is something for everyone wishing to get away from it all. Silver Shells Beach Resort and Spa vacation rentals offer an experience as relaxing or as invigorating as you desire in beautiful Destin, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Shells Beach Hotel Destin
Silver Shells Beach Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.