We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its worth the money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Grand Blvd, Destin, FL 32550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 39 hotels in Destin
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Its worth the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I recently stayed here for 3 nights and it was outstanding. I don't know how a pet friendly hotel is able to keep everything so clean, I did not see a single pet hair anywhere in the room. I was also impressed with the level of service. We switched from a single bedroom to a 2 bedroom suite after the first night, not only did the staff moved our luggage but to my amazement they actually setup the baby's play yard. I have every intention to stay here again next time we make the trip down to Sandestin.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    67
    24
    11
    3
See reviews for
88
82
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a great place, wonderful staff. The breakfast was fantastic. You can not go wrong, the rooms were clean and beds were so comfortable. Full size kitchen. The grounds were wonderfu, the swimming pool and outdoor courtyard very relaxing.

Room Tip: Very nice room 2nd floor over looking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a weekend trip to Destin. Hotel staff very nice and helpful. Room was very clean and comfortable. Everything looked recently new or remodeled. Believe it or not HDTV worked and plenty of channels were available. The weather was bad so we spent time in the room relaxing. I was really surprised with the free breakfast. Everything was orderly and not overcrowded. They actually had several staff members handling the breakfast area to replenish items and assist. Belgian waffles were great. I also noticed they did have basketball court and other activities outside.. There was also an Applebee's within walking distance. No beaches within walking distance. Hotel was great but I think kind of pricey, 220 + tax for king suite. However it was quiet and very clean.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

WARNING - BE SURE TO CALL THE HOTEL AND VERIFY THAT YOU ARE GETTING THE TYPE ROOM AND AMENITIES THAT YOU ARE EXPECTING UPON ARRIVAL.

I have stayed at Residence Inns across the country for many years; including the original property design with building clusters each housing 8 rooms including penthouse suites upstairs and the more modern, compact hotel style ones with interior hallways. It seems that with each new property comes smaller and more compact room layouts.

This property appeared to be relatively new; adjacent to a new shopping district that is only a couple of years old.

I booked what they refer to on their website as a ONE BEDROOM LARGER SUITE. Most Residence Inns call it a ONE BEDROOM so I made the mistake of "assuming" that this would be larger than a typical one bedroom; maybe a corner unit.

When we checked in, we were quite disappointed. The bedroom itself is VERY cramped. No dresser to put clothes away in drawers; just the stand that the TV sits on. Plus, there is BARELY enough room to walk between the end of the bed and the TV stand to get to the other side of the bed. I stubbed my toe several times walking back and forth.

The bed placement is awkward compared to the vanity bathroom area. There is no door to close off the vanity area from the bedroom so when lying in bed you face the vanity off to the side. If there are two of you and one is an early riser while the other one likes to sleep late, there is no way to avoid the vanity light shining into the eyes of the person in bed.

Thus, I find the LARGER room description VERY MISLEADING. Upon further review of their website and room descriptions I found where the STUDIO ROOM is the exact same 600 square feet as their ONE BEDROOM LARGER suite. The pictures of the Studio show an easy chair, in addition to the couch, where the one bedroom does not have an easy chair. The Studio also shows the normal placement of the kitchen table to seat 4 comfortably, whereas our kitchen table in the one bedroom had to be pushed up against the wall so 2 people had to sit side by side and face the wall. So, in reality, you have more room in the Study as the one bedroom loses some living space due to the wall and doorway built between the living and bedroom areas.

The next disappointment was NO OVEN in the kitchen even though the website lists its as fully furnished kitchen including OVEN. We had purchased groceries on our way into town knowing we would have an oven. The older properties have ovens in all the rooms, but newer properties are hit and miss. However, the website for other properties, when listing Oven will state "some rooms". This way, if an oven is important to me, I call a few days ahead and ask to make sure they block off a room with one. Because this RI lead me to believe that ALL rooms had ovens, I did not call ahead.

I met with the General Manager shortly after check-in to tell him exactly what I wrote above and told him I realize that it wasn't his fault and that he couldn't fix the structural / room design type problems I cited. I did, however, want him to be aware that their website descriptions are very misleading to the educated traveler. He was very sympathetic and apologetic and said he would talk to his Sale Manager about changing the website.

A few minutes after my return to the room, he showed up offering us invitations to the Grand Opening Party of the new movie theatre in the shopping district next to the hotel: cocktails and hors d'ouvres. That was a very nice gesture on his part.

The hotel and rooms are very clean and well maintained; friendly staff. The quality of the breakfast buffet food items was far less compared to other RI's.

Bottom line..........just be sure you know what you are getting for a room beforehand if you happen to be very particular like myself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oris R, Manager at Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear recent guest,

We thank you for bringing to our attention these very important issues in regards to your recent stay at the hotel.
Firstly, please accept our apologies for the communication relayed on our website in regards to the room descriptions that mislead you in your expectations. Secondly, upon receiving your comments, we immediately reviewed and revised the room descriptions for the 1 and 2 bedroom suites. The descriptions are now shorter and clearer. Furthermore, in regards to the ovens, since only some rooms are equipped with this feature we made the decision to remove the “Oven” amenity (is now based on availability) from the features to eliminate any further misunderstandings. Thank you again for taking the time to send us your comments, which will assist us in improving our services to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Beautiful hotel, spacious rooms - the service was good, friendly professional front desk employees. I cannot say enough good about the breakfast. There was a very good selection of eggs, sausage or ham, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, etc. The last morning we were there, Erika was waiting on us hand and foot. She made our waffles, delivered them to our table, picked up our dirty dishes. She went above and beyond what was necessary.

Two small concerns -(1) They had a lovely courtyard between the buildings, however unless you are a smoker, you couldn't spend any time in it because the smokers hung out there. They called themselves a non-smoking hotel, but this ruined that lovely space. (2) Ask for a room away from 98 - the highway noise is pretty significant. Initially we were given a room on the first floor facing the highway, we ask for a different room and were given one on the 4th floor. This was significantly better.

I would definitely stay here again. Highly recommended for families who want a little extra space.

Room Tip: request something away from the highway - or a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our family stayed in this hotel for one night en-route to New Orleans. The room is unbelievably stacked with amenities (are all Residence Inns like this ?) Only bad thing is the room we got was right above the cooling fan and from 7pm to 11pm, it sounded like we were inside an airplane turbine engine. Very minor price to pay for such a clean room (great sheets and pillows!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Wonderful location, great area, perfect amenities, super pleasant staff and a perfectly clean room. I had to move to this property after the other Marriott I was staying at near Eglin had sold out. I was not too happy about the move since it'd now be a 45 minute drive instead of 5 minutes to the base. Upon check in I was greeted by a super pleasant front desk team, Maria was one who stood out. She helped me whenever I needed it although I tried to not worry her too much for my random requests.

The breakfast staff was very attentive, never letting anything run out, making sure the guests were happy and had everything they needed. I felt like I was being waited on hand and foot, honestly. I was not even "needy", but the staff wanted to make sure EVERYONE was satisfied before they even needed to say a word or ask for anything. Excellent customer service, this is very hard to come by, even at Marriotts.

The convenient location was a major plus. After checkout at 11am, I went down to the side shops and walked along the outlets (which are fabulous by the way if you love to shop) and I even went to the beach. I had to kill time until about 4pm, so there was PLENTY to do. This hotel is definitely worth the drive, money, or whatever it takes! I have to say it's one of the best Residence Inns I've ever stayed at. I would love to come back and visit if I am in the area again. Thank you for the wonderful hospitality!

Room Tip: You may want a room not facing the road if you have a problem with hearing traffic. It calms down af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard

Address: 300 Grand Blvd, Destin, FL 32550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Destin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#4 Business Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard, one of the premier extended-stay hotels in Destin, Florida, featuring beautifully renovated suites that include complete kitchens and distinct living and sleeping areas for those traveling for business or leisure. Guests enjoy the ease of courtesy high-speed Internet access in their suites and public areas. Our Destin, FL, extended-stay hotel’s leisure activities include an outdoor sport court, reading library, outdoor swimming pool, and a barbecue and picnic area the whole family will enjoy. Leave the cooking to us and join other guests for two courtesy social hours during the week and daily complimentary hot breakfast buffets. At this extended-stay Destin accommodation, all four-legged friends are welcome, so truly the entire family can enjoy some time away. Start enjoying your new residence at Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard. It's not just another extended-stay Destin, FL, hotel. It's not just a room. It's a residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Marriott, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Sandestin At Grand Boulevard Hotel Destin
Residence Inn Destin
Destin Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.