We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family vacation spot- Unit 321 is awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mainsail Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mainsail Resort to your Saves list
Mainsail Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   114 Mainsail Dr, Destin, FL 32550   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect family vacation spot- Unit 321 is awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Mainsail is ideal for families. The pools are gated and the kiddie pool is gated so kids can't leave the area. It has a small waterfall in the kids area too.

It's on the beach, so you don't have to cross any streets. Also, the community is gated with security. There is a no-noise policy after 10pm, which we really appreciated.

We stayed in unit 321. VRBO 69600. 2 bedroom, 2 bath. Huge living room. Fully equipped kitchen. It is newly remodeled and extremely comfortable. The owner is really nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    5
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, AR
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Great beach location. Beautiful units are furnished so nicely and have every amenity. Great place for families. Directly across the street from the outlet mall. We've been staying here since 1995. Always love it here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just returned from 6-night stay at Mainsail. Since it had been 25 years since my last visit to Destin, I researched a lot of places before deciding on Mainsail. I got a good deal on a last-minute rental on VRBO, and the condo was updated and nicely furnished. My condo was on the first floor located on the back side of the building further away from the beach but close to the pool, with only a partial ocean view from the balcony, but I knew that going in.

Mainsail has 2 different buildings in 4 different sections, so if your condo unit begins with a "1" you are in the front section on the east building, "3" is the back section of the east building, "2" is the front section of the west building and "4" is the back section of the west building. "1" and "2" typically have the best views of the water, but there really is not a bad location anywhere.

The pool and hut tub were nice and never really crowded. The beach is right there and very easy to access from the condo. This stretch of beach is quite lovely, and the water at this particular time was clear and blue. If beach chair and umbrella set-up is not included in your condo rental, you can rent from the person at the beach, although at $30/day, it adds up. A lot of people brought their own sand chairs and beach umbrellas instead. The location is very good, in what appears to be a quieter part of Destin and close to SanDestin Resort, just across the highway from the Silver Sands Outlet Mall. There are several good restaurants within a 2 - 3 mile distance.

Mainsail has been around since the mid-eighties, I believe, and although there are newer condos in the area, this was a good choice for the price and the location. Like anywhere, individual units are updated (or not) and furnished by individual owners. Be sure to check out photos first, and find out if beach views were taken from the actual condo unit. I will rent here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I rented the unit 314 through the homeowner for the very first time. I usually use Bookit with no problems. The unit was nicely decorated but a little outdated. The location was great with great access to shopping and beach. I paid the rental and damage deposit as directed by the owner. Received the instructions online about the code to get in etc along with the departure instructions. We followed all the instructions. Cleaned the condo, even washed all the towels except what we used that morning. We piled up all the linens on the bed as instructed. Put the dishes in the dishwasher and started it as instructed. This is the second week and I have sent three emails to the owner to know what the status was on the damage deposit with no response to any of my emails. Text her and she said that she will get to to the email but still no response. At this point, eventhough we did whatever we were required, we don't know if we will ever get our damage deposit back. It is very frustrating especially when we treated the property as we do ours. Luckily we took all the pictures prior to departure in case the matter goes to the court since Florida does have some laws for damage deposits. Lesson learned not to rent this property even though the location is great.

Room Tip: Be sure to discuss about your damage deposit refund prior renting from homeowners. You may have hard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My family and I really enjoyed our first trip to Mainsail in Destin, FL. We were able to find a condo through VRBO. The owners were great to work with. They provided a cart and beach chairs. The unit had everything we needed. Washer and dryer, plenty of laundry detergent and detergent for the dishwasher. The pool and hot tub were beautiful and the grounds were very clean. We will look to stay at Mainsail on our next visit to Destin.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomaston
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We came to Desin for the seafood festival. I found a 5th floor condo on the second floor on VRBO very reasonably priced. The location was excellent. The traffic was not bad, it was quiet and had very good security, and was across from the outlet mall. The employees were friendly and helpful. Our unit was "beachy" and well decorated. It did have a few issues such as the iron being broken and the master bathtub having some type of thick stuff coated on the bottom that looked like paint. I don't think it was paint, although it left white marks on my swimsuit when it fell off the side. The lock was also broken on the balcony door. These were just minor irritations because we did have a wonderful time. The beach was wide, well kept, and the water was beautiful. I am not sure I would stay here again unless I rented a wrap around balcony. The balcony was placed where you had a good view of the ocean, but also the neighbor's balconies across from you. There is also a rather long walk to your car as all of the close parking was reserved for the owners.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a wrap around balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011 via mobile

We stayed in 231. Loved the location, view, and wraparound balcony. The unit had all the dishes pots and pans, as well as a washer and dryer. We enjoyed our stay so very much. Mainsail has a beautiful pool and tennis courts and shuffleboard-though we could not find the shuffleboard equipment to play. The location was right on the beach and the rental comes with an brella and two chairs. We had the most beautiful view from the balcony. I highly recommend unit 231.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mainsail Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainsail Resort

Address: 114 Mainsail Dr, Destin, FL 32550
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mainsail Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mainsail Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resortquest Mainsail Hotel Destin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mainsail Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.