We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Star Dolphin Cruise

Southern Star Dolphin Cruise
100 Harbor Blvd, Harborwalk Marina, Destin, FL 32541
850-837-7741
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 127 Activities in Destin
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Expect a Miracle aboard Southern Star! Enjoy a relaxing 2 hour tour aboard Destin’s Original Dolphin Cruise, as seen on National Geographic Explorer and CNN Earthwatch. Join us as we cruise the pristine waters, along the sugar-white sand beaches of the Emerald Coast. Witness the Coastal Bottlenose Dolphin in their natural habitat. Family owned and operated by Captain Steve and Wendy Wilson for 15 years, our 80’ Glass Bottom Boat is all about family fun! With over 7,000 dolphin sightings, you are sure to see something extraordinary.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have took my 2 children on this cruise twice and they beg to go back. It's very family friendly! They let all of the kids drive the boat and there were dolphins everywhere. I would definitely recommend Southern Star!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy_W_Admin, Manager at Southern Star Dolphin Cruise, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We love hearing how much fun our guests had aboard our cruises. We are so glad you and your family enjoyed our cruise. It is always a joy to hear that your two children had such a wonderful time. We can't wait to have you cruise again with us. Come back and have some more fun with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    33
    17
    4
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Trip is excellent, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I'm only thirteen and I thought the trip was very interesting. I got to take my sisters to the well house and they got fake tattoos and met captin Chandler. He was very informative over the speakers and seemed very nice. The staff was attendant and the food in the galley was decent and filling. overall I loved the trip and would do it again

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy_W_Admin, Manager at Southern Star Dolphin Cruise, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate you taking the time to share your review. We love hearing how much fun our guests had aboard our cruises. Glad to hear that you and your sister had a great time on the cruise. Hope to see you aboard again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience, amazing staff!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We went on the 9 a.m. cruise and enjoyed ourselves. It can be hard to find so get directions before driving over. This was our 3rd time doing this and each time has been great. We got to see lots of dolphin, learn about the area and the kids got to take turns steering. The staff are knowledgeable and very friendly! The people jet skiing scared off a few dolphin but our captain was patient and we were able to see more.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“See Dolphins and Spend 2 Hours on a Boat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Date of Visit: Monday July 1, 2013
Pros: See dolphins, go out to Gulf, 2 hrs Long
Cons: Not enough time in gulf, hard to find

We came to this cruise based on TA reviews and a recommendation from the visitor center in Navarre. It is located in Destin’s Harborwalk in a little red building down by the marina. The cost is $29 but if you get a coupon from a guide book you get $2 off. The staff and crew are very nice, but it’s hard to find the boat (head toward Margaritaville restaurant and turn left just before it). It would be nice if they put up a sign or something. Anyway, there was a decent crowd of people for the 6 pm cruise. We left on time and went around the bay a bit before heading into the Gulf. This was the best part but we didn’t stay out too long as it was a bit rough and a couple passengers got seasick. We saw a big pod of dolphins, and a baby too, and all were very active. They followed us and another boat around for quite some time, splashing and playing. When we went back into the bay we got to see their pirate ship and other sailboats as well as parasailers. The sunset was pretty, and the music, when it played, was tropical and upbeat. Overall a great cruise! Oh, and the kids get to steer, and there are snacks and bathrooms on board if you need them.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy_W_Admin, Manager at Southern Star Dolphin Cruise, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Thanks for taking the time to post your experience with us here. We are so glad you enjoyed our cruise. We look forward to having you cruise with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylva, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It was a better thrill ride than a Dolphin Exploration.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The ride was very exciting. The wind going blowing, the ocean right there, just the ride was amazing! The dolphin part though, I wasn't very happy about. You can barely see any! The "glass bottom" is VERY misleading. All it is, is just a couple pieces of glass that you can't even see out of! But overall, I would rate this attraction with a 3 Star rating.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Star Dolphin Cruise also viewed

 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Southern Star Dolphin Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Star Dolphin Cruise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.