We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place has two personalities...one during the day, and another at night” 2 of 5 stars
Review of AJ's Seafood & Oyster Bar

AJ's Seafood & Oyster Bar
116 E Hwy. 98, Destin, FL 32541-2312
850-837-1913
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 233 Restaurants in Destin
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: To read about AJ’s is one thing... to experience it is another. Come see why AJ's Seafood & Oyster Bar has been the place to be on the Emerald Coast for nearly 30 years! Join us today! Doors open at 11:00 am! See you soon!
Niceville, Florida
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Place has two personalities...one during the day, and another at night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Food and service is pretty good. Daytime crowd is pleasant and pretty "family friendly." It's a bit pricy for what you get, but the food is pretty fair. Very touristy.

At night this place turns into something else. The upstairs bar is frequented by a few of the "lesser" guys looking for a bit of "stray," if you get my meaning. If your wife and her girlfriends are going here without you after dark, you've probably got a problem.

This is a place I tend to walk by.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    265
    218
    122
    89
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food and fun time with band”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the shrimp poboy and had a great time dancing to the live band and music of the DJ. Enjoyed the fact that there were families there with their children out on the dance floor

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Raw Oysters Were Great!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is not a fancy restaurant. It's in a great location though right on Destin Harbor. Lots of things going on down there and if your table is by the windows, you can see everything. If you don't like fish, I'd go someplace else. They do have a few non fish chocies but you are very limited. The oysters are fabulous. Great place for a casual place to eat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“companions loved the oysters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Went there for a light dinner. My family had different kinds of oysters. We saw a piece on this restaurant on tv that said they tested the oysters and checked them for freshness etc, so they felt comfortable getting them. Thety had steamed oysters, buffalo oysters and regular oysters and said they were great. The prices for oysters was not bad, but some of hte other things were a little pricey. I had a shrimp po boy, that was just average, nothing special, and I was disappointed.

It was on the harbor and if it was warmer they had outdoor seating and they windows could be opened. They did have gas heaters on at the the exposed bar area. The fishing boats are right there.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Place in Destin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

AJs is a Destin landmark and there is a reason. The food is good and the view is spectacular. It has two parts, the outside deck upstairs and the restaurant downstairs inside. I have eaten in the downstairs portion and, quite frankly, would not recommend it. It seemed overpriced and the food was not that great. Now, outside on the deck, that's an entirely different story. The raw oysters are to die for (I went back four times with friends for more) and the other choices are superb. It was the first place we went after we landed in Destin. Besides the oysters, I had the soup and sandwich combo, with a shrimp po-boy with red beans and rice. My wife also had the shrimp but had gumbo. There were so many shrimp (not the regular popcorn sized, but more medium). that there was no way to make a sandwich until you ate away some of the shrimp. Of course nothing can be better that sitting outside looking out over the harbor and out to the Gulf. You could almost hear Margaritaville in the background. If the weather is cool they have portable heaters that they fire up, and, often on weekends, they have a band (the ones I've heard were quite good!). Good, reasonably priced food and a wonderful beach atmosphere... what more could you ask for?

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AJ's Seafood & Oyster Bar also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to AJ's Seafood & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AJ's Seafood & Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.