We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to Gulfgate - We really liked it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Destin Gulfgate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Destin Gulfgate
Save Saved
You added Destin Gulfgate to your Saves list
1180 Scenic Highway 98, Destin, FL 32541   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“First trip to Gulfgate - We really liked it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was a great condo location and the condo itself felt like home away from home. The staff was helpful and friendly (even though our lunch was snatched by a staff member from the condo refrigerator during the 5 minutes of us checking out). I was really impressed with the condo condition and furnishings; it was well stocked with the necessities. I even whipped up some waffles using all their kitchen wares without missing a beat. These condos feel big and roomy. The beach is very convenient.

It's a medium-sized complex so you won't have the beachfront amenities of a mega-plex like on-the-spot waverunner rentals etc. Just drive a couple of miles towards the city and rent them there for less and drive them up the coast on the water to the condo beach. The smaller size provides a less crowded beach which we preferred.

The fitness center was a nice amenity, it provides the basics. We never got in the pool.

Garage parking isn't a big deal, everything is close together.

Boogieboard advice: Destin has VERY small waves, except during inclement or windy weather but even then they are still pretty small and difficult to ride with a boogieboard unless you’re a young kid like 14 or under. If you’re going to try to boogieboard and you’re over 100 lbs, do yourself a favor and DON’T buy the cheap foam boards at the local souvenir shop (i.e. $14.99). If there is any weight on them, with the slightest pressure, they crack and are a lot less useful afterwards. If you plan to go to the beach often and have the room in your car, get yourself a real board, usually $50 which holds up and performs its job well over many vacations.

Room Tip: We stayed at 402 and after 4 days we have no reason to stay anywhere else. If you are into super qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
53
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

This was our families first stay at Destin Gulfgate and we fell in love with the place. We all agree we want to make a return visit. The condo was nicely appointed and roomy for us. The close proximity to the clean beach with the complimentary beach umbrella and two chaise loungers was such a nice amenity. Our only disappointment was that the water was not the normal Destin clear blue. :( We are guessing weather conditions played a part in that. The wonderful white sand did not disappoint. Thanks Destin Gulfgate for a great stay! ☀

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We love Destin Gulfgate and always stay here when visiting Destin. This time we rented two condos and brought our children/grandchildren. For two of the 6 days while there, extremely loud construction began in the condo above us at 10 a.m. until late afternoon. This made it extremely difficult to get a four year old to take a nap. Also it was impossible to hear the TV or have a conversation. This is our only complaint, every thing else was great as always. The beach attendant was great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was my first year at Destin. I cannot say enough good things about this condo. Super friendly staff. Check in was 3pm, but when we arrived at 11am, the room was available for us to check in. Beach front balcony view for ALL rooms. This condo has the beach location of all condos in Destin. No streets to cross, no buildings to go thru. You go down the elevator, and there is the beach. Another big perk of this condo is the free beach setup for all rooms. The gentleman who sets up the umbrella and chair is super nice too! He offered to blow up our float when we asked if he had an air pump (which he didnt). Some rooms have covered parking, some dont. Not a biggie. I love love LOVE this condo!! I will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Unit 805. Absolutely beautiful!! The view, the rooms, and the decor were all very tasteful. The staff are extremely accommodating, but I have to say that Jesse was our favorite!! It is so refreshing to see our younger generation at its best, he was up with the sun, prepping the beach, cleaning the seaweed, setting all the chairs, umbrellas and any special accommodations asked, so if you come to the beach early everything is ready. He is quick and efficient, and very polite. My husband who is somewhat "cheap" was adamant that he deserves generous gratuity for all his hard work. To say the least Jesse is Amazing!! The location of the condos are perfect for families, wal-mart, gas stations, and themed parks are all within a couple miles of the condo. The beach is beautiful, the chairs and umbrellas were a great addition, and some evenings we sat on our balcony and watched many dolphins playing. If you forget anything one day, rest assure that it will be waiting for you the next, it is unspoken honesty that everyone shares. The pool is a perfect temperature and large enough to where it never seemed too crowded. We already reserved a unit for next year. Thank you Destin Gulfgate and staff, we have never been so happy with our vacation!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, MS
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My family stayed at the Destin Gulfgate during summer 2010 (it wont give me that option on my review page so i had to enter a different date). We shared a condo with my sister in law and her family (total of 4 adults and 5 children). The condo was spacious enough for our families, and it is located on the beach. One of the two bedrooms has a door to the balcony. We could see "The Track" from our condo parking lot, which was nice since it was on our list of places to go. Also, we were in walking distance of The Back Porch, one of my fave places to eat. My husband and i were able to walk along the beach down to the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was our second time staying here, and our 11th time visiting Destin. This is really the best place to stay - right on the water, good sized and clean condos, and convenient to the various things to do in the Destin area. The four of us were very comfortable and had a great stay. The only concern was that apparently there are new staff working at the front desk, and our key wasn't waiting for us in the lockbox. We had to make several calls and wait 1.5 hours before someone arrived and checked us in. Probably best to call right before your stay and make sure they know when you will be arriving...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Destin Gulfgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destin Gulfgate

Address: 1180 Scenic Highway 98, Destin, FL 32541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Destin Gulfgate Hotel Destin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Destin Gulfgate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.