We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and beach access.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Huntington by the Sea

Save Saved
You added Huntington by the Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Huntington by the Sea
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   140 Monaco St, Destin, FL 32550   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 58 Specialty lodging in Destin
Hattiesburg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location and beach access.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

We have stayed here 3 times in the last 5 years. We love the location and the fact that all condos face the ocean and there are only 4 floors (not a high rise). This time we rented 3 condos. They were not clean, the bathrooms looked like no one had cleaned them, floors were dirty and carpets needed cleaning badly. The bedding and towels were fine. We complained to management and they said they could have the man who cleans for them come do some cleaning for us the day after we moved in. We declined because there were several small children and it just was not convenient. It has never been like this before. If I recommended this to anyone I would tell them about the "clean" issue. The grounds are pretty and pool clean and it is right on the beach!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    5
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West,
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Huntington by the Sea in Destin offers wonderful amenities at an affordable price for a family of four. We have children ages 11 and 7 and enjoyed every moment of our stay. This condo is not directly in the hustle-and-bustle of downtown Destin, which affords the opportunity to have peace and quiet, but close enough to visit for good food and shopping.
We spent hours on the white beach and in the crystal clear water looking for shells and fish. At night, we sat on the balcony and watched the kids play in the pool or on the beach.
We asked our kids this year where they would like to go for our summer vacation and they unanimously decided "Back to Huntington by the Sea!". We've already booked... ;)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole, uk
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

Stayed on ground (1st) floor room. We were Initially disappointed as we wanted a view of the gorgeous sandy beach from room but as we had doors opening onto garden and were near pool area it actually felt like it we had a bit more space and it would be good for small children to run out on the grass. Accommodation comfortable but no safe in our room and no hairdryer which is unusual. Service was excellent though and staff very friendly. Pool not heated this time of year so too cold to swim. Company we booked it through said it was free Wi-fi but it actually costed $50 for Wi-fi so that made me a bit cross. Good laundry facilities. Overall great location right on the beach and good value but would prefer safe in room.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We stayed in # 407--it was really incredible. Huntington is a small 5-story condo complex with maybe 35 units. The private white sugar sand beach is just a few yards away--it was so much less crowded than the public beaches in Destin proper, and there was no road to cross to get there. We could enjoy the gulf from the balcony, and keep an eye on our teenagers down on the beach. There is also a beachside pool. The unit is simple, 2 bed 2 bath, but comfortable. The kitchen is generously equipped. There is no washer/dryer in the unit, but there is one on site. All the attractions of Destin are just 15 minutes or so down the road, and the Silver Sands Outlet Mall is a block or two away. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

This is a small condo, so it was uncrowded. We had a perfect view of the ocean. We were directly on the beach. The rooms were comfortable and clean. No frills, but that was ok. We had a few jelly fish for a couple of days. Only one person got stung in our group. I had the vinagar ready. We had a great time and a beautiful view of the turquoise water.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

If your goal in visiting Destin is to spend as much quality time on the beach without spending an arm-and-a-leg on decent accommodations, Huntington by the Sea is your kind of place.

This complex is very modest in size, but blessed with a beautiful, generous stretch of white-sand beach. From the back of the complex, it is a mere matter of a few steps down the wooden stairs to reach the beach. One of the best things about Huntington, then, is the spaciousness of the beach in ratio to the number of guests. We walked to or saw a number of adjoining beaches or others in the area, and many were crawling with guests from the June crowds. Not so at Huntington, which you would surmise from its age was built at a time before the Miramar Beach zone boomed and thus was not so prohibitive in acquiring a generous piece of beach frontage.

Huntington also offers value. As noted, it has some years behind it -- I would estimate it was built earlier than 1990 -- but that's not all bad. For one thing, the units are quite large. Unlike more modern trends, there was no obvious effort here to scrimp and salvage every square foot of space available, just to squeeze in one more unit they could sell. Our condo was a generously sized two-bedroom unit. While not readily apparent from the street-side view, most indications we saw supported the idea that updating and modernizing have been a priority for the units as a whole. It is not universal -- the bathroom fixtures in our unit were older, but in decent shape. (The kitchen, though, was of more recent vintage and just great). If you're a traveler who needs modern and gleaming in every aspect of the place you stay, you may not be totally happy here. But if you're value-
minded (and in the current economic conditions, most of us are), Huntington is an excellent option to consider. We were able to stay on a per-night basis (not weekly) in June for about $270 per day.

A couple of other points to mention: the pool and the location. If you're a pool swimmer as opposed to an ocean swimmer, this may not be your top choice. The pool is fine for what it is, which is a modest, rectangular design that again says in its appearance "circa 1985." But it is clean, well-maintained and beach-front, right at the top of the steps leading to the beach. It was the least-elaborate pool at any of the choices we considered, and particularly if you have younger kids used to the current generation of mega-pools with lots of bells and whistles, this pool will seem very tame. Location, on the other hand, is a real strength for Huntington. Besides what has already been said about the beach itself, the Miramar Beach area (several miles to the east of downtown Destin) is quieter and calmer, while still having a ton of choices for dining and other activities. In particular, if you have shoppers in your crew, the huge outlet mall that is a half-mile away is a tremendous perk. After visiting Destin proper several times and also seeing the Sandestin property, we were very pleased with how our choice worked out. In particular for those who are new to Destin or unsure of how to sort through the myriad accommodation options (I was in this category, having only been once before and that was 18 years prior), I would report that a low-rise set-up like Huntington has many advantages over the potentially more opulent but also more bustling high-rise developments.

The ultimate question, of course, is: Would we go back? There's no question we would.

  • Liked — Beach access, beach views and value
  • Disliked — A few loose ends that could have been better tended to
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2007

If you are looking for a quiet place to stay with a great beachfront view, then this is the place to stay. My family and I stayed here for a week and we loved every minute of it. Our room was very clean and we had so much space we felt like we had our own apartment. This is a great place for families. The location is perfect. The staff was also very friendly. I could go on and on about how great this place is. I know we will go back.

  • Liked — Being in a quiet location and having a clean room.
  • Disliked — There is nothing not to like.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Huntington by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntington by the Sea

Address: 140 Monaco St, Destin, FL 32550
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 58 Specialty lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Huntington by the Sea 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huntington by the Sea is a mid-rise beachfront condominium resort located in the Miramar Beach section of Destin off Scenic Highway 98 and near family activities, popular restaurants, and shopping. Huntington by the Sea offers 2- and 3-bedroom fully-equipped condominiums with private balconies featuring gulf views. Amenities include a beachside pool, high-speed Internet access, and free DVD rentals for Sterling Resorts guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TRIPSHOCK.COM, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Huntington by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntington By The Sea Hotel Destin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huntington by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.