We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Silver Sands Outlet Mall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10861 US Highway 98 W, Destin, FL 32550   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #20 of 39 hotels in Destin
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Close to Silver Sands Outlet Mall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Came to Destin to shop this time so this hotel was perfect since the mall is right across the street. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast is pretty typical but filling. The lobby/sitting area is very comfortable. WIFi worked fine. Only negative is that there aren't any rooms with a good view (only buildings and parking lots). Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    58
    28
    16
    7
See reviews for
60
49
4
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dalton
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed another stay at Hampton Inn , even though it rained our short 3 days we were there on vacation. Perfect short walk to the beach, clean rooms and friendly staff.Loved our pretty pink hotel and relaxing in the jacuzzi!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We arrived in Destin for two nights on route to New Orleans. We chose this hotel because of price and we got the king studio suite. The room was ok, a bit dated, but the bed was comfortable. However we had just come from a brand new hotel the night previous so I guess its unfair to compare but in terms of bench marking the room is definitely in need of some updating. 

Our room came with a fridge, microwave, table, sofa so that was great to store drinks and have some where to sit down and relax with a cold beverage after a long day out in the heat. The only complaint was the TV reception was poor which is unacceptable for today's standards. 

The hotel is close to the outlet shopping prescient and other shopping amenities/stores. It's also close to the beech apparently walking distance but we drove due to the heat. 

The one thing to highlight is the breakfast service provided is excellent, I'm not used to US hotels including free breakfast but this was a great bonus. There is also free wi-fi!! (perhaps this is common in most US hotels but back in Europe/UK there is usually a fee). 

If you need somewhere convenient, value for money then I would highly recommend. When we stayed there was quite a lot of family's so I guess this must be popular choice. 

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

This hotel and the staff was very friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good with a good variety to choose from. I as an online TA saw only one thing I feel needs changing and that is the business area needs to be in a small room for privacy. If you are checking you emails are do some type of business on the computer everyone can see your business. If you plan on shopping and the outlets they across the road from the hotel. Now, most of the activities are in Destin, near the harbor. I you forgot something Wal-mart has a section for you from beach item too souvenirs etc. for less the cost at the other stores. The traffic is slow going after 2pm on Hey 98W. Lastly gas cost less at Wal-mart. We plan on going back in the future with family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Okay, here are the basics! Pros: Modern decor in lobby, eat in area & room decor was pretty nice as well. Next to plenty of shops & restaurants. Free continental breakfast. A couple of turns & you're at the beach (tip-from hotel turn left on 98, turn left on Miramar beach & that takes you to main road that runs along the beach)
Cons: it took a couple of turn arounds to find the entrance to hotel(tip- turn in ihop parking lot), no sanitizer to wipe down exercise equipment, although omlets available I kind of wanted just plain scrambled eggs & bacon.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Let me start by saying that I stay almost exclusively with Hilton hotels, and primarily at Hampton Inns, so I know what I'm talking about. It all started out so promising with an upgraded room, and then it went downhill from there. We went to our suite on the 4th floor, and having just arrived at the beach from a long drive we naturally went to the bathroom. Only the bathroom lid was broken and the seat wouldn't stay up, which is a problem for a man (and hence, a woman). We immediately called the front desk, and they told us that since it was Sunday the maintenance person wouldn't be able to look at it until Monday. We were there from 7/15 to 7/21 and no one ever darkened the door to fix the toilet. When we came back the first night at around 11:00 pm the AC wasn't working, so we had to call the front desk and have someone come up, which meant getting dressed again and waiting. The AC was finally working around 11:30. The next day I spoke with Keith, the 'manager', who impressed me by taking diligent notes about our issues, and then doing nothing. He did agree to 'comp' our first night because of the AC issues, and promised us the charge 'would never even show up on the bill'. Guess what? It did! I had to go down and talk with the young girl at the front desk, which took forever because she was trying to answer the phone and handle walk-up customers at the same time. In addition to the toilet seat and the AC, the curtains in the room were torn, the carpet was coming loose from the baseboards and the shower curtain was broken and the curtain wouldn't stay closed. The irony is that I was told several times that the room I was in had just be renovated! I guess they must have used Larry, Moe and Curly Construction for the renovation. The staff as a whole were rude, unmotivated and overworked. The lady running the breakfast area was all by herself, and people were constantly waiting for food. Bottom line: Stay away. The worst-managed hotel I have every stayed in. This review is only the tip of the iceberg of the problems we encountered. I would love for the owner of this hotel to contact me. I should have known something was up when the sign out if front of the hotel advertised "Walk up specials available".

Room Tip: Here's a tip to choose a good room: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krsmith81, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Greetings hulaemma,

Thank you again for sharing your information. Allow me to apologize for the lack of urgency and follow through that you have highlighted. This is not a typical experience at our property but an example of how we can continue to improve.

We stand behind our 100% satisfaction guarantee. On your behalf, our front office team has requested that the points used during your stay be refunded to your account. We hope that while this experience was not to our standard, our dedication to making it right will earn your trust and your business in the future.

Sincerely,
Keith Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Friendly staff, very clean rooms. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krsmith81, Team member at Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you Risk01! It was our pleasure to have you with us! We look forward to your return.

Your Hampton Destin-Sandestin team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin

Address: 10861 US Highway 98 W, Destin, FL 32550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Destin
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin Hotel Destin
Hampton Inn And Suites Destin-Sandestin
Hampton Inn Destin
Destin Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.