We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dewey Destin Seafood

Dewey Destin Seafood
9 Calhoun Avenue, Destin, FL
850-837-7575
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 236 restaurants in Destin
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Franklin, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great food. My son had the shrimp and fish and my husband had the scallops. Both were excellent. I ordered the chicken sandwich and asked for it to be blackened. Delicious! Hushpuppies were the best I've ever ate.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    466
    265
    133
    68
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh from the sea to your plate on dock from the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had the freshly caught Trigger fish and Tuna and both were the best we've had. Due to Health reasons we eat alot of fish. Gail, our server was outstanding, knew the fish and steered us in the right direction. This Is the Original Dewey's at Crab Island. Great relaxed atmosphere watch the fresh fish come in while you eat. Don't let the entrance scare you away because you will miss some of the best fish you have ever had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The food at Dewey Destin was the best we have had on this trip. The seafood is fresh and delicious. We went at sunset and it was beautiful. Seating is 1st come 1st serve so have someone look for a table while someone else gets in line to order.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great, Simple Old Fashion Seafood Shack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Dewey Destin Seafood and Restaurant, on the bayside (Crab Island), is the ultimate fish shack. Orders are taken at a side window for take out or literally in a shack. There is nothing fancy about the place. You order and pay, they bring it to your table, and that's the limit to the service. The rest is get it yourself. Old wooded picnic tables are outside. Some are adjacent to the shack and covered, but many are on a pier that juts out into the bay. It doesn't matter where you sit; you will have some of the best simple seafood you've ever eaten. Regardless the your choice of food or the method it's prepared, you will be delighted with the meal. The sides are nice, but they are not the point when you're at Dewey's. So wind your way off Calhoun Avenue and be ready for a true gulf coast old-style eating experience that you'll love.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great for the steamed shrimp and a cold beer.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Always a must go in destin for reasonable priced steamed Shrimp and Beer. And the view of crab island and the bridge - harbor is great. A good family stop when in destin. Don't be detoured by the location which can be a little off the beaten path.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dewey Destin Seafood also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Dewey Destin Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dewey Destin Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.