We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dewey Destin Seafood

Dewey Destin Seafood
9 Calhoun Avenue, Destin, FL
850-837-7575
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 246 Restaurants in Destin
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
O Fallon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We had to wait a little over an hour but that was expected after calling ahead and reading previous TA reviews. The addition of drinks and appetizers while you waited helped to pass the time. You have to try the smoked tuna dip!! Once inside the service was great and the food was worth the wait.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    548
    302
    157
    75
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We loved this little place so much. The atmosphere and view is amazing and the food was delicious. A hidden gem in Destin!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finz2right
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One o' the best if not the best in destin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We have missed Dewey the last few trips because of the crowd and long wait. I am regretting not braving the line in trips past. The food was great. The big difference was the advice from Gabby, our server. She was absolutely spot on in recommending exactly the right late lunch/early dinner to all of us rookies. We have not enjoyed this level of service anywhere in Destin this trip during the peak of tourist season. Ask for Gabby, she won't steer you wrong.
Thanks again Gabby and Dewey Destin's...you have made this family's "don't miss list"!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Shrimp Yet Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The fish and shrimp tasted very good but they don't give you much. I was expecting a plate full of shrimp, only got four and about three or four fish stick looking things. Ridiculous! Our bill, for four people was over $90. Heard the food is good but we won't go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The Original @ Crab Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Pick your time to arrive, or have something to help you pass some time. But...it's worth the wait. The friendliest restaurant in Destin. They have the formula down, and it works! Great food, friendly, patient employees. Even their carry out food is great.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dewey Destin Seafood also viewed

 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Dewey Destin Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dewey Destin Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.