We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, Fresh, Local, Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dewey Destin Seafood

Dewey Destin Seafood
9 Calhoun Avenue, Destin, FL
850-837-7575
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 256 Restaurants in Destin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
ABQ, NM
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Simple, Fresh, Local, Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Good food in a relaxed atmosphere with good locations. We ate at the harborside because the original location closes at sunset. The food comes quickly and as it is cooked. I had seafood gumbo and seafood alfredo while my date had deep fried bacon wrapped crab stuffed shrimp... Both were exceptionally good, but I think her entree would have been even better as the steamed version. Stay on the fresh and catch of the day menu if you want local (makes perfect sense to me). It isn't a steal price wise, but the quality backs it up. Will be returning.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    595
    328
    168
    77
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Good and the Bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Seafood was delicious; the fried shrimp light and sweet tasting, very fresh, parmesan grouper was yummy as well. The service from Todd was amazing! Warm, friendly, and attentive, recommended the specials and some good choices. Three little disappointments corn over cooked and one item missing was bread or even a roll; that would have been the perfect addition to the meal and finally the pineapple martini left us flat and wondering if they forgot the vodka. However, I would absolutely go back. The portions were very good, and from what we could see from the other guests plates, they were consistent for the various choices. The view is lovely on the water.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole, uk
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic informal but beautiful location, fresh seafood at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have been returning to Deweys for 4 years now and we are never disappointed. The location is stunning- we nearly always see a pod or two of dolphins swimming near Crab Island whilst eating lunch. The food is always fresh as can be. Don't expect frills, just simple food well cooked.The food will turn up when its cooked so don't expect all your meals to turn up together! We don't go for deep-fried stuff, we usually choose the steamed shrimp or a grilled catch of the day basket and it tastes EXCELLENT. Staff are always fun and friendly. About $20 a head.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington,Ky
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Good as Always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have been here several times in the past, and returned on this vacation. I had the smoked tuna dip and my husband had a fish sandwich. It's good, simple food eaten outside in a very relaxed atmosphere on the water. We will return again in the future.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Bayside Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place ranks right up there with the other great eating establishments in this area. It has the advantage of being in a funky old building right on the bay. Great view for watching sunsets. Kinda hard to find but worth the effort. I found this place by asking the curator of the local fishing museum where the locals go to eat in town. Always a great way to find good food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dewey Destin Seafood also viewed

 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Dewey Destin Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dewey Destin Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.