We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy neighbor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Grand Blvd, Destin, FL 32550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 39 hotels in Destin
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    97
    26
    10
    7
See reviews for
108
97
16
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I reviewed this hotel once before in 2011, I believe. I classified it as a new favorite because it was well kept, looked good both outside and inside, gave you access to the amenities of the Sandestin Beach Resort and was reasonably priced.

Last week a friend asked where she and her husband could go for their first anniversary. I suggested Destin, Florida (Sandestin in particular). While looking on the web for her, I spotted a great deal here at the Courtyard Sandestin location for about $78. Next thing I knew I had booked it, because I knew it was fantastic price.

Our friends stayed at the Residence Inn, which is across the parking lot, because they wanted the included breakfast.

Outside:
The grounds of the hotel and its sister, the Residence, Inn have always been well kept each time I visited. The building's exterior was up to snuff and I didn't see anything to cause concern. The parking lot is reasonably well lit at night, but rather small in size. As spring breakers started to arrive we had to park at the Residence Inn.

Inside:
Whoa! Awesome! The remodeled the lobby and it looks good! They eliminated the buffet breakfast area totally and opened up the lobby into three sections, from what I could see. One was a bright and colorful bistro area, with dark tables and cushioned seats and eye catching wall treatment. A restaurant several menu items, but I didn't look to see what they were. Plus they provide a starbucks like coffee service that I understand stays open all night. The other section was more comfort and reclined with more subdued colors, a big tv on the wall and a monitor on another wall that provided local information like weather and business information.
That last spot in the corner had very large computers and a printer setup for your business use and pleasure, there was no fee to use them. I printed up our boarding passes at the stations. Wifi in the lobby and room is free and reasonably strong, although not really fast enough for streaming.

Front Desk Staff:
Greeted us promptly when we walked into the place. They were very nice, professional and helpful.

Hallway:
The hallway and carpeting appeared to be very well maintained. The hallway was well lit, automatically makes my wife more comfortable.

Room:
Candidly I don't remember what the room looked like before. But I will say that the quality of the furniture (especially the dresser, tv, desk, computer combo combination combo) seem to be of good quality. No chips, damaged etc, stains or the like. The beds were comfortable, and although the bedding was sufficient, it looks like it needs to be replaced something more modern. I never walk on hotel carpet barefooted, although an examination of the one in my room showed no excessive wear or damage. The room had a nice golden color, which I always feels brightens up things.

There was one issue! Noise! We could clearly hear the family in the next room having themselves a good time. The kids were laughing loudly and the parents talking at a reasonable volume, but you felt almost as if they were in our room.

Bathroom: Reasonable size, definitely not large though. Fixtures, all worked, no falling wallpaper, it looks well maintained. I especially like one feature though. At the end of the tub is a glass or plexiglass type partition. It the shower curtains are closed, it does a good job of catching the shower water, instead of letting over the edge onto the floor, which happens most of the time when I take a shower. In this particular bathroom, behind the same partition appeared to be a ledge, which was large enough that a person with disabilities could sit on it and take their shower. I'm always excited by such things, since my mother likes to travel with me.

Location:
This property and the Resident Inn have access to Sandestin Resort, even though they are just outside of the resorts' gates. It means you can get to the beach, rent or use bikes, canoes and small watercraft that the resort provides. There is an Applebee's right in front of the hotel, a PF Chang's is about a five minute walk away, Publix grocery store in next to PF Chang's and you are about five minutes drive from a large discount mall.

Negatives:
1. No safe was in the room.
2. They had a chiller in the room, but it can't cool things as well as a mini-fridge.
3. I wish they had more parking, but there are other lots close by.
4. There is one elevator for each wing of the building, it can be a little bit of a wait.
5. I miss having a breakfast buffet. However, we go to the Hilton Sandestin for their breakfast and it is fantastic.

My favorite thing is that new lobby. It made me just want to come downstairs, relax in it with my tablet (they have an AC power bar) and watch the people coming in and out.

For the price, I think we got more than we paid for this time and this now a 'new favorite'.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel has the best front desk staff anyone could ask for. It is walking distance to the Baytown wharf. But the best thing is it allows you access to the resort beach which is wonderful. The rooms are big with a pretty view. The negatives are there is no microwave and the fridge is tiny. The linens need an update. There is no free breakfast or even free coffee.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Hubby and I stayed there this past weekend on a spur of the moment trip...we could not have been more pleased with the hotel, the amenities and the location...so close to everything. We particularly like the close proximity to the beach and the Baytowne Wharf. And as Marriott Rewards members (and a travel agent)...we love the Marriott product.
In fact, we had such a great time, that I just made a reservation to come back there this upcoming weekend to celebrate our ANNIVERSARY!!
Well done Courtyard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The courtyard was well designed and is in a very good location. I would recommend this Courtyard. The front desk personnel do a very good job. There are many restaurants within a few miles. I would recommend a room that faces the golf course.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Close to everything on Highway 98. While most Courtyard by Marriott are fairly consistent throughout the United States, this location a bit nicer than the norm. I do not know when they had their last building update but this property is fresh and very clean.
Additionally, one enjoys access to Sandestin resort next door. Great walking and jogging paths. Beach access. Nice restaurants and shops in the pedestrian friendly center about two blocks east; easy walk or short drive.

Room Tip: Ask for room toward back of property away from Highway 98 if one likes to leave their balcony door o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, Alabama, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We took a last minute trip to Destin on the January 18th to celebrate our 37th Anniversary. I booked the room online before I left home. When we got there and they found out it was our Anniversary, they upgraded our room to a suite at no additional charge. The room was WONDERFUL!! When we returned to our room from supper we found a note that had been slipped under the door. It was the sweetest note congratulationg us on our anniversary. Someone from the front desk wrote it, I'm sure. You can't ask for better service or nicer people than you will find at this motel!! We will stay there again!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the King suite. It had 2 rooms with 2 sofas that made into beds. 6 people could have st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oris R, Manager at Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Congratulating you both again on your 37th Wedding Anniversary! We appreciate your kind words and will most certainly share your comments with all our associates. We wish you many many more years of a beautiful marriage and hope you will come back to visit us soon.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard

Address: 100 Grand Blvd, Destin, FL 32550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Destin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#6 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Break away to one of the top Destin, Florida, hotels at Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard. Corporate travelers will benefit from the new lobby that is designed to give guests the flexibility to work and socialize on their terms. New enhancements to our Destin, Florida, hotel include a contemporary lobby, flexible seating to fit individual or group needs, complimentary Wi-Fi, private media booths and, our new signature element, the touch screen with GoBoard® technology for information on the go. Introducing one of the newest restaurants among hotels in Destin, Florida, The Bistro offers breakfast, lunch and dinner with refreshing, high quality and healthy menu options. "Eat, Drink, and Connect"™ with friends and colleagues for a value that simply cannot be beat. Explore our Destin, FL, hotel's enchanting surroundings consisting of beaches, running and walking trails, state parks, championship golf courses and tennis courts. We invite you to work and relax at Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Sandestin At Grand Boulevard Hotel Destin
Courtyard Hotel Destin
Courtyard Destin
Destin Courtyard
Destin Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.