We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Grand Blvd, Destin, FL 32550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Destin
SoCal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Close to everything on Highway 98. While most Courtyard by Marriott are fairly consistent throughout the United States, this location a bit nicer than the norm. I do not know when they had their last building update but this property is fresh and very clean.
Additionally, one enjoys access to Sandestin resort next door. Great walking and jogging paths. Beach access. Nice restaurants and shops in the pedestrian friendly center about two blocks east; easy walk or short drive.

Room Tip: Ask for room toward back of property away from Highway 98 if one likes to leave their balcony door o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    103
    27
    9
    7
See reviews for
113
101
17
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, Alabama, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We took a last minute trip to Destin on the January 18th to celebrate our 37th Anniversary. I booked the room online before I left home. When we got there and they found out it was our Anniversary, they upgraded our room to a suite at no additional charge. The room was WONDERFUL!! When we returned to our room from supper we found a note that had been slipped under the door. It was the sweetest note congratulationg us on our anniversary. Someone from the front desk wrote it, I'm sure. You can't ask for better service or nicer people than you will find at this motel!! We will stay there again!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the King suite. It had 2 rooms with 2 sofas that made into beds. 6 people could have st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oris R, Manager at Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Congratulating you both again on your 37th Wedding Anniversary! We appreciate your kind words and will most certainly share your comments with all our associates. We wish you many many more years of a beautiful marriage and hope you will come back to visit us soon.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I say this after having stayed here a number of times over the past few years and twice since November 2012. This is one of the nicest and one of the best locations in the chain simply by being where it is in regard to resort, beach, eats and shopping.

Now, please let me qualify that with the fact I stay in off season and get the best rates then, a big part of my value equation here. If the prices paid were seasonal, I may have a different perspective overall due to price/value. Free parking and Internet add to the value and yes, you can grab a "Starbucks" in the lobby Bistro or FREE coffee over behind the wall next to the computer center, another nice to,have feature.

Rooms are nice, fitness club decent but use Sandestin for walks, runs, biking and nature seeing.

I will have to agree with some of the comments on the slowness of the elevators, something common at every Marriott Courtyard I have stayed in. Also, the accent and inexperience of some employees is somewhat annoying and this on more than me occasion. It should be noted that Destin is now full of foreigners who shack up in local condos together so hard to get around them. One other thing...and I even hesitate to bring it up....is that front desk staff should know the comings and goings of guests as they see them walking in and out numerous times and really, we do not need to be told hello and greeted six or seven times when going in and out the front door in a short,period of time.

Bistro,is only to be used for maybe a cocktail before heading out, a snack or drink but should not be confused with a gourmet place to eat. The snack shop off the front desk is a good place to get candy and such and pay double the price but it is convenient.

The GM did help us out a bit during a stay right before Christmas and we are thankful for that. Sometimes it took a few emails back to them to get a response but in the end all went well.

So, all things being equal and based on the price/value I have received here I find this location to be a very nice one for Marriott. At $159 and up I would begin to look at renting local condos or homes.

Room Tip: I choose high floor but you might not if slow elevators a concern. Also, they have two queen bed 1BR...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here on an overnight stop, it was easy to find right off the boulevard. The employees at the reception desk were very freindly and helpful. Our room was clean and nice, this Hotel was painted with bright colors and cheerful. There was a restaurant within walking distance we walked to for dinner. The only one downfall, if you can really call it that, was the parking was tight. We have a big truck and it was kind of hard manuvering around. A+ we would stay again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We arrived in Destin sooner than anticipated and found that a night at the Courtyard was far less expansive than an extra night at the Sandestin Resort. The lobby is spacious and has been renovated to include the trademark giant touchscreen TV, ample seating and a bistro with beverages and snacks for sale. The room included a flat screen TV, ample power outlets for charging electrical devices and free Wi Fi which tested at almost 5 Mbps, more than fast enough for most uses. There are several restaurants nearby (including an Applebee's right across the parking lot but it's worth the short drive to eat elsewhere). Staying at hotel allows you to access the entire Sandestin Resort property. You are provided a vehicle hang tag at check-in which is used at the resort entry points. As other reviewers have noted, the elevator service is slow and we used the stairs more than once as an alternative. With so many restaurants nearby we passed on purchasing breakfast on site in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We have visited Destin many times but this was our first stay at Courtyard. We were greeted by a friendly and helpful staff. Our room was comfortable and clean. The hotel is close to shopping and restaurants in Sandestin, either on Grand Avenue or back in Baytowne. We walked back to The Broken Egg in Baytowne for breakfast in the morning and it only took about 10 minutes to get there and the walk is through lovely wooded areas bordering the golf course. The lobby is large and nicely decorated with convenient access to computers.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor and very quiet. Elevators are not very fast so a lower floor is prefe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Benning, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I was here for a weekend family getaway. It wasn't my first choice because it is located a fair distance from downtown Destin, which is where most of the activities that interest me were at. However, one of the rooms was paid for by points so, there we went. I got lucky; Their military discount is VERY nice. Moving on...

The staff was very friendly and check-in took all of 3 minutes. We hadn't booked the rooms together, but they were able to give us rooms directly across from each other. The rooms themselves were spacious, clean, and well maintained. As other reviewers have stated, the elevators can be annoyingly slow. We all gave up on them when I was able to consistently beat the rest of my family to the car or back to the room by more than a minute by taking the stairs (3rd floor).

Otherwise, this is a very nice place. The pool and hot tub were effectively deserted each time we used them. The lighting in both shifted color slowly during night time. It's a nice touch. The landscaping is exactly what I had anticipated. Palm trees, plenty of tables in little alcoves for some privacy, and a maze of a parking lot. I never tried the breakfast buffet, but the others did. They said it was pretty good, no more, no less. The shopping in the Sandestin resort complex is higher in price than at the outlets closer to downtown Destin. The private beach was nice too. Not busy at all, but I suspect that's due to the time of year that we were there. I didn't spend much time in the hotel because I kept busy, but I'd definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard

Address: 100 Grand Blvd, Destin, FL 32550
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#2 Business Hotel in Destin
#5 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Break away to one of the top Destin, Florida, hotels at Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard. Corporate travelers will benefit from the new lobby that is designed to give guests the flexibility to work and socialize on their terms. New enhancements to our Destin, Florida, hotel include a contemporary lobby, flexible seating to fit individual or group needs, complimentary Wi-Fi, private media booths and, our new signature element, the touch screen with GoBoard® technology for information on the go. Introducing one of the newest restaurants among hotels in Destin, Florida, The Bistro offers breakfast, lunch and dinner with refreshing, high quality and healthy menu options. "Eat, Drink, and Connect"™ with friends and colleagues for a value that simply cannot be beat. Explore our Destin, FL, hotel's enchanting surroundings consisting of beaches, running and walking trails, state parks, championship golf courses and tennis courts. We invite you to work and relax at Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Sandestin At Grand Boulevard Hotel Destin
Courtyard Hotel Destin
Courtyard Destin
Destin Courtyard
Destin Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;