We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harbour side dining with flash frozen food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dewey Destin Seafood

Dewey Destin Seafood
9 Calhoun Avenue, Destin, FL
850-837-7575
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 237 restaurants in Destin
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Harbour side dining with flash frozen food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Was visiting family, who took me here. Everything we asked about we were told was flash frozen! We ordered grouper, shrimp and Mahi Mahi. The Mahi Mahi was crusted with parmesan, which tasted extremely salty. It also was very thin. Shrimp was on small size, but was made up with the amount you received. Wasn't impressed with food quality.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    468
    265
    133
    68
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Very Casual, Good Food, Great Sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We dined at the Calhoun location overlooking the bay. It's a hidden restaurant/dock down a "shady" gravel drive. The atmosphere is VERY casual, mostly outdoor seating consisting of small picnic tables covered w/umbrellas. You order "inside" at the counter and someone brings your food to you by calling out your name. (You find your own seating so have someone secure your spot while another in your party orders.) ;) The woman who took our order was helpful in suggesting what to order but seemed in a hurry and wasnt the friendliest. The food was "good". We had the crab stuffed fried shrimp wrapped in bacon as well as grilled shrimp. The cole slaw was good but the hush puppies were out of this world! I didn't care for the plain new potatoes but our chidren liked the fries. They didn't seem to be anything out of the ordinary. The sunset was beautiful over the water and made for a wonderful close to our dinner. The sea gulls were a bit aggressive once and dove down to the table next to us as they were leaving. You could always sit inside if this bothers you but the seating is limited (maybe 6 tables)? Also, regarding the restroom, its toward the front of the dock as you enter. It's outside, not inside where you order at the counter. There is one stall/restroom for women and one for men. If its raining, this is not the location you want to choose. ;)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This resturant is located on the Harbor along with numerous others. I suppose you think if a resturant is right on the water that it is bound to be good. And with the prices you expect it to be good. Not the case. I order the fried oyster plate. If I had ordered this at the Sonic drive-in, it would have been about what I expected. Nothing seemed to be really fresh at all. The fries were right out of an Or-Ida bag. Really expensive for what you get.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Local restaurant with delish fried food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Small place that is more delicious than you would initially think at first walking in. A ton of seagulls outside that will occasionally trash dive but other than that this is a good lunch spot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunwoody, Ga.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Seafood was wonderful and the atmosphere and view great on upper back deck.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Four of us each had different entrees. All were excellent as were the desserts. Dining on the upstairs rear deck was great. Had a good WWII airplane show which takes place each Thursday night I am told. Great place to dine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dewey Destin Seafood also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Dewey Destin Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dewey Destin Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.