We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we paid for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   15000 Emerald Coast Parkway, Destin, FL 32541   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not what we paid for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My family stayed in silver shells this July 4th week. When we arrived after the check in time the housekeeping were still cleaning our room and told us we had to wait an hour before they would be finished. Not to mention, they had 2 of there children in the room sitting on the sofa. So apparently we pay for babysitting instead of cleaning. I called to complain and was told that it was the buisiest time of year so they don't guarantee that you are actually able to get in your room at check in time. On top of that our chair had ripped fabric and a closet door had came off its track and they just layed it up against the wall. I didn't think the room was dirty, but it certainly still needed to be dusted and vaccumed. Also, They close the pool down every night at 10:00 p.m. I think that is ridiculous. The only staff that you saw were maids and the security that kick you out of the pool. I think this condo has potential to be a great place if it was managed correctly. It wasn't the worst place I have stayed at, but next year if I have to pay that much for a condo I want to be wowed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisionaryDestin, General Manager at Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your feedback from your recent 4th of July family vacation. I regret to see that you encountered some unfortunate circumstances while you were here. It seems as if you rented from an outside property management company as Visionary Destin is the onsite rental company at Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa. We do not practice any of the management styles that you mentioned and I assure you that not of these occurrences would have happened had you rented through Visionary Destin.

We find that being located onsite that we are able to provide our guests with a fabulous vacation complete with deluxe accommodations, prompt and accurate reservations and 5 diamond service up until the time of check out. Again, thank you for your feedback and please give Visionary Destin the opportunity to host your family on your next family vacation to Silver Shells Beach Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    19
    8
    12
    17
See reviews for
58
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

St. Maarten building is good because closest to beach and has elevator direct to room. Suggest renting from owners (VRBO) as they tend to keep units up to date.
The pool is huge and nice.
The beach and water are very nice.
The fitness centers, tennis and basketball are nice.
The location is good as close to Big Kahuna and restuarants.
But prepare for lots of traffic...

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisionaryDestin, General Manager at Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We strive to exceed all vacationers' expectations and are thrilled to know that you enjoyed the resort facilities and amenities including the beach, pool and the entertainment and restaurants located conveniently nearby.

Visionary Destin is the current leader in vacation rentals at Silver Shells Beach Resort and Spa. We find that being located onsite that we are able to provide our guests with a fabulous vacation complete with deluxe accommodations, prompt and accurate reservations and 5 diamond service up until the time of check out. We require high standards of excellence in our unit conditions and quality furnishings with all of the comforts of home.

Renting through Visionary Destin on your return visit will guarantee you complete access to all resort areas including a complimentary beach set up per day. Again, thank you for your feedback and please give Visionary Destin the opportunity to host your family on your next family vacation to Silver Shells Beach Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

reservation made for a 3 br/3ba condo. and all other arrangements are made including air transportation for our out of town families. Josette Olson, the Reservation Manager, informed me that my reservation has been cancelled "due to software error" a day later. first time trying Silver Shells and resulted with a big disappointment.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisionaryDestin, General Manager at Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for the information you provided regarding your recent experience with an outside property management company.

Visionary Destin is the current leader in vacation rentals at Silver Shells Beach Resort and Spa and we do not have an employee by the name you mentioned. We find that being located onsite that we are able to provide any and all guests with a memorable vacation complete with deluxe accommodations, prompt and accurate reservations and 5 diamond service up until the time of check out.

Again, thank you for your feedback and please give Visionary Destin the opportunity to host your family on your next family vacation to Silver Shells Beach Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My family and I have been going here for 8 years and the past three years the quality of the condos has declined. This year was the worst. We were there the week after July 4th. I will post pictures to back up what I'm saying. The condo was dirty. The doors to the washer/dryer were missing (we later found them in the closet). The vertical blinds in two of the rooms had many blinds missing. (we found the broken blinds in the same closet as the doors) Two of the bathrooms had wallpaper peeling. One of the bathrooms had the shower curtain rod held up with a folded bath towel. The ugly, old sofa was ripped. One of the showers was moldy looking. Beds were SO uncomfortable. Terrible experience and to top it off we had an employee, Yen Li to talk to us like dogs. We had a Screamfest with her and "she no care if we turn her in". She needs to be fired for talking like the way she talked o people who paid $3300 for 5 nights. We have already secured a different place for next year. Worst week of vacation ever.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisionaryDestin, General Manager at Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Please let me begin by apologizing for any and all mishaps that occurred during your stay at Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa. We strive to excel in our customer service and guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us. I find it unfortunate that we were unable to remedy the situations to your liking despite our numerous attempts while you were at the resort. Also, please know that your encounter with the cleaner was taken seriously and has been addressed with the homeowners association that actually employees her.

David Hess
General Manager

The Management Team at Visionary Destin has spoken with this guest and come to a satisfactory resolution. We hope they will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

My family and I have been staying at the Silver Shells resort for 8 years. Last year was the beginning of the end when new management took over. We decided to give it one more chance, but decided that this would be our last stay at Silver Shells!

We stayed in St. Croix 1101. Let me just run down the list of problems... The balcony door in the living room would not close all the way, nor would it lock, the other 3 balcony doors would not open or unlock, the fridge never cooled so our food ruined, the showers were molded and disgusting, a wet towel was used to hold up the shower curtain rod in the 2nd bath, the wallpaper was torn and peeling off throughout the condo, the 80's style vertical blinds were missing (so we were awakened by the sun at 5 every morning and people could see directly into our condo), the couch was dirty, broken and had a huge tear, the floors were so dirty that our feet were black, there were NO mirrors except for in the bathrooms, the hall shower door was broken, the laundry door was missing, there were NO rugs in the unit, the walls were dirty with black scuffs all over, the carpet in the bedrooms was filthy and full of sand, the balcony table was so big that it touched the railing and wall so no one could even sit at it, the beds felt and sounded like they were made of hay, the coffee pot did not work, the fridge handle was brown and yellow (needed to be replaced for sure), the kitchen light fixture was coming off and hanging from ceiling, the decor was disgusting and well outdated, the box style tv did not work and the unit closets were full of trash.

When we went to complain to the management staff, we were laughed at and treated with total disrespect! There is no maintenance staff after hours, so they sent the IT man to try and repair the balcony doors! One of the cleaning ladies even yelled at us and told us she didn't care if we didn't come back next year!

The beach is amazing and the location is primo. It's a shame that such a lovely place has such a terrible staff who clearly doesnt care about the facilities or the customers.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisionaryDestin, General Manager at Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
I am disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations while staying at Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa. The examples you provided do not reflect the high standards that we have strived to achieve over the many years of service in the hospitality industry. I have shared your concerns with the respective departments in order to prevent this situation from occurring in the future.

However, it is my understanding that many of the concerns you mentioned were fixed and/or repaired during your stay as well being compensated for all of your inconveniences. I regret that we did not provide you with the utmost enjoyable experience during your stay at Silver Shells Beach Resort and Spa and I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your concerns further. I may be reached at 850-337-5153.

Sincerely,

David Hess
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LR
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had a 3 bedroom condo (#303) on the 3rd floor of St. Maarten in June of 2012. The condo was dirty, showers were moldy, carpet VERY icky. The main problem was dealing with off-site management. We arrived around noon but we were not allowed to pick up the key until check in time (4:00) but the room wasn't ready until 5:30 so we had to sit in the lobby waiting. The grounds, pool, beach, etc. are beautiful but we couldn't access anything without a key! The best part of the complex is the Back Porch Restaurant...ate there several times and enjoyed everything!

Room Tip: If you stay on a lower floor you can throw towels, keys, etc. over the balcony so you don't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisionaryDestin, General Manager at Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for the information you provided regarding your recent experience with an outside property management company.

Visionary Destin is the current leader in vacation rentals at Silver Shells Beach Resort and Spa. We find that being located onsite that we are able to provide our guests with a fabulous vacation complete with deluxe accommodations, prompt and accurate reservations and 5 diamond service up until the time of check out. When you rent directly from an owner you don’t have the on-site maintenance, housekeeping and front desk service staff to assist you when you rent direct.

We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed the resort amenities including the beach, pool and nearby restaurants. Renting through Visionary Destin on your return visit will guarantee you complete access to all resort areas including a complimentary beach set up per day.

Again, thank you for your feedback and please give Visionary Destin the opportunity to host your family on your next family vacation to Silver Shells Beach Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This was our 2nd time to stay at st Maarten. Three years ago, we loved everything about Silver Shells. This time we were very dissappointed. Our condo was Dirty, with several appliances not working and just a general decline. But the facilities are 11 years old now, si i guess thats to be expected. The mold in all of the showers was too much for me! We will be looking for different acommendations next time!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 15000 Emerald Coast Parkway, Destin, FL 32541
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Destin
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Shells Beach Resort and Spa features the best in luxury Destin vacation rentals and accommodations. Enjoy luxury and elegance in our spacious gulf front one- to four- bedroom Destin, Florida vacation rentals. Our resort vacation rental amenities offer fully equipped kitchens, washer and dryer, extra linens and a serene view of the Gulf waters from your own private balcony and much more. All four vacation rental towers offer guests private parking, exclusive outdoor pool and hot tub with beach access for endless opportunities of peaceful relaxation or adventure. Visit Sunrise Beach Services for your complimentary beach chair and umbrella or see a list of all the fun offered water sports and excursions. You may also enjoy the center piece of our resort, a 7,500 square foot lagoon pool with waterfall and whirlpool where you may enjoy your favorite drink or snack from our Sandbar Restaurant and Beachside Bar. As an exclusive guest at Silver Shells Beach Resort and Spa, you may also enjoy a variety of our vacation rental amenities. Savor a delicious meal at the famous Ruth’s Chris Steak House, escape to the luxurious The Spa at Silver Shells full service spa and fitness center, or play a game of tennis or basketball on our private courts. Centrally located among Destin’s premier shops, nightlife, dinning, and Destin area attractions there is something for everyone wishing to get away from it all. Silver Shells Beach Resort and Spa vacation rentals offer an experience as relaxing or as invigorating as you desire in beautiful Destin, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Shells Beach Hotel Destin
Silver Shells Beach Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Shells Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.