We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our unit needed to be updated.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Huntington by the Sea

Save Saved
You added Huntington by the Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Huntington by the Sea
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   140 Monaco St, Destin, FL 32550   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 58 Specialty lodging in Destin
2 reviews
“Our unit needed to be updated.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011 via mobile

The carpet and sofas has horrible stains. The mattress pad had stains. The WiFi is 25 bucks a week....come on.

Th location was great! If I could get a more updated, coeaner unit I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    5
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011 via mobile

We did lots of research about lodging for our first trip to Destin, and in the end decided on Huntington by the Sea at the recommendation of a close friend. Thank goodness for intelligent friends!

HBS was perfect for our week-long stay and comfortably housed our family of four (two adults and two children under 6) plus my husband's 23-year-old sister. The condo was spacious, clean and comfortable. There are no frills, except for the magnificent view which we took full advantage of for every sunrise and sunset. The small complex boasts less than 30 units, which means daily prime real estate on the private beach. The pool is small and shallow, but our kids loved it. They also loved the free DVD rentals at the nearby Crescent complex, and being walking distance from the beach so we could catch crabs every night. We loved the appliances, dishes, etc in the kitchen that allowed us to eat several meals there and save some money to splurge on dinners out. (See my separate reviews of the restaurants we tried.)

It wouldn't be fair to say everything at HBS was 100% perfect, though it was close. Our iron in our unit was literally in pieces and it took multiple calls to receive a replacement - which was also broken. The good news is the humid FL air allowed us to hang clothes outside to steam. Even more annoying than the iron issue was related to the beach chairs and umbrellas. HBS contracts with a local company to provide chairs and umbrellas every day for it's guests. Our first day was great. Chairs were up by 8:30a and we didn't have to fight the crowd to secure a spot. Every morning after that first day, the team showed up later and later. I was at the front desk one morning trying to settle our iron issue when someone else from HBS called to complain about the chairs. The employee gave an unsatisfactory excuse - saying rain was slowing them down. In fact, it had sprinkled for 10 minutes and the men were next door for an hour putting up the Crescent's chairs - we watched from our balcony. Still, this is an easy blip to work around by bringing your own chairs and umbrella!

Finally, also bring paper plates, paper towels and trash bags. HBS provides two trash bags per unit per stay (and would not give Jaime more when we asked on our last day). They also provide only two small packages of dish detergent. So if you have a family, like we did, you'll need to wash dishes more than twice or opt for paper!

Also, HBS has a washer and dryer on site - one per floor - that can be used for a fee. There is not a washer and dryer in the condo. This didn't bother us, but possible renters should know in advance.

All in all, HBS is a great place for a family vacation and at a much better value than what we could find anywhere else. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

We have stayed here 3 times in the last 5 years. We love the location and the fact that all condos face the ocean and there are only 4 floors (not a high rise). This time we rented 3 condos. They were not clean, the bathrooms looked like no one had cleaned them, floors were dirty and carpets needed cleaning badly. The bedding and towels were fine. We complained to management and they said they could have the man who cleans for them come do some cleaning for us the day after we moved in. We declined because there were several small children and it just was not convenient. It has never been like this before. If I recommended this to anyone I would tell them about the "clean" issue. The grounds are pretty and pool clean and it is right on the beach!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West,
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Huntington by the Sea in Destin offers wonderful amenities at an affordable price for a family of four. We have children ages 11 and 7 and enjoyed every moment of our stay. This condo is not directly in the hustle-and-bustle of downtown Destin, which affords the opportunity to have peace and quiet, but close enough to visit for good food and shopping.
We spent hours on the white beach and in the crystal clear water looking for shells and fish. At night, we sat on the balcony and watched the kids play in the pool or on the beach.
We asked our kids this year where they would like to go for our summer vacation and they unanimously decided "Back to Huntington by the Sea!". We've already booked... ;)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole, uk
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

Stayed on ground (1st) floor room. We were Initially disappointed as we wanted a view of the gorgeous sandy beach from room but as we had doors opening onto garden and were near pool area it actually felt like it we had a bit more space and it would be good for small children to run out on the grass. Accommodation comfortable but no safe in our room and no hairdryer which is unusual. Service was excellent though and staff very friendly. Pool not heated this time of year so too cold to swim. Company we booked it through said it was free Wi-fi but it actually costed $50 for Wi-fi so that made me a bit cross. Good laundry facilities. Overall great location right on the beach and good value but would prefer safe in room.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We stayed in # 407--it was really incredible. Huntington is a small 5-story condo complex with maybe 35 units. The private white sugar sand beach is just a few yards away--it was so much less crowded than the public beaches in Destin proper, and there was no road to cross to get there. We could enjoy the gulf from the balcony, and keep an eye on our teenagers down on the beach. There is also a beachside pool. The unit is simple, 2 bed 2 bath, but comfortable. The kitchen is generously equipped. There is no washer/dryer in the unit, but there is one on site. All the attractions of Destin are just 15 minutes or so down the road, and the Silver Sands Outlet Mall is a block or two away. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

This is a small condo, so it was uncrowded. We had a perfect view of the ocean. We were directly on the beach. The rooms were comfortable and clean. No frills, but that was ok. We had a few jelly fish for a couple of days. Only one person got stung in our group. I had the vinagar ready. We had a great time and a beautiful view of the turquoise water.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Huntington by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntington by the Sea

Address: 140 Monaco St, Destin, FL 32550
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 58 Specialty lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Huntington by the Sea 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huntington by the Sea is a mid-rise beachfront condominium resort located in the Miramar Beach section of Destin off Scenic Highway 98 and near family activities, popular restaurants, and shopping. Huntington by the Sea offers 2- and 3-bedroom fully-equipped condominiums with private balconies featuring gulf views. Amenities include a beachside pool, high-speed Internet access, and free DVD rentals for Sterling Resorts guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TRIPSHOCK.COM, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Huntington by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntington By The Sea Hotel Destin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huntington by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.