We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but nothing else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Sands Condominiums

Save Saved
You added Crystal Sands Condominiums to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crystal Sands Condominiums
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   3290 Scenic Highway 98, Destin, FL 32541   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 58 Specialty lodging in Destin
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location but nothing else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

We stayed in room 210A, which had been recently remodeled. Our high hopes were quickly diminished upon entering the room and only got worse.

Positives
- Great location, great view, and great beach service

Negatives
- MOLD, MOLD, MOLD was on the shower walls and on the air conditioning vents. You could smell the mustiness in the bedroom and bathrooms. The shower curtain liner was covered in mildew as well.
- We tried to sleep on the fold out couch (because of the mold in the bedroom) but it was missing two support bolts and couldn't be used.
- The bathtub was clogged and so a shower ended up being more like a bath.
- Wireless access was intermittent at best and not reliable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    23
    7
    8
    5
See reviews for
27
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
familytimeohyea
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

While the beaches of Destin are beautiful, we were disappointed with our accomodations at Crystal Sands. The property is beachside, which was very convenient, we had a very pretty view and overall there was plenty of room in the unit. That is the only positive thing I can say. The pictures online of the property and rooms must have been taken when there was different managment! The rooms now are not very clean, the elevators smelled like porta pottys, and the room keys NEVER WORK!!!! We have been here for 4 days, and have had to request new room keys everyday. Ridiculous! We've spent so much time going to the managment office just to be able to access our room. We were told not to feel bad, lots of renters in other units have the same problem! The sad thing is this was supposed to be an upgraded room offered to us by Resortquest because our first property at Gulfview Condos was so dirty we could not stay there. That was our original booking. They moved us down the street to this unit, which was much better, but still not what we expected. I would NEVER return to any property managed and maintained by ResortQuest!

Stayed July 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

We stayed in the Ozzie and thought we had a good time until the owner kept our deposit. We've stayed in various condo's around destin for years and no problems, but this guy just kept the deposit and said nothing. We called and he had a few bogus items (one of which we reported as broken during the week, but he still added it to the list). This guy scammed me out of 200 dollars. Check everything when you get there and report anything that looks out of line immediately, but he can still say something else was broken when you leave, and unless you want to drive down there, he'll just keep your money.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Ok
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

Nice quiet spot on the beach. Every room has a direct view of the ocean!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, MS
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

Family of 4 that stayed on the 3rd floor in a unit that has a King size bedroom and also a loft. It was perfect! The beach was steps away and the balcony overlooked the ocean and provided amazing views. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly upon check in. Each room is allowed to reserve an umbrella and chairs on the beach each day provided by the site. You can give your name to the attendant your first day and let him know where you want to be set up and he will set you up first thing in the morning and reserve that spot for you! It was very convenient. I really can think of no complaints about this place. I would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting a great beachfront condo in a good location!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

We rented through VRBO. The Destin area has the prettiest white sand and most clear ocean water in the USA. This complex had one of the very FEW rooms available to people under 25 to stay in at Destin. Thats exactly what we needed and it fit the bill. All rooms at this complex are indivudialy owned so I'm only grading our room. The room was a little worn down but when a room is rented out to u25 guests, thats to be expected. Probably could have bee a little cleaner though. Both 3 story buildings A & B (east & west) are located right ON the beach with great views from all the balconies. Located on old 2 lane hwy. 98 where the traffic is not so bad, close to resturants and shopping. The pools are in the back of the buildings on the street side. If you just got to be by a pool and have a view of the ocean too, look else where but if you got a group of friends under 25 looking for one of the FEW rooms available to you in Destin, go for it.

  • Liked — ON the beach
  • Disliked — Could have been cleaner.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

I just spent a week with my family in one of the third-floor condos with the loft bedroom and bathroom. We loved it! It was right on the beach, and the Crystal Beach area of Destin is less crowded. The unit was clean, and the furniture was in good condition. The kitchen was nice because we could make breakfast and then hit the beach. The washer and dryer were an extra bonus. Although the pool was small, it wasn't crowded. We did spend most of our time on the beach, but then why pay to be on the beach if you aren't going to used it? Also, Crystal Sand is close to The Crap Trap, and we walked there one evening.

  • Liked — Location - on the beach in the Crystal Beach area.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crystal Sands Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Sands Condominiums

Address: 3290 Scenic Highway 98, Destin, FL 32541
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 58 Specialty lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Sands Condominiums 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Crystal Sands Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Sands Condominiums Hotel Destin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Sands Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.