We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont rent Unit 105. The other units are Pretty good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huntington by the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Huntington by the Sea to your Saves list
Huntington by the Sea
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   140 Monaco St, Destin, FL 32550   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Hopkinsville, Kentucky
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dont rent Unit 105. The other units are Pretty good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I have rented Unit 105 and 2 times out of three when we get there they tell us it is being rented by the owner. Stuck us on the fourth floor. Management says oh he does this all the time. The location of the compled is truley awesome but please think twice about unit 105!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ozark, Arkansas, United States
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Our unit (207) was very clean & elegant. Ceramic floors, granit countertops, perfect view & beautifully decorated. The beach was just right (not overcrowded). We will definately be back!

Room Tip: There are no washer and dryers in the room. They have a laundry mat system that can be used. Wifi i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Currently staying here, place is rundown, owners need to spend a little $. One door to balcony is completely broken, other one requires 2 people to open. Great location, shame the place isn't better maintained. Will go elsewhere next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

We found this place nine years ago, and we have returned each year since. We've stayed in a number of different units here, and though they vary in decor, they all are convenient to the beach and the pool. If you are looking for nightlife, this is not the place for you, but if you are vacationing with kids or grand kids, there is no better place. The small number of units means the beach is never crowded, and there is only one line of beach umbrellas. The beach boys put up your complimentary umbrella and two chairs each day, and the walk from the condos to the beach has to be one of the shortest in Destin. Grocery store and other retail are literally within two minutes drive. This place is well maintained, and the office staff is friendly a d helpful. You can always find a free barbecue, and two laundry rooms serve the complex. I rarely have had to wait for a machine. This is a "no frills" place, but the units are constantly being renovated, and most are beautiful. All are comfortable. We'll be back!! After thirty-five years of vacationing in Destin, this is truly the best condo complex we have found!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011 via mobile

The carpet and sofas has horrible stains. The mattress pad had stains. The WiFi is 25 bucks a week....come on.

Th location was great! If I could get a more updated, coeaner unit I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011 via mobile

We did lots of research about lodging for our first trip to Destin, and in the end decided on Huntington by the Sea at the recommendation of a close friend. Thank goodness for intelligent friends!

HBS was perfect for our week-long stay and comfortably housed our family of four (two adults and two children under 6) plus my husband's 23-year-old sister. The condo was spacious, clean and comfortable. There are no frills, except for the magnificent view which we took full advantage of for every sunrise and sunset. The small complex boasts less than 30 units, which means daily prime real estate on the private beach. The pool is small and shallow, but our kids loved it. They also loved the free DVD rentals at the nearby Crescent complex, and being walking distance from the beach so we could catch crabs every night. We loved the appliances, dishes, etc in the kitchen that allowed us to eat several meals there and save some money to splurge on dinners out. (See my separate reviews of the restaurants we tried.)

It wouldn't be fair to say everything at HBS was 100% perfect, though it was close. Our iron in our unit was literally in pieces and it took multiple calls to receive a replacement - which was also broken. The good news is the humid FL air allowed us to hang clothes outside to steam. Even more annoying than the iron issue was related to the beach chairs and umbrellas. HBS contracts with a local company to provide chairs and umbrellas every day for it's guests. Our first day was great. Chairs were up by 8:30a and we didn't have to fight the crowd to secure a spot. Every morning after that first day, the team showed up later and later. I was at the front desk one morning trying to settle our iron issue when someone else from HBS called to complain about the chairs. The employee gave an unsatisfactory excuse - saying rain was slowing them down. In fact, it had sprinkled for 10 minutes and the men were next door for an hour putting up the Crescent's chairs - we watched from our balcony. Still, this is an easy blip to work around by bringing your own chairs and umbrella!

Finally, also bring paper plates, paper towels and trash bags. HBS provides two trash bags per unit per stay (and would not give Jaime more when we asked on our last day). They also provide only two small packages of dish detergent. So if you have a family, like we did, you'll need to wash dishes more than twice or opt for paper!

Also, HBS has a washer and dryer on site - one per floor - that can be used for a fee. There is not a washer and dryer in the condo. This didn't bother us, but possible renters should know in advance.

All in all, HBS is a great place for a family vacation and at a much better value than what we could find anywhere else. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

We have stayed here 3 times in the last 5 years. We love the location and the fact that all condos face the ocean and there are only 4 floors (not a high rise). This time we rented 3 condos. They were not clean, the bathrooms looked like no one had cleaned them, floors were dirty and carpets needed cleaning badly. The bedding and towels were fine. We complained to management and they said they could have the man who cleans for them come do some cleaning for us the day after we moved in. We declined because there were several small children and it just was not convenient. It has never been like this before. If I recommended this to anyone I would tell them about the "clean" issue. The grounds are pretty and pool clean and it is right on the beach!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Huntington by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntington by the Sea

Address: 140 Monaco St, Destin, FL 32550
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Huntington by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huntington by the Sea is a mid-rise beachfront condominium resort located in the Miramar Beach section of Destin off Scenic Highway 98 and near family activities, popular restaurants, and shopping. Huntington by the Sea offers 2- and 3-bedroom fully-equipped condominiums with private balconies featuring gulf views. Amenities include a beachside pool, high-speed Internet access, and free DVD rentals for Sterling Resorts guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Huntington by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntington By The Sea Hotel Destin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huntington by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.